We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck and Loon First Class B&B, Lacey Winery & 5th Town Cheeses in Prince Edward County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Duck and Loon First Class B&B, Lacey Winery & 5th Town Cheeses in Prince Edward County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a Canada Day weekend in magnificent Prince Edward County, Ontario.

The Duck and Loon B&B was our choice for lodging, and we chose most well. Our hosts Irene and Bill Dobson were stellar: welcoming, generous with their time for travel destinations and astute advise. The rooms are impeccable and the breakfasts fabulous.
Highly, highly recommended! Clearly one of the best, if not the best, B&B in the county!

Prince Edward county is a gem of an island! Amazing new and brilliant wineries and cheese makers, and quite an interesting, inspiring experience Sublime landscapes and gorgeous vistas of the lakes and bay. On a bicycle tour we happened upon 5th Town Cheeses in Chessy, and were invited to join a group for a Paring Experience for wine and cheese. Imagine the venue: int he middle of a green field and under a contemporary gazebo - an elegant table attended by the Lacey Wine and 5th House Cheese beautiful owners! They gave us ample explanations of each of the wines and cheese combos, with smart, authentic answers and comments for our many questions. One of the best travel experiences of our lives!
Certainly worth the 2.5 hr. ride from busy Toronto.
Judith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a very pleasant base from which to explore Prince Edward County. The house is situated high above Picton Bay, with an enormous deck from which to enjoy a beautiful view over Picton Bay. The hosts are pleasant, friendly, obliging and helpful. Both the grounds and the house are immaculate.

Room Tip: This is a three room B&B. The Bayview Room is very much the best. It could only be improved by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed in many B&Bs worldwide and would consider D&L to be among the top three. Irene is such a wealth of information we lovingly nicknamed her the Informator. Info include every aspect of visiting the from wineries, to restaurants, to bicycle tours, to hikes, to quirky nick-nack shops, and everything in between. Never a dull moment. They took great pride in keeping the grounds and house beautiful and serving wonderful breakfasts every morning. We have no hesitation in recommending and returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Bed & Breakfast is extremely well kept, is well located, and has a nice view of the water. Breakfast was delicious! The owners are fantastic. Irene recommended a wonderful restaurant for our anniversary and she even followed up on my missing bus ticket. (The transaction had failed). This enabled me to show up at the bus station with the ticket in hand, thereby avoiding a lot of problems.

Ed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Irene and Bill made us feel welcome immediately, like favourite relatives visiting. They were very helpful in recommending activities in the area, driving tours and places to eat. The grounds were very well kept and nicely landscaped.
The inside was attractive and the furniture was so comfortable! The view from the deck was marvellous. We thoroughly enjoyed the tasty and attractive breakfasts. We highly recommend the Duck & Loon B&B.
Don & Lee

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Irene and Bill are gracious hosts. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The view from the deck is lovely. Breakfast was fantastic. Check out "Miss Vickie" in the garage. This was our second visit and we were greeted like old friends!
Mary S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wonderful breakfast and the folks at this place were very helpful, warm and friendly. Gave us some great tips about places to visit in Picton and showed us their antique car! Highly reccommend the place. Excellent view in the morning overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.