We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne and Dan's excellent Picton adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Picton B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Anne and Dan's excellent Picton adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hosts of this B&B define the word 'accommodating'. They not only helped us set up daily trip itineraries, they knew all the restaurant folks and would get us preferred seating. Their meals were superb - all the muffins fresh daily (a different kind each day), ditto the breakfast main dishes. Rooms were pristine, restful and private. The property is expertly kept and offers a great view of the water. Other guests must pick up the same welcoming vibe - our breakfast conversations were fun, lively and a great set up to the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our yearly trip to the Duck and Loon. Have stayed in each of the rooms. The hosts Bill and Irene are excellent at what they do. Accommodations: Superb, clean, clean, clean.
Breakfasts: more than adequate, delicious and all home-made right down to the muffins and jams. The only muffins my husband will eat! Breakfast is served in their beautiful dining room overlooking the water.
Views and scenery want to make you just sit and relax on the amazing wrap around deck overlooking the bay.
Thank you Irene and Bill for another memorable visit, will see you next year.
Donna & Klaus

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Warm, attentive, and caring attention from a wife and husband team who take justified pride in their business. Well appointed and clean rooms in this beautifully maintained property with scenic views over the water from comfortable chairs on the large balcony. The main street with its shops, cafes, and restaurants is walking distance, and the exceptionally good Blumen Restaurant is directly across the street.

Room Tip: Try the bay room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this beautifull place, Duck and Loon, Picton, Ontario, during the month of august 2012. The Bayview room is amazing and confortable. In the morning, Bill was willing to go outside at 07 hres 30 in the morning to wipe the chairs on the patio while Irene was in her kitchen preparing my coffee. The home made breafast was served with a smile. The couple was very warmth and friendly. They made me fell special. I really appreciate their suggestions for things to visit specially the winery and the restaurant. I am recommanding this bed and breakfast to every one. We hope to go back next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The bay view room is quiet. The satelite tv was appreciated by my husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked there on the recommendation of good friends. Our two night stay could not have been better. Irene & Bill Dobinson were wonderful hosts, not only catering to our every need, but helping us plan a perfect itinerary for the best to see and do in Prince Edward County. Their home and grounds are beautiful, with a marvelous deck for sipping and reading overlooking beautiful Picton Bay. Spotless and comfortable accommodations & ensuite. And the breakfasts mmm, everything made from scratch by Irene including her muffins and jams. Great location on the outskirts of Picton right accross the road from one of the counties very best restaurants. We're looking forward to returning next summer for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'ange-gardien QC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we were at Bill's and Irene's (Duck and Loon, Picton Ontario) for a second 3 night stay this August 2012 and we committed to go back again next year for a longer period. Everything about the Duck and Loon is outstanding.. the accomodation, the cleanliness, the view, the outdoor patio, Bill's amazing lawn and his 1952 (?) car named Miss Vickie and Irene's all home made breakfast and mostly their warmth, kindness and sense of humour. Every is so well organized, nothing is forgotten. They make you feel so comfortable and welcome ! Bill and Irene also go out to their way to talk to you about the restaurants, things to do and see and, belive us, they know their stuff

PS reserve early, everybody wants to go back !

Sylvie G. (L'ange-gardien QC)
Lina B. (Ottawa On)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights in the Bayview Room (with private bath) at the Duck and Loon B&B. Irene was very kind to us and drove us to a few places as we did not have a car. We admired Bill's 1952 Ford and the work he puts into keeping the grounds immaculate.
Other highlights - sitting on the deck overlooking the water and enjoying conversation with the other guests at breakfast (which was very yummy).

Room Tip: Bayview Room is the largest, has private bath and view of water.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list