We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in the County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At home in the County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Warm, attentive, and caring attention from a wife and husband team who take justified pride in their business. Well appointed and clean rooms in this beautifully maintained property with scenic views over the water from comfortable chairs on the large balcony. The main street with its shops, cafes, and restaurants is walking distance, and the exceptionally good Blumen Restaurant is directly across the street.

Room Tip: Try the bay room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this beautifull place, Duck and Loon, Picton, Ontario, during the month of august 2012. The Bayview room is amazing and confortable. In the morning, Bill was willing to go outside at 07 hres 30 in the morning to wipe the chairs on the patio while Irene was in her kitchen preparing my coffee. The home made breafast was served with a smile. The couple was very warmth and friendly. They made me fell special. I really appreciate their suggestions for things to visit specially the winery and the restaurant. I am recommanding this bed and breakfast to every one. We hope to go back next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The bay view room is quiet. The satelite tv was appreciated by my husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked there on the recommendation of good friends. Our two night stay could not have been better. Irene & Bill Dobinson were wonderful hosts, not only catering to our every need, but helping us plan a perfect itinerary for the best to see and do in Prince Edward County. Their home and grounds are beautiful, with a marvelous deck for sipping and reading overlooking beautiful Picton Bay. Spotless and comfortable accommodations & ensuite. And the breakfasts mmm, everything made from scratch by Irene including her muffins and jams. Great location on the outskirts of Picton right accross the road from one of the counties very best restaurants. We're looking forward to returning next summer for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'ange-gardien QC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we were at Bill's and Irene's (Duck and Loon, Picton Ontario) for a second 3 night stay this August 2012 and we committed to go back again next year for a longer period. Everything about the Duck and Loon is outstanding.. the accomodation, the cleanliness, the view, the outdoor patio, Bill's amazing lawn and his 1952 (?) car named Miss Vickie and Irene's all home made breakfast and mostly their warmth, kindness and sense of humour. Every is so well organized, nothing is forgotten. They make you feel so comfortable and welcome ! Bill and Irene also go out to their way to talk to you about the restaurants, things to do and see and, belive us, they know their stuff

PS reserve early, everybody wants to go back !

Sylvie G. (L'ange-gardien QC)
Lina B. (Ottawa On)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights in the Bayview Room (with private bath) at the Duck and Loon B&B. Irene was very kind to us and drove us to a few places as we did not have a car. We admired Bill's 1952 Ford and the work he puts into keeping the grounds immaculate.
Other highlights - sitting on the deck overlooking the water and enjoying conversation with the other guests at breakfast (which was very yummy).

Room Tip: Bayview Room is the largest, has private bath and view of water.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at The Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast was a delight from beginning to end. The
owners, Irene and Bill Dobinson, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to accommodate our every request. The house was impeccable, the food was lovingly prepared and presented, and guests were invited to use the dining room, living room and sitting room at their leisure. One of the highlights of our stay was sitting on their beautiful deck watching the sailboats and wildlife on the water, amid beautifully kept grounds. Our room was very comfortable and had all the amenities one would want. Irene was very knowledgeable about the area and so helpful in providing us with maps of the area, and places of interest to tour. This is the best Bed and Breakfast we have found to date. Irene and Bill know the true meaning of hospitality and we thank them for all their efforts on our behalf. Sandra C. Ottawa, Ontario

Room Tip: The Bayview Room is a beautifully appointed, large room facing the water. It was impeccable and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice people and nice clean rooms. The view is lovely and it is right across the street from the best restaurant in the area (Blumen). You are a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk from downtown Picton.

Room Tip: The Loon room is a little smaller than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.