We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, fantastic hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, fantastic hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was a wonderful four-day stay for us. Both the view and the hospitality were beyond compare. Irene and Bill made us feel very welcome in their home, and helped us explore and discover the byways of Prince Edward County, made recommendations for dinner, and called in reservations for us. The dining room, deck and the Bayview room take best advantage of the view. Four delightful and varied breakfasts set the tone for the day. Bill likes to bake, and if you are fortunate, you will get to taste some of his baking. The Dobinsons are set up for WiFi, and there is a sitting room for the guests, although if the weather is good, that deck overlooking the bay is very appealing. Both the rooms and the living areas are pristine and well-appointed; you will not find fault with any of it.

The golf course is just up the street, as well as is one of the better dining rooms across the street (the Blumen Garden Bistro). The B&B is about two kms. from the centre of Picton and as Picton is near the centre of the peninsula, is very convenient to all locations in the county. We had a great time there, and I am sure you will too.

Room Tip: If it is available, the Bayview room has the view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Rowan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just completed a 4 day visit to the Duck and Loon, where everything about the home was pleasant and enjoyable. Irene and Bill were hospitable hosts who made you feel extremely welcome in their home. Although the home is modern, it is as lovely as any of the older homes in which we have stayed. Cleanliness is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, the areas for the guests to gather are larrge and accessible. The grounds are well maintained, with a tremendous deck overlooking the Picton Bay. Fabulous scenery, fall colours were enjoyable from the deck as well as a great place to relax, meet other guests and soak in your surroundings. A key was provided so we could come and go as we pleased, whenever.
Irene provided useful info on where to shop, eat, and explore. She was accomodating in her help by making reservations at various local restuarants, after providing us with excellent information on them.
We enjoyed each of the breakfasts she provided, as they all differed. There was an excellent variety, as well we were given the opportunity to eat at an earlier time if we requested. In fact she did accomodate other guests for an earlier breakfast as they had a golf game planned. She also advised us of what she proposed for breakfast,and in what quantity, so we had the opportunity to vary a dish or the amount without any difficulty. It was an enjoyable stay in a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. Gary and Valerie Logan ,Port Rowan Ont.

Room Tip: If available the room with a view of the Bay of Picton would be my first choice, but other two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Duck and Loon for 2 nights in the Bayview room. Irene and Bob were excellent hosts sharing their knowledge of the area and even plotting out a tour for us to take to make sure we saw all the sights. The breakfasts were fantastic.. it was nice to have a set time for the meal as we got to meet and talk to the others staying there at the same time. Would recommend this place with no hesitation to friends and others.

Room Tip: Bayview is largest room and has a great view of Piction Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We loved the clean, well kept home and property, and the quiet, serene and spectacular view from the deck. The hospitality from Irene and Bill are beyond compare, with exceptional breakfasts, tasty, varied, mouth watering and tummy filling. You accommodated our individual tastes without exception. You went out of your way to welcome family members who were too early to check in at their b&b. We recommend Duck and Loon B&B without reservation and will definitely return again soon ourselves. I understand that the Fall colours are not to be missed.

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness of the larger room overlooking the water with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As with locations there is someone that is not happy. I must say that i have no idea why Roy3007 was not. The proprietor was extremely helpful and you can see proud of what she has built.

The breakfasts were wonderful, to rooms cozy and well appointed and Irene laid out a fabulous route to tour the area.

The deck has a lovely view of the lake and when we were sample some of the local wines she brought out glasses on a tray for us.

Most definitely and excellent location to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We felt at home the moment we walked through the front door. The hosts truly opened their home to us and took care of our every need, from glasses for coctails to a map and brochures of the area. The room was comfortable and everything we needed was in it. The breakfast was scrumptious.The house is located well in off the road which creates a quiet and peaceful setting. The lawns and gardens are neat and well maintained. Lovely veiw of the bay from the deck. This is a very clean, neat & tidy B & B which we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family and should our travels take us this way again we would not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I feel that I have known Bill and Irene all my life. I always felt comfortable talking with them.The food and the accomodations are superb. Like my grandma, Irene wanted to make sure we started our day with a full belly and was offering me more to eat.It was the start of a beautiful day here as you take your coffe out onto the rear deck and and overlook the peaceful and picturesque Trent river system. Not only did we enjoy the hearty breakfast but we had a great conversations with other visitors. WE WILL BE BACK IRENE!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, R.R.# 2,, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.