We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cider & great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The County Cider Company

The County Cider Company
657 Bongards X RD | County Road 8, RR 4, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
(613) 476-1022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good cider & great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm so glad we stopped by the cider company. We had the tasting and had lunch outside the patio. We ordered chicken pate for appetizer and it was fantastic!!!! for main, we got the pizza. They have their own wood burning oven and it was heaven! Loved the food so much!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“County Cider”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A busy spot on weekends, their main business is selling cider and good cider it is. Its probably the best cider I have ever had, and I have a had a few. In fact, I liked it so much I asked the owner to keg it for me and I sold it at the Only Cafe', on the Danforth in Toronto some 15 plus years ago. It was a hit. It is carried by several "fine beereries" in Toronto's bar scene. They have a few variations; peach and apple cider, raspberry and apple cider and (not sure if they invented it) - ice cider, which is quite unique and worth trying like all their stock, which you can do at their free tasting bar. They sell other sundires like hats and t-shirts, but the most important thing is the setting - truly stunning, situated high on a hill overlooking Prince Edward Bay, in a vineyard and apple orchard aside one of the finest examples of century homes (limestone) arcitecture to be seen in the area. They serve gourmet burgers and brick oven pizzas for lunch and of course, lots of cider to wash it down. A highlight of the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Must taste the iced cider”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We haven't had a chance to have lunch on the patio here yet, but hope to next time we're in the County. The view of Lake Ontario over their orchards is incredible and the wood pizza oven is inviting. However, we always make time to stop and buy some hard cider, and some of their incredibly delicious iced cider. If you're not sure, do the reasonably-priced cider tasting and you'll be convinced! I'm not a fan of sweet iced wines, but the iced apple cider from The County Cider Company has a delicious caramel edge to it that keeps it from being cloyingly sweet, and it's a novel treat to serve to guests as a dessert wine (or over ice cream - my husband's favourite), or to offer as a hostess gift.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beatiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife tasted several of the ciders and purchased some to bring home but for me the real "treat" was the view from the Cider House !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Satisfying Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We took a long detour before our weekend trip just outside Ottawa to have lunch somewhere in the Prince Edward County. I had heard great things about the region. I had intended for our group to have lunch at a different winery but they were having a special themed lunch and expected to be very busy. It was suggested by a colleague that the County Cider has a great landscape scenery and an excellent lunch. After confirming that they don't take reservation, off we go.

While we waited for a patio table, we joined in the cider tasting. They offer cider tasting every 10 minutes. Because they don't take reservations, be ready to wait for the next available table especially during peak time. We were there around 12 or 1 p.m.

Since the four of us were very intrigued with their pizzas , we decided to order all 4 types (chicken, artichoke, mushroom and three cheese) which we could share. It was an excellent way of tasting all of them and we were not sorry at all that we did.

Overall, we were impressed and we hope to be back soon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Cider Company also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to The County Cider Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Cider Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.