We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for both Kids & Parents” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williams Family Diner

Williams Family Diner
19 Elizabeth St, Picton, Ontario, Canada
613-476-6565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Belleville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for both Kids & Parents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had never heard of Williams Family Diner (even though we are somewhat local), so on a recent trip to Picton we decided to give it a try. The decor was modern and minimal, which is kind of different than most restaurants in Picton, but suits our style, and the style of food. I had read that some people found this off-putting, but really it is just a clean modern space, which is awesome. Our three year old was thrilled there was a children's play area, and so were we (if you have ever tried to wrangle a toddler to sit and wait, you know what I mean!). The kids meal was excellent, and there are several options. The real story here is that the food is amazing and home cooked. We visited twice in the same week and were very impressed by everything we ate. We had the Pad Thai (amazing and huge portion), the Brisket Burger (very flavourful), the Turkey Burger (yum), and the Cubano (wonderful). Add in prompt service, great prices, easy parking, and upbeat space, and this is a big winner for us. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great diner, lots of heart and soul goes into every plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this diner a few times now and everyone I bring can't believe the quality. The food, cooked by one or both of the owners is absolutely delicious. The variety also catches you off guard, for such a small place there is lots to choose from. Service as well is friendly and quick. I'll be back as often as I'm in Picton. Good work everyone and thank you!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High expectations, not met”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We decided to go to Williams Family Diner because of it's high ranking reviews. When we first arrived we were greeted curtly by a waitress. As a appetizer we choose their house made spring rolls to share. We were shocked to find that the spring rolls were still FROZEN inside... Not a good start! The food was mediocre at best, their "special" Williams Burger was not so "special" . But, their fries were very good. Overall we were very disappointed with the food and the service. We were visiting the area but would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family restaurant with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my two young boys on a Friday night. The menu has something for everyone, comfort food with lots of interesting twists. The kids menu looked very appealing too. I really enjoyed my pad thai -- nice and spicy with loads of sprouts, tofu, and chicken. The portions are huge -- my leftovers fed two adults for lunch the next day. Other adults at the table ordered delicious burgers and fish. There was a great selection of local wines and ciders available.
As I was leaving, I was kicking myself for not saving room for dessert. The dessert selection looked fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot in Picton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is tucked away and easy to miss from Main Street (it's across from Giant Tiger), but it's a great find. We found good hearty food, local wines and friendly service, all in a laid-back atmosphere. The decor is basic but features fun little touches -- some old marine paintings, odd ceramic roosters and wood plates line the walls. There was a nice variety of menu items, some with an interesting 'local' twist, and all reasonably priced, including the local wines. Our meals were great (the coconut shrimp is delicious -- spicy and full of flavour). Crowd is diverse and the place is welcoming for all types and ages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williams Family Diner also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Williams Family Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williams Family Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.