We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manse Boutique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Manse Boutique Inn to your Saves list
The Manse Boutique Inn
10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I just spend two nights here, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We dined at the Inn on the night of our arrival, with an upgrade to wine pairings, and were delighted with the meal. The main course, pickeral cheeks, was outstanding, and the wines offered by the hosts were great as well.

Breakfast was terrific, featuring all local ingredients, and the charcuterie plate we had the second evening was also delicious.

We liked our room (#3) and thought it was very tasteful and comfortable, and we enjoyed the hot tub as well (though not the pool - it was November!)

We really enjoyed the location, too, just off the main street of Picton, making it easy and convenient to go for a quick walk in town, grab a coffee or snack, or head out for some wine tasting in the surrounding country. Definitely recommended for people nearby (Toronto, Ottawa, etc.) looking for a quick vacation with a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently got married next door at the United Church, and held our rehearsal dinner at the Manse. The food was incredible, the hospitality of the owners and the manager were by far the best we have ever had. The girls were able to get ready the day of the wedding in the hotel room and just walk next door, it was perfect ! We also stayed there the night of the wedding, and forgot our room key, the owners were still all smiles, even at two in the morning . We would highly recommend this inn to everyone passing thru Picton or even to the locals needing to get away for a night. Thank you so much for everything over that weekend , we really appreciate it :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Manse is a wonderful place to stay. We went for a 3 night stay to tour the Prince Edward County wineries. We were pleasantly surprised that the Manse is brand new! Old and quaint and fabulous on the outside and warm and modern on the inside. The furnishings are amazing -- mostly dark wood furniture with touches of modern bright light fixtures - a fantastic combination of old look and new modern finishes.
The rooms are small - so don't go if you like a big oversized bedroom at a B and B - this is not the spot for you! The rooms are small and the bathrooms are VERY small - in fact a little too small - you can't open the door comfortably and there is no counter at all - so tricky for makeup and hair. Also there is no full length mirror in the room which isn't my favourite - but the food at breakfast more than makes up for the small rooms.
Fantastic breakfast - made to order each morning - wonderful selection and every bite was great.
The owners and managers and flexible and fun and have great recommendations for local food and fun.
There is a flat screen tv in each room - and a little fireplace - so the room is small but clean, new and modern.
We enjoyed the outdoor hottub as well - the grounds are well kept and lovely.
A note that it is tricky to get to the first time - you have to go to this wacky 5 way intersection in Picton - and from there find a weird laneway that leads to a road that goes into the old church's parking lot. Odd.
You will see the Manse but not be able to get to it at first - it really should have access from the same street as the church but I guess this wasn't thought out at purchase time.
We would stay at the Manse again and speak highly of the experience, the decor, the food and the fun we had. We'd likely choose the largest room available next time around.
The bed is new and fantastic and the duvet is wonderful.
There is a very loud clock in the church (adjacent to the Manse) that dongs every hour all night long - this makes sleeping tricky - ask for a room on the side of the Manse that is not on the clock tower side.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room available - likely one with a balconey as they are on the side of the Manse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent the weekend at The Manse. Cant say enough about the hospitality, the staff, the food and the ambiance ! Highly recommend the dinners - Chef Wylie won't disappoint. This has become my favourite inn ! Thanks to Sian & Dave, Kathleen & Chef Wylie and all the best of continued success !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Positioned perfectly between Toronto and Ottawa/Montreal this new 4-6 months boutique hotel is not to be missed. The former United Church manse was once home to the resident minister and his family from the early 1900s. It also accommodated clergy traveling between Ottawa/Montreal and Toronto. The owners Sian and Dave have invested heavily into renovating the building located just off the main street in Picton. They have 8 wonderfully equipped and decorated rooms. We stayed in #1 ($199/night) on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the salt water pool, jacuzzi and the gently gurgling waterfall. A hot made to order plated breakfast is included. Wifi throughout. The owners and staff go overboard to make you feel welcome and meet your needs. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're spending a weekend in PEC this spot is great. The rooms are first rate and the breakfast was the perfect start to the day. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool and hot tub but we will definitely make use of it when we go back in the spring!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Manse is just that, an old church manse, gutted and newly renovated to be right up there in quality with the best of small Inns, but at a very reasonable price point for the quality it provides. Being essentially new inside and purpose built it offers something rare in older properties, solid floors and stairs( no creaks and groans ), doors that close quietly and securely, and properly functioning air systems. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed, spotlessly clean and charming . As their brochure says, each room is a gem. The owners have obviously dug deep to provide the quality that abounds everywhere. Speaking of the owners, they were there during our stay and engaged in conversation with us, explaining patiently why they had chosen to undertake this project, and all the effort they put into making it perfect. And it is near perfection. A few more operating months ( it has only been open since May 2012 ) should smooth out the very few and minor operational wrinkles they have ( only the extremely fussy would notice or care)

Normally the property is entrusted to resident managers, also there at the time, but less visable when the owners are there indulging in their new passion for inn keeping. Food preparation is still the domaine of the resident managers, however, and dinner for guests can be acquired on site with advanced notice ( not when we were there due to prior commitment for a large gathering coming the next day ).Evening meals would have to be served in the breakfast room, or outdoors in good weather, so it may lack somewhat in atmosphere for fine dining. Breakfast is included in the room rate, cooked to order, and can be pretty much anything you want. I find that much better than a fixed menu pre- determined without regard for dietary restrictions.

Both my wife and I slept well. The place is quiet despite being just off the main drag. Being an old manse it is still right next to a church and that church still operates a clock that sounds on the hour. That means that you don't need a clock, each hour is sounded out by the appropriate number of gongs. We thought this would keep us awake but surprisingly it did not.

Overall we rate this property highly and will certainly entertain a return visit. It is heartily recommended.

I cannot end this review, however, without mention of the fact that the un-official greeter to the inn is an old scruffy cat that kind of "came with the property". The owners and managers feed the cat but he has no official status and is therefore kept outdoors year round with no particular concern for his future well being. Well, this is just begging for notice from animal lovers ( cat haters won't care ) and these sympatizers are bound to pester until some sort of reasonable accommodations are made for the cat. If you don't want such guests going away having bad dreams about that cat, and there are more just like us, better attend to it.

Room Tip: Third floor roms are not for the tall due to low ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manse Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Boutique Inn

Address: 10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse Boutique Inn is a completely renovated 107yr old building. Modern finishes, high quality amenities and a commitment to our guests allow us to stand out in Picton.The Manse is a b&b style Inn with a dedicated couple innkeeper/chef to host your stay. We pride ourselves on a private intimate experience at The Manse.A note to unregistered guests, we are open to the public from 10am - 5pm, so that all of our attention is placed upon our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Manse Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manse Boutique Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manse Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.