We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“County Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manse Boutique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Manse Boutique Inn to your Saves list
The Manse Boutique Inn
10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“County Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent a wonderful night here after 3 days on our boat. The property is stunning, grounds immaculate and rooms beautifully kitted out. Kathleen and Chris are charming hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable about all things County. We enjoyed a delicious dinner- can highly recommend the salmon starter and tenderloin. Breakfast was equally enjoyable- the prunes and house made granola a particular hit.The only problem was returning to our boat for the sail home! This boutique inn is a wonderful addition to the County- we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I and two other couples were traveling to Quebec City for a few days and I saw "The Manse" on Tripadvisor. We decided to spend our first night at The Manse. Wow!!! It far exceeded our expectations. Actually it was the highlight of our trip. The entire place has been renovated to the highest of standards. The dinner prepared by Chris was exceptional as was the breakfast the next morning. We hated to leave. We have already talked about a return to stay at this fabulous establishment. I would never hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Kathleen was an exceptional hostess and we had the pleasure of meeting Sian the owner. They all made are visit memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Manse and can not say enough good things about it. We only wish we had booked dinner there two nights and not just one - the food was amazing. Kathleen and Chris are wonderful people and make the place what it is. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room six but I will choose room 2 next time - we didn't need a suite but it was inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautiful boutique inn, very nice appointed rooms. The pool and hot tub were a wonderful addition to our relaxing afternoons. Chris prepared a wonderful afternoon sample platter which we enjoyed poolside with a bottle of wine. Dinner outside by the waterfall was one of the best meals we have ever enjoyed. The County was great to explore but it was very difficult to leave the comfort of the Manse! Looking forward to spending another weekend as guests of Kathleen and Chris. Great Job!
David and Tina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Manse, along with some friends of ours visiting from England. Staying with overseas friends meant that we called a series of Inns in the Prince Edward County area, bombarded them with questions, reported back to our friends, then called back to reserve.

From the onset, the entire experience in speaking with our Innkeepers Kathleen and Chris was positive and upbeat. Upon arrival, we were extremely impressed with our rooms. As our friends were travelling with their 14-year-old daughter, Kathleen and Chris recommended rooms 1 and 4, with a cot for their daughter, as these rooms have a joint balcony. FYI, their locally-sourced wine list is AMAZING. (Please do your taste buds a favour, and try the Casa Dea Wineries Dea's Cuvee, recommended by Kathleen!)

The 2nd night of our 2-night stay coincided with the 20th wedding anniversary of our friends. Thanks to Kathleen's excellent recommendation of a local florist, we were able to have beautiful (and reasonably-priced!) roses delivered to our friends in time for our lovely al fresco breakfast. We then came home that evening to enjoy an amazing gourmet meal, beautifully prepared by Chef Chris. We even had a chance to meet our Innkeepers' kitty, Stephen (who we are convinced is the inspiration for the famous Stephen of recent cat-food commercials!)

Prior to our arrival, our friends were already discussing this possibility of a wintertime Canadian visit. Well, we all mutually decided before leaving The Manse that the next visit will be spent there - we can't wait!

A travel tip (which we overlooked). Mapquesting this property will give directions for the parking lot of the lovely church next door, as the Manse was formerly the home of it's Minister. Be sure to follow the directions on your reservation confirmation, and you will pull up to The Manse parking lot with no worries! : )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Cnaada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent August 24/25, 2012 at the Manse Boutique Inn for a family gathering. The accommodations were perfect, the hosts were second to none and the dining was spectacular. We biked the county road 7/8 route which is approximatley 60 km. A great ride with little traffic and the cars that we did see were very considerate to cyclists.
Would definately return to this Inn and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a getaway. Picton is a beautiful town and the downtown shops were very appealing for one of a kind shoppers.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the balcony rooms which overlooks the pool, hot tub and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This small boutique hotel is beautifully appointed and stands out in Picton for it's elegance. We have stayed several times at the Merrill Inn as well as a nice B&B and we strongly prefer the rooms and amenities at The Manse. The service is excellent and the breakfast was generous and effortlessly catered to our preferences and allergies. This is the place to stay in Prince Edward County.

Room Tip: We were traveling with another couple. Rooms 1 and 4 share a common balcony which is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manse Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Boutique Inn

Address: 10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse Boutique Inn is a completely renovated 107yr old building. Modern finishes, high quality amenities and a commitment to our guests allow us to stand out in Picton.The Manse is a b&b style Inn with a dedicated couple innkeeper/chef to host your stay. We pride ourselves on a private intimate experience at The Manse.A note to unregistered guests, we are open to the public from 10am - 5pm, so that all of our attention is placed upon our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manse Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manse Boutique Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manse Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.