We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bells and Whistles Family Inn

Save Saved
You added Bells and Whistles Family Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
1558 County Road 8, Picton, Ontario K0K2T0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved our stay here. We are French native speakers and the owners spoke French with us. They had good advice to give us about the restaurants in the area and the different places to visit as well as the best roads to take to go there. They were very accomodating and made us feel at home. I am lactose intolerant and they were careful when making breakfast, and when they could not cook without milk products, they made me a different breakfast. They were always there to see us off for the day and to greet us when we came back from our activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at B & B's across Canada and this is one of the best we have ever found. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They themselves have traveled extensively and they know what travelers need. They have thought of everything - from water bottles in the room, coffee/tea available all day, pass to Sandbanks park, use of pool, bbq, firepit, gazebo, huge screened-in front porch. Great place for families with children of all ages. Thanks Debbie and Bill for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just came back from a mini getaway at this B&B with our 2 year old & 6 mth old. The owners were so accommodating and made travelling with 2 young children more manageable. They had a play pen, baby bath tub, bumbo chair, booster seat, baby toiletries, etc... Less for us to pack! There was also a great play room with toys downstairs that our 2 year old loved, not to mention all the activities outside - chickens, ducks, slide, swing, sandbox, pool. It was perfect to have all of these activities available right on the property.

The owners Debbie & Bill are so nice. Breakfast was DELICIOUS every morning, everything so fresh! Bill even took the time to hold a chicken so that our daughter could touch it.

You really get a family feel here and we had lots of fun with the other guests. We lucked out that there were a few toddlers in the inn at the same time so they all had fun playing together.

I would definitely recommend this to other families!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Bells and Whistles during the Canada Day long weekend with our two boys, who are five and 10. Before, we have always stayed at self catering places because it is difficult to find a B&B or inn that will accommodate children. Hosts Debbie and Bill are wonderful and welcome children to their home. We stayed in a suite with two queen beds and a huge bathroom with large tub. The boys LOVED the pool outside as well. Every day after coming back from the beach they could go swimming in the pool before dinner. They also have a room full of toys, books and games that you are free to use. Chickens and ducks are kept out back, aiding in the amazing breakfasts!! Debbie always had her homemade granola with fruit and yogurt available as well as a different muffin every day. Then there was the full breakfast of the day---from Eggs Benny to waffles and pancakes. Delicious! My kids have already told me that I need to book Bells and Whistles for next year's trip to Picton. We all loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked my stay at Bells and Whistles in a bit of a hurry - standing in the security lineup at YUL - because my previously arranged accommodations had fallen through. The proprietors were very friendly and patient and answered all of my questions and facilitated a very quick an easy booking.

The room was spotless, well outfitted and very comfortable. I had one of the best night's sleep I had had in quite some tim at Bells and Whistles. I normally sleep with earplugs to block out extraneous noise, but I did need to do see at Bells and Whistles because it was dead quiet! The Inn is located a few minutes outside of Picton so there is no light or noise what-so-ever to disturb one's slumber. Perfection!

I regret not being able to stay for breakfast because as I was out the door at 8 AM (I downed a coffee and a muffin while chatting with the owners in the kitchen). The owners are lovely people and made sure I left full of my requisite dose of morning caffeine!

I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone and I will make a point of staying there when ever I return to the Picton area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFamilyInn, Owner at Bells and Whistles Family Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you Dan. We make sure that our mattresses are top quality as our linens, blackout drapes help with noise and room darkening.
Whether you are here for 1 night or a week, it is really important to us that you are comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've stayed at many B&Bs, but Debbie and Bill certainly went over the top to make our stay exceptional. It started from the moment we booked. My wife asked a few questions about the area and e-mails were sent right away to help plan the weekend. We were 5 adults (my parents, wife and brother) and we were very comfortable in their largest room with 2 queen sized beds and a double bed. Breakfasts are plentiful and tasty, with fresh ingredients that are either from their property or from the local area (including the fresh eggs Bill gathers every day). Prince Edward County is a jewel in Ontario's landscape, made that more special with a delightful stay at this most excellent B&B. It comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We travelled as a family of 5 for my brother's birthday during the Great Canadian Cheese Festival. Bells and WHistles is everything you want out of a B&B. It's super clean, comfortable, and feels just like home. Debbie and BIll, the owners, are so sweet and do a great job of making sure you are relaxed during your stay. We staying in the Retreat room. It was very spacious! The room had a tv, dvd player, satellite tv, and wifi (which works very well). There is also a water bottle by everyone's bedside which I thought was a nice thing to do. Breakfast is fresh and delicious! The grounds are beautiful, and they have 3 very cute dogs.

Anyways, we had a great time and I'm grateful to the two of them for making our trip so lovely. Until next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bells and Whistles Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells and Whistles Family Inn

Address: 1558 County Road 8, Picton, Ontario K0K2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst a serene county setting, Bells & Whistles Family Inn specializes in making your family vacation a memorable and fun experience.Located only five minutes to both downtown Picton and Waupoos wine region, you can start your day with a sumptuous, full country breakfast, made with fresh eggs and produce from our garden accompanied by our homebaked goods, in our dining room or on the screened veranda.With several beautifully appointed suites and rooms from which to choose,whether you are a couple, a group of friends or a family, our inn is the perfect spot to enjoy some family fun in our inground pool or enjoying our screened in Veranda. We not only accept young children but also cater to the whole family by providing booster chairs, toys, a playground, as well as baby monitors so that you can enjoy some adult time, possibly by our fire pit.At Bells and Whistles Family Inn, it is all about providing you with best of everything from great hospitality to wonderful amenities and services for a truly great County experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bells and Whistles Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells And Whistles Family Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bells and Whistles Family Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.