We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bells and Whistles Family Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bells and Whistles Family Inn to your Saves list
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
1558 County Road 8, Picton, Ontario K0K2T0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Bells and Whistles during the Canada Day long weekend with our two boys, who are five and 10. Before, we have always stayed at self catering places because it is difficult to find a B&B or inn that will accommodate children. Hosts Debbie and Bill are wonderful and welcome children to their home. We stayed in a suite with two queen beds and a huge bathroom with large tub. The boys LOVED the pool outside as well. Every day after coming back from the beach they could go swimming in the pool before dinner. They also have a room full of toys, books and games that you are free to use. Chickens and ducks are kept out back, aiding in the amazing breakfasts!! Debbie always had her homemade granola with fruit and yogurt available as well as a different muffin every day. Then there was the full breakfast of the day---from Eggs Benny to waffles and pancakes. Delicious! My kids have already told me that I need to book Bells and Whistles for next year's trip to Picton. We all loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked my stay at Bells and Whistles in a bit of a hurry - standing in the security lineup at YUL - because my previously arranged accommodations had fallen through. The proprietors were very friendly and patient and answered all of my questions and facilitated a very quick an easy booking.

The room was spotless, well outfitted and very comfortable. I had one of the best night's sleep I had had in quite some tim at Bells and Whistles. I normally sleep with earplugs to block out extraneous noise, but I did need to do see at Bells and Whistles because it was dead quiet! The Inn is located a few minutes outside of Picton so there is no light or noise what-so-ever to disturb one's slumber. Perfection!

I regret not being able to stay for breakfast because as I was out the door at 8 AM (I downed a coffee and a muffin while chatting with the owners in the kitchen). The owners are lovely people and made sure I left full of my requisite dose of morning caffeine!

I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone and I will make a point of staying there when ever I return to the Picton area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFamilyInn, Owner at Bells and Whistles Family Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you Dan. We make sure that our mattresses are top quality as our linens, blackout drapes help with noise and room darkening.
Whether you are here for 1 night or a week, it is really important to us that you are comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've stayed at many B&Bs, but Debbie and Bill certainly went over the top to make our stay exceptional. It started from the moment we booked. My wife asked a few questions about the area and e-mails were sent right away to help plan the weekend. We were 5 adults (my parents, wife and brother) and we were very comfortable in their largest room with 2 queen sized beds and a double bed. Breakfasts are plentiful and tasty, with fresh ingredients that are either from their property or from the local area (including the fresh eggs Bill gathers every day). Prince Edward County is a jewel in Ontario's landscape, made that more special with a delightful stay at this most excellent B&B. It comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We travelled as a family of 5 for my brother's birthday during the Great Canadian Cheese Festival. Bells and WHistles is everything you want out of a B&B. It's super clean, comfortable, and feels just like home. Debbie and BIll, the owners, are so sweet and do a great job of making sure you are relaxed during your stay. We staying in the Retreat room. It was very spacious! The room had a tv, dvd player, satellite tv, and wifi (which works very well). There is also a water bottle by everyone's bedside which I thought was a nice thing to do. Breakfast is fresh and delicious! The grounds are beautiful, and they have 3 very cute dogs.

Anyways, we had a great time and I'm grateful to the two of them for making our trip so lovely. Until next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our stay at Bells and Whistles was amazing.
Everything was perfect, the spacious and clean room, the breakfast (home-made granola, omelettes, eggs benedict....), the setting and the hosts itself!
Especially when you have kids you will love it. Our son loved the many toys in the living room, the swing, slide and playhouse in the huge backyard as well as the three little dogs.
Debbie and Bill are wonderful hosts and are always willing to assist with places to visit, where to eat etc.
We will definitely be back and we can highly recommend the B&B to anyone!

Thanks again Debbie and Bill, you made us feel welcome from the first minute we arrived!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Retreat suite - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We found the Bells and Whistles to be a great place to relax and enjoy PEC. Debbie & Bill are wonderful people and great hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the area. The breakfast served included fresh farm eggs, home baked bread and cinnamon buns and was amazing. The rooms are clean and fully stocked and every room has their own bathroom. I would highly recommend the Bell's & Whistles to couples or families to stay at this B&B. Thank you to Debbie & Bill for making our stay in the county so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We found the Bells and Whistles online and picked it because it had the best room configuration for 3 of us – 1 queen & 2 singles - at a VERY reasonable price. I’m not generally a B&B person, but I would stay with Debbie & Bill again any time. And I cannot recommend it highly enough for families, particularly those with young children.

Debbie welcomed us to the Inn and gave us a tour – kitchen where coffee is available all day, living room to sit on comfy leather couches, TV room with a great selection of DVD’s and then our room. The Rejoice Suite was a terrific room (well, two rooms really) – comfortably slept the three of us on great beds with good linen and plenty of blankets. The room also had lots of dresser space, an open closet with hangers and a full-length mirror. The huge private bathroom is fully stocked – soap, shampoo, conditioner – facecloths, body scrubbers and big fluffy white towels. Basically everything you need to have a comfortable stay.

There is a lovely screened in front porch with comfortable couches & chairs (as well as a couple of table & chair settings) and we spent the early evenings out there with a glass of wine and our books, enjoying the sound of the birds.

The breakfasts were amazing - freshly baked bread and muffins, with granola, yogurt & fruit to start; then bacon & eggs cooked any way you want them. Plus an endless pot of the fabulous local coffee. We didn’t even need lunch because the breakfast was so filling.

I think the thing that made this B&B so exceptional were the little touches – fresh water bottles beside your bed every night, a fridge upstairs on the landing to store your wine or other yummy local purchases, Debbie’s knowledge of the area, which means great recommendations on almost anything you want to do, current magazines to borrow & read, and their overall warmth & friendliness.

For families, they have a stool for little ones to reach the sink, a baby bath, a toilet seat for toddlers, a shelf full of books & toys – plus, of course, there are the chickens & ducks outside, a swimming pool with a slide, and a play structure. Honestly, I wish I had known about Bells & Whistles when my kids were young!

If you are looking for a great place to stay, where you are hosted by wonderful people like Debbie & Bill, Bells and Whistles should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFamilyInn, Owner at Bells and Whistles Family Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful and extended review. We very much enjoyed having you stay. Seems like we spent much of the time laughing about something.
We truly hope that you, your sister and your absolutely charming mother can make it back here sometime.
Again, thank you
Debbie and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.0 mi away
Waring House
Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
21.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
No photo provided
Sandbanks Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells and Whistles Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells and Whistles Family Inn

Address: 1558 County Road 8, Picton, Ontario K0K2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst a serene county setting, Bells & Whistles Family Inn specializes in making your family vacation a memorable and fun experience.Located only five minutes to both downtown Picton and Waupoos wine region, you can start your day with a sumptuous, full country breakfast, made with fresh eggs and produce from our garden accompanied by our homebaked goods, in our dining room or on the screened veranda.With several beautifully appointed suites and rooms from which to choose,whether you are a couple, a group of friends or a family, our inn is the perfect spot to enjoy some family fun in our inground pool or enjoying our screened in Veranda. We not only accept young children but also cater to the whole family by providing booster chairs, toys, a playground, as well as baby monitors so that you can enjoy some adult time, possibly by our fire pit.At Bells and Whistles Family Inn, it is all about providing you with best of everything from great hospitality to wonderful amenities and services for a truly great County experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bells and Whistles Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells And Whistles Family Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bells and Whistles Family Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.