We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds and great gelato!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waupoos Estates Winery

Waupoos Estates Winery
3016 County Rd 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613-476-8338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Activities in Picton
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waupoos Estates Winery sits majestically on a gently sloping hillside overlooking Lake Ontario in beautiful Prince Edward County. The Winery offers an array of wines at the Tasting room, shopping in the Boutique and Dining in the full service Gazebo Restaurant. The first vineyards were planted in the mid 90's. The new vines were allowed time to mature. Proudly opening the doors to the public in 2001 with the first vintage.
Toronto
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds and great gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We tasted the wine but have to confess it's not to our taste. But the gelato was good and we enjoyed a nice cup of coffee at the waterfront. Would have come back for a nice lunch or dinner in the Gazebo Restaurant with its pleasant view of the lovely grounds if we had more time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    20
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

While visiting the winery, we decided to have lunch at the Gazebo Restaurant. The light Arugula Salad (blue Cheese, apple, maple pecans, and vinaigrette) with a glass of Chardonnay Reserve 2009 was a very pleasant experience. And, too was the winery's pleasing countryside location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience! Definitely planning a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed wonderful food and excellent service during visit to Waupoos Estates Winery and Gazebo Restaurant. For a first visit to PEC, really scored by making this winery a destination!

From the first sip of vine, a delightful Gewurztraminer while walking the property (how civilized); to the tasty scallops paired with White Rabbit and an enjoyable pairing of Red Rabbit with a meat dish; followed by sinfully delish desserts paired with a maple infused ice wine... the afternoon was memorable! Topped off by the excellent service and food and wine pairing by a knowledgeable and charming server. The whole experience was fantastic!!!

Will definitely return to this spot. Cheers!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch and stroll by the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I highly recommend Waupoos for a nice lunch and stroll while visiting The County. The Gazebo restaurant has beautiful big windows looking out over the vines and lake, lovely local art hung and available for sale, and food and service that matched the lovely environment. Bathrooms were large and lovely, and the gift shop had a very nice selection.
After trying Lake on the Mountain Inn restaurant the following week, I prefer Waupoos Gazebo Restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; decent wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very scenic location for a winery. Nice grounds, and I recommend a stroll down to waters edge. The wine tastes are not free -- $1 per taste with a max of 4-5 tastes. The taste is about two small sips honestly. They also sell chocolates. There is a petting zoo across the road for the kiddos as well as a blueberry picking patch. The Riesling was decent, so we bought a bottle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waupoos Estates Winery also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waupoos Estates Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waupoos Estates Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.