We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Girls Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Save
You added Merrill Inn to your Saves list
343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ULTIMATE GIFT CERTIFICATE
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Girls Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I just returned from a 2 night stay with 2 girlfriends at the Merrill Inn to celebrate our 30th birthdays. We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The service was so friendly from start to finish and really made us feel at home. The room was clean and lovely. A very good size for the 3 of us. The bed was very comfortable and there was even a choice of different type of pillows. We were provided with take home slippers, nightgown, and with a couple of girl movies to watch if we wanted along with snacks! So many details were considered to make our stay very enjoyable and comfortable. The food at both breakfast and dinner was superb. We got help choosing a nice wine to go with dinner and were offered to sample a few to make sure we were happy. We very much enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    42
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
169
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

6 middle aged ladies and a weekend at the Merrill Inn was one of the best experiences to date for costumer service and warm hospitality. The accommodations were extremely clean and very comfortable with a lot of attention to detail to include: take away slippers; each of us a pair of pyjamas; upscale full size bath products; magazines in our rooms; and so much more. Saturday night (during race weekend) the city was booked up for dinner reservations therefore we decided to stay in to watch the movies provided by the Inn and order pizza. Not realizing the pizza parlours close early, we called the front desk to enquire of any other places that would be open and they offered to go out to the local grocery store to pick up a pizza and then bake in their own ovens.
We had dinner the first night of our stay in the onsite restaurant and WOW! Amazing food and service.
I have already recommended the Merrill in to others that are now booking and plan to go back with my husband over the winter.
Thank you once again for such a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Merrill Inn twice now and it is wonderful! From the minute you are greeted to the last goodbye you are treated as familly. The service from all of team is outstanding. Always a friendly smile and any question or request is never a bother to them. The food is outstanding and the presentation is amazing...The desserts are so delectable that even though you think you have no room you can't stop eating. Breakfast is a cold buffet with a hot entree served...delicious way to start your day.

The location of the Inn is within easy access to the dowtown for a nice stroll and the wineries an easy drive. They also included a wine and cheese tasting this visit...such a nice addition. A leisurely way to sit and enjoy while taking a break before dinner.

Edward and Amy and all your team, thank you so very much for a great little getaway. We will be back for sure...can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Merrill Inn was the meeting spot for five high school girlfriends from the 70's reunion get together. The Inn is really lovely, the rooms are very comfortable - and the screened in porch was a wonderful spot for impromptu cocktails. The staff was always very helpful and accomodating whether it was responding to a request, getting coffee (on the porch again) n the morning, providing directions or calling cabs.. We took the one bedroom suite and another double room for five of us and it worked out really well. The Inn may truly become a tradition for our get together!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just had an overnight getaway in Prince Edward County, staying at the Merrill Inn. The place is picture post-card perfect, right down to the last detail.
The Inn was offering a very reasonable package; the room, a three course dinner, breakfast and a picnic lunch, all for $140 per person. We upgraded our room for an additional $30. Everything was terrific. The dinner, prepared by the resident chef, Michael Sullivan, was exceptional. Michael uses local produce as much as possible, and for starters we had homemade gnocchi with local cheese (much like quenelles) that were sublime, and a delicious crab cake that was free of any filler. Our main courses were a local beef tenderloin with crab and roasted rock Cornish hen. Both served with fresh local vegetables, both delicious. Desserts did not disappoint. Our room was well appointed, although the bed a little too soft for my liking.
The staff was most accommodating and very pleasant. Overall, a very nice experience and one that warrants repeating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Merrill Inn is a lovely inn, perfectly located in PE County. The service is very friendly and impecable. The dining experience is not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Merrill Inn continues to satisfy on all levels, as I discovered during my second visit this September. From the first greeting to check-out, our experience was truly enjoyable, the highlight being a great dinner and luscious wines in the Restaurant on the Saturday of our weekend. Kudos to Ed and Amy, Chef Sullivan, and the entire Merrill Inn staff, I will continue to recommend this great Picton destination, worthy of picturesque and enchanting Prince Edward County! Thank you to our hosts,

Andrée Verville (Ottawa)

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor less quiet, but still acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.