We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Save
You added Merrill Inn to your Saves list
343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ULTIMATE GIFT CERTIFICATE
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Great girls' getaway. Excellent food and incomparable value. Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    42
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
169
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The same elegance, attention to detail and splendid luxury with a personal touch which are so typical in small hotels in France and Italy can now be found in Ontario. You add one of the best restaurants in the county and a superb location close to the harbour in Picton and you have found a place to which you want to return over and over again whether in summer or winter. As well, the staff is extremely helpful and well informed and ensured that we were able to visit some lesser known places such as some of the newer wineries. We have been to the Inn three times now and we are looking forward going back soon again while in the meantime the people who have gone on our recommendation have raved about it to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The service, food, accommodation and value were truly exceptional! I have done a lot of "inn traveling", over the years, and I must say that Amy and Edward truly understand the art of hospitality! Dinner was outstanding with fresh, delicate flavours and beautiful presentation!
Our package included a picnic lunch which we were able to leave in the fridge, way after check-out, and pick up after doing some touring-much appreciated since it was a warm day!
There is no doubt that we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My wife and I took a get-away break to Picton, in Prince Edward County, Ontario. We thoroughly enjoyed the art and wine trails which are featured in the County and enjoyed a couple of relaxing tasting stops at 2 of the 30+ wineries. The trip was made perfect with our stay at The Merrill Inn in Picton. A renovated Victorian home constructed in 1880's, the Inn was full of charm and the owner was very welcoming. We enjoyed a delicious meal prepared with local products and complemented with fine local and international wines. The next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I just enjoyed a two night Romance Package at the Merrill. We had a wonderful time. The friendly atmosphere at the Inn and our beautiful room with working fireplace set the tone for a special experience.
We ate at the Inn both nights, breakfasts and had a box lunch. The food and it's presentation was unforgettable.
Our horse drawn carriage ride around Picton was a real highlight with people smiling and waving to us as we passed by. The owners Edward and Amy plus their staff go the extra mile in welcoming everyone into their beautiful Inn. We can hardly wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Merrill Inn is perfection. The meals are always exquisite, the rooms are beautiful, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's our favourite getaway in Southern Ontario and I recommend it without hesitation. We've stayed many times over the years and there has not been a single visit where the food or overall experience has not been top-notch!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBA09
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was our second visit to the Merrill Inn and to Countylicious in Prince Edward County. Another delightful experience. Our main floor room was large, airy, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The service was excellent and knowledgeable. Dinner was outstanding and breakfasts delicious. A new gift shop allowed us to take home some of Merrill Inn's gourmet treats and luxurious bath products. The Inn's location in the centre of Picton on a street of lovely old homes invites a leisurely stroll. We can't wait to return.

Another dining treat was East and Main bistro in Wellington.

Main Street shopping in Picton is fun - gourmet foods, fine art and crafts, home decor, books and tea at Miss Lily's. Take a drive around the County, see the countryside, visit the other towns and villages, the excellent cheese makers and wine and cider producers. Sandbanks Provincial Park has a fabulous beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.