We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ice fishing at Merland Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merland Park Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merland Park Cottages
Save
You added Merland Park Cottages to your Saves list
12488 Loyalist Parkway, R.R. #4, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Ice fishing at Merland Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This winter we decided to go to the Annual Ice fishing Derby Merland Park puts on. We travelled over 3hours to get there, but it was well worth the drive. 4 of us slept comfortably in one of the cabins called "musky lodge" which could hold 6 at least. We had a great time catching an abundance of perch just off the shore of the lodge, and we all won great prizes. The Owners Kevin, Jennifer and Kim are some of the best people you will meet and were more than happy to get us anything we needed and were absolutely great hosts! The rooms/cabins were clean, well taken care of and came with everything you need for a home away from home. All of us will definitely be going back more than once next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have been doing an ice-fishing derby for the past twenty odd years and have been to four different places. It's very difficult to house around thirty people and Merland Park did it very well. The cottages are very clean, comfortable and well heated. That was our first year there and we already booked all five winterized cottages for next year.
Thanks Kevin and Jennifer see ya next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

At first, I didn't know what to expect about our visit to Merland Park cottages...I was sent a request on Facebook from an acquaintance regarding an ice fishing tournament happening there. After checking out Merland Parks Facebook page and Merland Park.com, it seemed like it would be a great time so we took a chance and booked our spot. Our accommodations were excellent,very clean and nice and warm. The weekend was filled with great fishing,making new friends and some really fun games were played out on the ice(check out the pictures on Facebook!). The hosts were amazing, Kevin and Jennifer made sure we were well taken care of. The lunches and dinners were top notch and they made sure that you were full before you left. The dinners were followed by poker, which was also a lot of fun. We are definitely going back next winter for the ice fishing tournament but now we are thinking about checking Merland Park out in the summer for a weekend of walleye fishing and golfing. The cottages are beautiful, hosts are great, there is lots to do there for the young and the young at heart! I highly recommend Merland Park to anyone thinking of getting away...give Merland Park cottages a try, you wont be disappointed!

Dean Jones
St.Catharines,ON

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hospitality was amazing, friendly atmosphere. The cottage was updated, 3 bedroom with lots of room to spread out. Kitchen was very tidy and organized with all the essentials needed for daily meals. The bedrooms were a great size with lots of room for personal items to store. Fishing was great off the dock, there is an abudance of boats to rent or the option to bring your own. There is a clean , large size pool to swim in, updated with lots of great chairs to relax on. Had an amazing time at Sandbanks, short trip to the beach . Many attractions close to the resort, able to enjoy the beauty of Picton, cheese factory, fresh vegs and fruits. Restaurants were awesome! I would return for another summer vacation at Merland Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sportsman in Ayr
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our family has spent the last 5 summers vacationing for a week at Merland Park. The owners and their families have been great with us and our grandchildren, who just adore playing in the pool. They also enjoy the short drive over to the sandbanks and playing with the friends they meet there each summer. Personally I like to fish,. I find the docking adequate, and can always find some protected water with a large variety of fish to enjoy. There is alot of history in this area, and you can spend countless hours driving in different directions to study it. Looking forward to our trip next year.
Ilesy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great that pets are allowed. Pool is nice and deep and clean. I wouldn't advise swimming in the lake here but there are plenty of other great beaches nearby. Short drive to Picton. Overall, decent value for money. Our cabin was nice and clean but, for the price, the decor could use a little bit of updating-- maybe replace the carpet with laminate or wood flooring and a queen sized (vs double) bed would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Cottages are private with full amenities. Stayed right on the lake with balcony facing the lake so night time was very quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed the community fire at night. Awesome fishing by day, relaxing by the pool or just reading a book on the deck. Close to town so shopping was steps away. Walmart, grocery store and liquor store are all very close so if you forget anything it’s right there. In town there are lots of little shops to spend hours in. Fresh fruit and vegetable stands all over the place so meal time was fresh local produce. Great restaurants nearby if you want to go out for dinner. There is a beach close to the cottages for day trips. Fun, family atmosphere with clean cottages that are well stocked with most of the utensils you need. Great staff and owners. We would go back again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merland Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merland Park Cottages

Address: 12488 Loyalist Parkway, R.R. #4, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Picton Bay, just 2km east of the quaint town of Picton, Merland Park is a small quiet resort. We offer our guests a charming country experience with all the modern day amenities only minutes away. Our 13 cottages and 3 motel units are spread out across 3 acres of beautiful trees and laneways with every cottage overlooking Picton Bay. Merland Park is open year round. All Cottages come with fully equipped kitchens including fridge, stove, microwave and basic kitchen utensils. Each cottage has its own propane BBQ on the deck, cable TV, with VCR or DVD in the living room (available in most cottages), shower or bathtub in bathroom, blankets & pillows in the bedrooms as well as self-controlled heating & air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merland Park Cottages Picton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merland Park Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.