We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blumen Garden Bistro

Blumen Garden Bistro
647 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
(613) 476-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Long time visitor to the Picton/PEC area and finally got to Blumen for dinner. Had a wonderful meal - very well prepared dishes with a lot of detail going on in them. Sat with our little 2 year old daughter, staff were very attentive and helpful during the entire meal. Highly recommend reservations - saw several walk ins turned away on a Sunday night due to booking. Not really a family spot - more formal dining but were accommodating for our little one. The head greeter does need to smile a little more - she was less than thrilled the whole time there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    60
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here last Sunday. This was our first time in Picton and we almost missed the restaurant due to the small signage but noticed all the parked cars and realized we were in the right place. We were seated outside in the beautiful garden, it was such a tranquil place to have lunch. The seared tuna was done to perfection, as was the quiche with side salad.
The service was excellent, and the food reasonably priced. It was a warm day and the waiter brought out a big carafe of iced water for our table. This was a nice touch and efficient for the wait staff as well as they didn't have to keep refilling our glass. Nicole was so helpful. We wanted to see the Sand dunes and she brought out a map and provided great directions for us..
Will definitely come back the next time we are in Picton.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've eaten here before and it's always been great. However, we were here on July 3rd and it was superb. My wife had an excellent pickerel and I had the roasted duck breast which was magnificent. The duck is farmed and brought in from Quebec. This is the best duck I have had, including Brome Lake duck in Quebec which I have always thought of as the gold standard.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughters and I were seated in this quaint back covered porch area that extended into their garden. There were only four tables in the room. It's a very romantic setting if you are on a date. With one of my daughters, we split the portobello mushroom schnitzel and the rack of lamb meals. OMG everything was melt in your mouth. When you cut into the batter of the portobello schnitzel, creamy cheese came oozing out of it. It was sooooooo delicious especially paired with a Pinot Griggio from The Grange winery, it was like heaven to my taste buds. The lamb was perfectly prepared and also melted in my mouth. I had paired it with a Ba Co red from Sandbanks. It was sooooo good. My other daughter had the rib steak and it was huge. She said it was also perfectly prepared and she really enjoyed it. This is a must try place if you are in the Picton area. The service was very good. It is a bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine Picton dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very tranquil room, tables spaced exceptionally well for the comfort of everyone. Only fair wine list for a restaurant of this calibre, but the food is superb indeed. Service certainly efficient, if not overly friendly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blumen Garden Bistro also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Blumen Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blumen Garden Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.