We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf IT Down

Wolf IT Down
Box 850 | Nugget City, Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Washington USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had tried to stop here on our way north for breakfast but we were too early so when we passed by on our way south and planning on spending the night in Watson Lake we stopped for dinner. The menu was limited and they didn't even have water, you had to purchase a bottle, but we made our selections. I choose the chicken breast. What I got was a cooked breast the size of my palm covered in gravy (not mentioned on the menu) frozen peas and sliced carrots, and rice pilaf which consisted of unseasoned minute rice topped with diced green peppers. And all this in a cafeteria/general store setting for just $16.95! Granted the chicken and gravy were tasty I still left hungry and wished we had made it here for breakfast and a better experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MMMM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped here to fuel up. The wonderful smell of baking bread led us into the restaurant. Norm convinced us to have breakfast, but with the delightful aroma from the kitchen, it really didn't take much coaxing! I had the breakfast sandwich....the bread is homemade & oh so yummy! We bought some cookies & a cinnamon bun to go. The cinnamon bun was bigger than my hand. All were DELICIOUS! Norm is a friendly & outgoing guy. We enjoyed talking with him.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food on the highway! Highly recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is newer, clean, and very comfortable, the menu has a great variety, steaks, BBQ ribs, stir fry's, spaghetti, fish and chips, salads vegitarian options. The food was delicious and perfectly prepared the chef did an excellent job. We will make this a destination stop every time just for the great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on Our Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wolf-It Down has some of the best breakfast we had on our trip up the Alaska Highway. The service is fast and the people very friendly. Try the french toast-it's great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on our recent trip to the Yukon. I had one of the best beef dips anywhere and their pies are outstanding. Some of the best food we had in the Yukon came from this little place. I highly recommend a stop here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf IT Down also viewed

 

Been to Wolf IT Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf IT Down, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.