We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room with great front desk help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watson Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Horn Hotel
Save
You added Big Horn Hotel to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 844, Mile 633 Alaska Highway Watson Lake,, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big room with great front desk help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Traveling back home to Alaska we ran into trailer trouble so had to stay over. We chose this hotel because the front desk was so nice! It was 109$ not bad up here. The room had two large beds, kitchen area with table/chairs, nice tv and plenty of room! We would stay there again. It's not fancy but CLEAN and nice which means a lot to us!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    22
    20
    5
See reviews for
18
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We chose this hotel based on their signage :-) It turned out to be a good choice. If you're reading this, you know that hotel options are limited on the Alaskan Highway, but Watson Lake has three! The room was really charming and clean. The Jacuzzi tub was much appreciated after a long day in the car. Andrea's restaurant next door was what you'd expect from a diner, but it was nice to have a food option still open in the off season. Stay here if you're stopping for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Loved it, best hotel I stayed at during my 9 day trip across Canada. Showed up a day late due to bad weather, was not charged for the night I did not show up. The rooms had furniture you'd expect to see in your home, or maybe your grandparents home, wooden dressers, real bed frames, they were awesome. The location is right next door to a gas station and restaurant you can walk to. They are pet friendly and have the greatest dog that must belong to the owner sitting right inside the front door. I recommend this place and if I'm ever traveling through Canada again, I will plan my trip around stopping in Lake Watson and staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were traveling south in November and booked this hotel because we just needed a bed and a shower. What a nice surprise to find a huge, clean room with the most comfortable beds so far. The lobby may not have had an upgrade yet but the rooms are very clean and comfortable, no odors, internet worked great, the beds have new memory foam mattresses and wonderful snuggly comforters for the below zero C night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was a little dated, but so is Watson Lake. Everything here is expensive. The room was big and comfortable and clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again. The Asian restaurant a few doors down was very tasty and served huge portions of food. I was traveling with two dogs and it was not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBay, ON
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a rough drive into Watson Lake, we pulled into the Big Horn, which had been booked for my colleagues and me. It is certainly an old building. Walking into the room was like being transformed back to the ‘50s. All the furniture is old and dated. I can’t even imagine what time period had the flowered bed spread. The hotel permits animals. You will most likely hear someone turn on the shower (and quite loudly I might add). You will likely find stains on the chairs and possibly on the linoleum in the bathroom (like mine). The carpet in my room looked OK, though. The stains notwithstanding, the rest of the room was clean. There is a working coffee maker, bar fridge and satellite TV. Most importantly, I had one of the best sleeps I’ve had in a hotel room on that dated bed. They are supposed to have wireless internet, but my laptop could not pick up the connection. My colleagues were able to connect with their smartphones and tablets. The pictures on this webpage do fairly represent the hotel. You might be satisfied with Big Horn or you might not. Still, it seems pricey at $110 per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

So it's pet friendly, big deal. Price was a rip off, smelled like urine and smoke, no extra amenities, the decor is stuck in the 70's-80's. I'm not sure I would recommend this but then again we are in Watson Lakes. After a long days driving, 700+ miles it was nice to have a shower but what an expensive shower.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Horn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Hotel

Address: Box 844, Mile 633 Alaska Highway Watson Lake,, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Watson Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Horn Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.