We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going to grandma's for lunch...a good thing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matterson House

Matterson House
1682 Peninsula Rd., Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
250.726.2200
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Ucluelet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Like going to grandma's for lunch...a good thing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This cute little yellow house downtown Ukee is like stepping back into your grandmothers house on a cold rainy day for a bowl of soup. That is exactly what we did a couple days ago. After a walk on the West Coast Trail we went to grandmas and had soup.
My wife had the manhattan style clam chowder...great taste, good portion, could have been a bit hotter and thinner (it was thick enough to eat with a fork).
I had the seafood chowder, cream style, with spinach and corn and lots of fish and seafoods. A great soup - much better than all the chowders I have had on the east coast !
Beware of ordering bread with it...you get a whole warm mini loaf - plenty enough for two to share.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    101
    34
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great service and great home style meals....breakfasts are amazing, home made bread and all! Quaint and clean little house. Best food in Ucluelet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a late Sunday morning breakfast. As advertised by the employee at the cottages where we were staying, the menu was no-frills "home cooking." Portions were ample--neither of us could finish, which is rare! I had an omelet with spinach, zucchini, mushrooms and swiss, which included a good amount of veggies (especially the fresh spinach). My only real quibble was with the cheese, which was processed. We both liked the thick-sliced multigrain toast. Service was OK considering there was only one server working; we did have to ask for beverage refills. I don't know about "best food in Ucluelet" (haven't tried enough places), but pretty good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cottage Charm....Big Time Flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Reservations are a must... There are only about ten tables. We lucked out putting in our reservation on a Saturday at one in the afternoon for dinner at seven. The menu is sea food, steaks and European flavoured entrees. I had the Veal with peppercorn sauce (much like Wiener Schniztel) with carrots, red cabbage, brocolli and rice pilaf. My wife had chicken with black olives, feta cheese, over pasta. Both meals were fantastic. The loaf of home made bread prior to this disappeared quickly... The service was terrific, attentive and friendly, considering there was only one server for the whole place. We weren't left waiting for anything...
We highly recommend this place for its charm and hospitality, along with the great food...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owners try very hard to provide a clean and quaint little restaurant. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Best food in Ucluelet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterson House also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Matterson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.