We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabins West to your Saves list
Cabins West
258 Boardwalk, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at Cabins West for three nights in mid Sept with my mum and it was a total pleasure! Rod (one of the owners) was a great host and always made time to have a chat with us when he was around, find out what we were up to and make helpful suggestions if needed. We felt very welcomed and the whole booking process was quick and easy too.

The cabins have been beautifully built, and there's a real cosy feel to them inside too, with lovely fixtures and fittings and a gorgeous tree trunk running through the middle of the main room (we were in Suite #1). There was plenty of space, it was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed.

Only downside (and it's certainly not a reason not to stay) were that the cabins weren't quite as isolated as we'd thought/hoped from their website, as you are facing several other cabins, but it is a really quiet location and surrounded by plenty of trees so you do feel secluded. Plus, we saw the neighbourhood deer and fawn on a regular basis and a variety of birdlife, including eagles. It was pure bliss just to sit on the veranda in the morning with our coffee!

Our stay was the perfect end to a 3 week trip exploring Canada. The Wild Pacific Trail is just a short walk away and that is just stunning, particularly the lighthouse loop. We also went kayaking for the first time in the harbour - fabulous! There's also a well equipped Co-op in the town centre which had everything we needed.

We'd definitely recommend Cabins West and Ucluelet to any friends and family visiting Vancouver Island and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, 3-year old daughter spent 3 nights in Cabins West in July. We stayed on the lower floor which includes a bedroom and a pullout couch.

There are a lot of really nice features about this cabin: super clean, has a nice 'cabin' (unsurprisingly!) feel. Huge kitchen which makes cooking fun. A propane BBQ out front. About a 5 minute walk from two beaches (Terrence Beach - super nice) and another beach (little beach - nice but not as great as Terrence Beach), and a 5 minute drive to an amazing trail (Wild Pacific trail). The pullout couch was pretty comfortable. We saw bald eagles fly overhead numerous times and two deer seem to always be munching around the area.

There are a couple of things that weren't as amazing with this spot: its not beachfront (you're looking at other cabins); it would be nice if there was a patio at the back so we could enjoy the evening light (there are picnic tables), it would be nice if there were more windows in the living room of the cabin. I would probably give this place 4.5 stars if I could but 4 is too harsh and 5 is a fairer reflection of the overall experience.

Overall it was a great stay and I completely recommend.

Bonus: you get $10 per paying customer if you do whale watching with Jamie's whale watching company if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

June 20-24th/2013. Beautiful cabin! We thoroughly enjoyed it and the fishing was fantastic! Great kitchen & dining area with lots of cupboards & everything needed for doing your own cooking. We enjoyed the fireplace and it was nice to have 2 full bathrooms.
We plan to be back again next year.

Room Tip: Great for 2 couples (one with a baby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found this great getaway online. Never sure what to expect with online bookings. Very pleasant surprise. When we arrived the fireplace was on, room was inviting. Has open concept. Clean, clean, clean. Best stocked kitchen for utensils, cooking etc. We lacked for nothing. Dishwasher was a bonus!!
Quiet , wireless internet, close to hiking trails. Easy access to drive to Tofino and National Park to explore. Lots to do in area or just curl up and relax at this great get away. We were made to feel very welcome. Lots of space for a couple/ family in the cabin we rented. There were even some board games. Just like home!! Highly recommend. Wish I lived closer to stay here at least 1-2 times a year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had friends come out to BC from Ontario for the first time and we wanted to give them a real west coast experience so we booked an upper unit at Cabins West. We were so impressed with the place...super clean and so well stocked we didn't have to worry about anything. Rod was so nice and told us to contact him if we needed anything but we didn't feel the need at all. The beds were so comfortable...so nice after our long days of exploring the beautiful area. We will definitely be back and we definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at unit 4 Cabins West in June 2013. It was clean (very clean - spotless actually), comfortable, fully stocked kitchen, big screen TV's, wireless internet, private balcony, BBQ, comfy beds...etc. It felt like home. We shall return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the lower cabins as it was just two of us. The cabin had everything we needed to cook for our selves and make it a little home from home. We had not been able to bring everything with us so was great to see such a well equipped cabin.

Next time we will try get the bigger upper cabin and bring some friends along.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabins West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins West

Address: 258 Boardwalk, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality makes these newly built custom cabins a vacation accommodation of choice. Choose from four wilderness-inspired cabin suites with large cedar logs anchoring the centre of each cabin and vaulted ceilings soaring over 20 feet high in the loft suites. Decorated in beautiful knotty pine and warm earthy paint hues that reflect the surrounding temperate rainforest, each suite is designed with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Cabins are within walking distance to 2 local beaches, The Wild Pacific Trail and Amphitrite Lighthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabins West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.