We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ucluelet home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins West
Save Saved
You added Cabins West to your Saves list
258 Boardwalk, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 nights or longer
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ucluelet home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, 3-year old daughter spent 3 nights in Cabins West in July. We stayed on the lower floor which includes a bedroom and a pullout couch.

There are a lot of really nice features about this cabin: super clean, has a nice 'cabin' (unsurprisingly!) feel. Huge kitchen which makes cooking fun. A propane BBQ out front. About a 5 minute walk from two beaches (Terrence Beach - super nice) and another beach (little beach - nice but not as great as Terrence Beach), and a 5 minute drive to an amazing trail (Wild Pacific trail). The pullout couch was pretty comfortable. We saw bald eagles fly overhead numerous times and two deer seem to always be munching around the area.

There are a couple of things that weren't as amazing with this spot: its not beachfront (you're looking at other cabins); it would be nice if there was a patio at the back so we could enjoy the evening light (there are picnic tables), it would be nice if there were more windows in the living room of the cabin. I would probably give this place 4.5 stars if I could but 4 is too harsh and 5 is a fairer reflection of the overall experience.

Overall it was a great stay and I completely recommend.

Bonus: you get $10 per paying customer if you do whale watching with Jamie's whale watching company if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

June 20-24th/2013. Beautiful cabin! We thoroughly enjoyed it and the fishing was fantastic! Great kitchen & dining area with lots of cupboards & everything needed for doing your own cooking. We enjoyed the fireplace and it was nice to have 2 full bathrooms.
We plan to be back again next year.

Room Tip: Great for 2 couples (one with a baby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found this great getaway online. Never sure what to expect with online bookings. Very pleasant surprise. When we arrived the fireplace was on, room was inviting. Has open concept. Clean, clean, clean. Best stocked kitchen for utensils, cooking etc. We lacked for nothing. Dishwasher was a bonus!!
Quiet , wireless internet, close to hiking trails. Easy access to drive to Tofino and National Park to explore. Lots to do in area or just curl up and relax at this great get away. We were made to feel very welcome. Lots of space for a couple/ family in the cabin we rented. There were even some board games. Just like home!! Highly recommend. Wish I lived closer to stay here at least 1-2 times a year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had friends come out to BC from Ontario for the first time and we wanted to give them a real west coast experience so we booked an upper unit at Cabins West. We were so impressed with the place...super clean and so well stocked we didn't have to worry about anything. Rod was so nice and told us to contact him if we needed anything but we didn't feel the need at all. The beds were so comfortable...so nice after our long days of exploring the beautiful area. We will definitely be back and we definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at unit 4 Cabins West in June 2013. It was clean (very clean - spotless actually), comfortable, fully stocked kitchen, big screen TV's, wireless internet, private balcony, BBQ, comfy beds...etc. It felt like home. We shall return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the lower cabins as it was just two of us. The cabin had everything we needed to cook for our selves and make it a little home from home. We had not been able to bring everything with us so was great to see such a well equipped cabin.

Next time we will try get the bigger upper cabin and bring some friends along.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our family recently stayed here for a 3 day getaway, and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodation...everything was immaculate and beautiful, the owners were very friendly and helpful, the location was lovely, quiet and very close to the beach, which our 2 young children especially loved playing at for hours. Also close to many walking trails, all amenities, hands-on aquarium for the kids...I could go on and on, but in essence, we highly recommend it, for couples and families alike. It's sure to please!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabins West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins West

Address: 258 Boardwalk, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality makes these newly built custom cabins a vacation accommodation of choice. Choose from four wilderness-inspired cabin suites with large cedar logs anchoring the centre of each cabin and vaulted ceilings soaring over 20 feet high in the loft suites. Decorated in beautiful knotty pine and warm earthy paint hues that reflect the surrounding temperate rainforest, each suite is designed with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Cabins are within walking distance to 2 local beaches, The Wild Pacific Trail and Amphitrite Lighthouse ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.