We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, lovely setting, very comfortable and great breakfasts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1183 Helen Road | P.O. Box 287, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and play
Ranked #4 of 33 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hosts, lovely setting, very comfortable and great breakfasts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We found this place through TripAdvisor and chose it because it sounded less touristy than Tofino; and was a change from hotels on our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay - despite arriving in torrential rain. Tracy and Ted quickly made us very welcome with a home made treat to have with our tea on arrival.

The room was freshly decorated, very clean and spacious.

There is also a common room with the internet available - while there we suggested they added a headphone set so that people could use Skype or similar - and we believe they were going to do that. Breakfasts were served here (if not outside) and we could help ourselves to tea and coffee at any time. There is a TV available but we did not watch any, just enjoyed the peace and quiet. Similarly there is a hot tub which we did not use.

The breakfasts included fresh fruit, granola, orange juice and tea or coffee plus a different treat each day - blueberry pancakes with maple syrup, french toast, omelette and apple cake - all delicious! And on two days when warm enough we ate it on the verandah looking out over the inlet - where we could see seals and bald eagles.

While there the weather was initially drizzly then cleared up. The walks around the local headland and further north on Long Beach gave great views. A visit to Tofino to the north must include the Eagle Aerie art gallery - the art of Roy Henry Vickers.

We went on a whale watching trip but unfortunately did not see any (!) - but enjoyed the trip nonetheless - and we could have gone back for a free trip the next day but did not have time.

For a meal out, the Black Rock resort was pricey, but we would recommend fish and chips take away from Jiggy's - Tracy will direct you - along with others which we did not get to.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
116
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Both my husband and I have never been to a B+B before and so we were a little weary on trying one (my husband especially!!!). But if any other B+Bs are as fantastic as this one, then I'm hooked! Tracy and Ted have definitely set the bar high for the B+B industry. They really made a first impression! Their rooms are beautifully decorated with a few unique pieces, and if I didn't know any better, I would've thought I was staying in an actual high class hotel. No joke! Since we were the only guests that checked in that day, Tracy was kind enough to give me a tour of her 3 rooms (each named after famous/local artists) and ask all the questions I wanted to ask. In the end, we stayed in the Emily Carr room, which I think is the best of the 3. The nice thing was that I always felt like I was at home and never felt like I was intruding in someone else's home. Tracy and Ted have built their B+B so that you get a real sense of privacy. She and Ted live on one floor and the guests stay on another floor equipped with its own kitchenette, dining room and living room. It's a beautiful and wonderfully planned out set up!

As it says on their website, each room has heated floors so you're comfortably warm and has their own entrance (a patio walk out). Each room has their own large bathroom equipped with both a private shower and a soaker tub. Their soaker tub is amazing and they provide the bubble bath! It's large and you don't run out of hot water! I know this because I started the tub while my husband showered and I noticed that my hot water remained hot the WHOLE TIME it was filling. When my husband got out of the shower, I asked him if he had run out of hot water and he sais no. So the following morning I asked Tracy and she confirmed that she has 3 hot water tanks (maybe one for each room?) so that when she's got a full house, no one's in a cold shower!

The breakfasts were delicious and Tracy was very sensitive to the fact that my husband has a lot of food allergies. Tracy also suggested some GREAT seafood restaurants. Unfortunately, due to the weather and time of year we weren't able to do any kayaking or outdoor activities with Tracy's kayaking business, which is also on the same property. But we plan on going back in the summer and we fully intend on staying there.

Tracy has such a bubbly personality. She's warm and welcoming and very accommodating. We left a pair of high end jeans there and she was kind enough to send it back! She was even willing to wake up at 4 am to see if she can get it early enough to make the overnight delivery from BC to AB!

I can go on and on about the Majestic Ocean Bed & Breakfast! But rather than me do that, why not go check it out for yourself!? You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwEets10
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Very friendly hosts, lovely comfortable room, nice new hot tub, and amazing breakfasts. We had a great time, thank-you

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The suite we had was lovely, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and understatedly luxurious. It had a separate entrance, and there was a very well equipped common lounge area. Our hostess was warm and welcoming without being intrusive and the food was fabulous. We were here in the early spring, but it was easy to see that breakfast on the outside patio in the summer would be an unmissable experience. The location and view were fabulous. Overall, it was a great place to stay!

Stayed March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

The Majestic B&B is beautiful and well designed. The hosts and staff are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Emily Carr room and appreciated the use of the comfortable common area.
It’s a great home base for trips to the Pacific Rim National Park and the local Wild Pacific Trail.
We would highly recommend a kayaking outing. Our trip to the Broken Group Islands with two personable and knowledgeable guides was excellent. Exploring the inlet on our own was also memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. Tracy, the owner/manager, met us with a smile as we drove into the parking lot. She was very welcoming - she gave us a map and recommendations and which trails to start with, explained the use of the internet and common room, offered kayaking tours (but did not do so in a pushy way). . .and then let us know that she was available for any other needs.

The pretty room was perfectly clean, roomy enough for three days, with a recently renovated bathroom with soaker tub. The bed was incredibly comfortable with very soft sheets. The common room is where breakfast is served (delicious!) and you can also bring your own food in there for lunch or dinner. We did this on our third night, as we had exhausted our interest in Ucluelet/Tofino restaurants (a bit pricey). We picked up a BBQ chicken and salad at the grocery store and ate in the common room. A computer with Internet was available all the time and there is also a TV in the common room (if I recall correctly, quiet time is 10 pm. . .but if you've been out hiking all day, as we had, that's not a problem).

Although we saw Tracy at breakfast each day, the owners/managers were otherwise unobtrusive. You could hear that someone was upstairs, in case you needed something, but it was definitely relaxing to not have them "in our space" all the time.

The pricing for the B&B is reasonable for the area and we thought it was pretty good value, especially with breakfast included. There was always yogurt, granola and a big bowl of fresh fruit, plus a baked item each day. We tried the blueberry pancakes and the blueberry french toast, then just had a lovely multigrain-toast the final day (our request) as we were leaving very early. Coffee was always available in the kitchen and there were dishes, so that you could do your own food later on.

Driving time to the Pacific Rim Park was about 10 minutes and maybe another 20 minutes to Tofino, on top of that. We found it very convenient and the only downside is that it is not located on the oceanside. However, you'll see from our photos that it is location on an islet and a very pretty one, at that.

I have already recommended this B&B to a co-worker and we would definitely return here when we visit the area again. The Pacific Rim National Park is awesome - don't hesitate, go there now! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This B&B was not only clean and inviting, the atmospheremade us feel as if we were guests in a private home. Tracy and Ted also operate a kayaking & whale watching business, and went out of their way to get us a whale watching trip, even though they did not have the minimum needed. They really wanted us to have a good time, and we remember them most warmly for their kindness and caring. To this point it already has 5 stars. Add bonus stars for a killer breakfast, and if you're lucky you'll get her french toast. Brief as our stay was, we felt connected and fortunate to have stayed there and met those people. It was a highlight for us, and an unusual experience for us. Judy and Allan

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1183 Helen Road | P.O. Box 287, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront bed and breakfast surrounded by nature.Private entrance suites from waterfront patio and hot tub. Luxurious bathrooms with soaker tubs and heated floors. Comfortable rooms offering chiropractic edition mattresses with premier bedding. Artistically furnished. People love our gourmet homemade breakfasts. Satellite television and wifi. We are on waterfront acreage, families will enjoy the beach and the tree swing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.