We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis By The Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Save
You added Terrace Beach Resort to your Saves list
1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis By The Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I have a brace of Pugs and a Boston Terrier and we really wanted to get away to the West Coast and bring the pups with us. The Terrace Beach Resort was not only an amazingly beautiful place for us to relax and unwind, but a cozy and welcoming place for our four legged friends. It's so nice to come to a place where your pets are welcomed as much as we were. We look forward to coming back soon. Thanks for a great mini vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    62
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
114
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were impressed with the room and service. The resort is set up akin to a 1920s fishing village and has rustic charm. We really liked how it was reasonably priced for what you receive as well as the fact that it is close to some nice walking trails and is only a 20 min drive to Long Beach.

Unfortunately our fridge stopped working during the trip, but they were quick to have the situation dealt with and reimbursed me for the spoiled food (meat) that was in the fridge. I was impressed with this as not only did it speak to their customer service, but was also the right thing to do.

The only thing I wish I had known was their "emergency" number could actually be used for noise complaints. We stayed in one of the Boardwalk suites and they share a wall with another unit. On the second night of our stay there was a group that had a very loud party until about 4am. It was unfortunate, and they were apologetic and told me that they will respond to noise complaints after 10pm. I did find it funny how this group that made my night miserable by making noise put a "Please Do Not Disturb" sign on their door the next morning!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It is always a wonderful feeling to pull into Terrace Beach Resort, to hear the ocean waves, the wind through the trees and the eagle calling out its welcome. We have been here many times with friends, family or just on our own and each time we are welcomed with a big smile and shown to our cozy home-away-from-home. With the Wild Pacific Trail at our doorstep, town within walking distance and kayak launching either right in the bay (if the ocean is calm) or from the boat launch in Ucluelet, we have all we need right here. With the wonders of Pacific Rim National Park - Long Beach only a short drive away - the magic of the rainforest is ours to enjoy for every minute we are here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

my husband and i booked this getaway at the last minute and it was exactly what we needed and more. the staff were so kind and genuine. the cabin exceeded our expectations and so did the views from our balcony. amazing trails. nature, ocean breeze. we will definately be returning .Love it, love it love it. Thank you TBR.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this well managed resort with a amazing location . It was a all around amazing stay . The little bay it is located on is gorgeous . The room felt like it was a cabin not a 2 bed room in a larger building . Nice hot tub and bbq on balcony . If you are price comparing from Tofino, this great place is in some cases half the price . I will stay again .

Room Tip: Get the view and the hot tub , for the best experience .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our recent stay at Terrace Beach Resort could not have been better. We went with two other families and rented cabins 9, 7 and 6. We found the cabins to be absolutely lovely and the views from all of them were stunning. They were a bit rustic, but that felt perfectly in keeping with the amazing natural surroundings. The cabins were stocked with pretty much everything we needed (though we did have to share a bit between the cabins - that made it more fun). The beds were super comfortable and the octopus pillows were a darling touch. My son named his "Mr. Wiggles" and cuddled with it every night.

The boardwalks really did make the place feel like an Ewok village, which was completely awesome for the two 5 yr old boys (and the "grown-up" kids too). We loved that our dogs were made so welcome - complete with dog beds, dog wash station, towels, bowls (which was awesome because we forgot ours), etc. The easy access to the beach and to the gorgeous hike by the lighthouse were highlights. The beach has a little bit of everything - from rocky tidal pools to sandy areas and it is small enough that it is easy to supervise kids and dogs while sitting back and relaxing. The 2.5 km trail around the lighthouse is absolutely breathtaking.

We found the customer service to be excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful and full of information, without being intrusive. The office is stocked with tons of movies and games which we will remember for next year so we can pack lighter!

I would say our only concern was that the stairway railings and deck railings didn't look like they were built to code - so there were definitely places where our one year old could have fallen through, or gotten his head stuck. But because the website has such good pictures, we knew what we would be dealing with so we had brought baby gates with us and we were able to make it work. Who leaves a one year old unattended anyway?

Overall - fantastic place for a family adventure/vacation. We loved it and will be returning next year for sure.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront cabin for a better sense of privacy and fantastic views. Going with a group is so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from four nights at the Terrace Beach Resort. This was our first time staying in Ucluelet and hopefully not our last.

Value:
We have previously stayed at a lovely, fancy resort in Tofino (which I will not name) but after experiencing Terrace, the clear winner is Terrace. For almost half the price of the "high end" resorts in Tofino, we had a hugely spacious, updated ocean view cabin, that puts the other resorts to shame for size, amenities and cost.

Room:
We stayed in Storm Watcher. Bedroom plus loft bedroom, two wonderfully updated bathrooms, large living and dining area, very small kitchen and great deck and hot tub with views. Soaker tub in bathroom was heavenly. So was hot tub which we took advantage of daily. The kitchen had everything we needed cooking-wise (minus oven, but we used the on deck BBQ) but was very small. Only one person in at a time. That was the only noticeable downfall but not major. It was only myself and my husband, but Storm Watcher can very comfortably accommodate four adults or a family.

Pet Friendly:
Truly a pet friendly resort. We brought our two retrievers who loved off leash runs on Terrace Beach. There were dog bowls, blankets, towels and treats upon our arrival. Walking trails right outside the door.

Service:
Quick and friendly check in, with a big selection of DVDs to borrow in the office. Daily cleaning available, but are also respectful of privacy.

Location:
Easy walking into town and along Wild a Pacific Trail. Short drive (under 30 min) to Long Beach and our favourite Tacofino food truck. The Ucluelet beach sections (like Terrace Beach) are not as long and sandy as some in Tofino. However the pros outweigh the cons. I would rather stay again at Terrace and spend the day at Long Beach than pay double to stay in Tofino.

Well done Terrace Beach Resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.