We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Save
You added Terrace Beach Resort to your Saves list
1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprise Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading some great reviews on here , I decided to surprise my fiance with a trip up to Ucluelet staying at Terrace Beach Resort ( Feb 1st to 3rd ). After reading multiple reviews I went with the well recommended Surf Grass #8 cabin which was exceptional. We had an amazing relaxing time. Everything was top notch. Thanks to Lorne for the hospitality and sharing his vast knowledge of the community with us.

We LOVED everything about the cabin and the property. The cabins are well maintained and clean and everything they are advertised to be. We ate out during our weekend stay however the kitchen was fully equipped which we will utilize next time.

We went up there to relax and get away and that's exactly what we were able to do. It was peaceful, beautiful and romantic and we have no doubt we will be back in the near future. Every time we stood out on the deck or relaxed in the hot tub we were taken aback by the view and the beauty of Terrace Beach.

Thanks again to Lorne and the staff. We loved our stay and have been recommending the Terrace Beach Resort to everyone. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Surf Grass - Cabin #8 is a real gem. The best view and a relaxing hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! What wonderful things you said about Terrace Beach Resort. We thank you for these comments. We also must tell you that the best part of running our resort is meeting our guests. The joy of meeting and talking with our guests makes every day interesting and worthwhile, Please come back and visit us again, soon. Thanks again. Lorne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    62
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
114
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our group stayed a weekend in the Captains Quarters. It was equipped with everything we needed to be self contained for the duration. The hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. The hot tub under clear skies, on the beach was a bit of heaven. The units were very clean, and we loved the warmth of the fir floors and wood beams. This is the perfect place to unwind, amongst some of the most beautiful natural scenery in the world. This is a great value, and we are so happy to have discovered it. We will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Cabins are very clean and very well stocked. You don't need to bring anything but clothes and food.
We stayed there for the first time this weekend and are now planning to go back for a week's stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: We didn't need a view, but if you want one with a view, just ask. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Storm Watcher unit from January 25th - 27th with our dog. We spent 90% of our time at this resort on the beach and trails and most of all in a super nice unit. We cooked all of our meals in our room, BBQ on the deck with a nice large hot tub and chairs. The room was warm and comfortable, two large full bathrooms and a huge living room. Our first visit here last year was 2 nights, this time 3 nights next time will be 5 nights. Seen some deer, eagles, heron and even a seal in the bay. My wife and I were welcomed by all the staff, Lorne, Norma and Jason thank you for a great resort. Lorne your time to talk with us was priceless. See you in June.

Room Tip: Cabins and Lofts are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Husband and I along with 2 good friends (and our dog) stayed at the Terrace beach resort in the Captains Quarters from December 18th to the 23rd. We were there for my 40th birthday and it was a great time! Someone from the staff checked on us every day to see if we needed anything, they had movies we could borrow ... although we usually had the TV on the lighthouse channel. We had the massage therapist come in one day to give us all great massages. Loved that the resort is right on the Wild Pacific Trail & we walked out to the lighthouse most days. Ucluelet slows down in the winter so we had to go to Tofino to get fresh seafood to cook - that was a fun day trip. I loved sitting in the hottub in the soft rain. We had a lovely vacation staying at such a great, relaxing place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
You have hit on a key target for us -- "relaxing". We try hard to make your vacation with us the most relaxing and comfy ever for you. Thanks for letting us know that it worked for you. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I just spent the best part of our Christmas vacation here and we are already planing our next trip.

If you want the perfect place to relax and getaway from it all then this is for you. For the price I personal think these guy offer a better experience than the Black Rock.

The owner/manager was super friendly and the staff were move than helpful.

If you are reading this then please just spend one night here and you will fall in love with it charms like all the other reviewers :)

Room Tip: You don't have to be beach front for an awesome room. Get any of the lofts and you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place was great! We spent our anniversary there last May. This particular suite offers a giant walk in shower and a completely private hot tub. The stove inside is only a two burner but there is a bbq outside. I advise buying local fish every night and grilling. The bed in the loft area was super comfy and you can also roll out the hide-a-bed downstairs if you prefer, they are also comfortable. This place is laid-back, quiet. Terrace Beach is a nice small walk and the Pacific Trail is a great morning's hike starting just at the property line of the resort. Unlike so many places around Tofino/Ucluelet this resort is a real value, they're off season rates are from October to the end of May so the Eagles Nest suite is only $149 cdn per night, just because it doesn't have a view. The suites that do have views also have hot tubs visible by anyone standing on the beach or walking down in front of any of the cabins so I preferred the privacy our suite had. That said, the ocean view loft suites are only $50 more a night. I might like to try the Captains Quarters one day, that is the largest cabin with 3 or 4 floors and a giant deck with a 6 person hot tub. Anyway this place is lovely for people who like to get away to the West Coast and relax, maybe walk some of the amazing beaches in the area, hot tub 3 or 4 times a day, enjoy grilling/cooking freshly bought/caught food. There are also some great places to go for breakfast (Matterson House in Ucluelet is actually an old house, very quaint, great benny), lunch and dinner in the area. You won't find anywhere that's a better bang for your buck in the area, there are very few places on Vancouver Island that offer such comfort and private hot tubs for less than $250 even at winter rates. If you want Whale Watching or Chartered Fishing you are definitely in the right place as well if your budget allows for it, apparently there's great golf nearby too but I went for the solitude, the hot tub and the fresh fish on my BBQ. Love Terrace Beach Resort indeed.

Room Tip: Eagle's Nest, total privacy, giant shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow !! What can we say except THANKS . Reviews like yours make the efforts of our "gang" and us worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.