We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Point Cottages

Save Saved
You added Reef Point Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reef Point Cottages
1012 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Ucluelet
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cute cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights ... purchased from an online auction for about $62 nt. Was worth it in that regards. Cabin A studio.

Check in was easy, although wasn't given any wifi info, although I believe they have it. Upgrades (even paying upgrades) were not available, even though there was many cabins available. Due to the online auction we bought from. We didn't have a hot tub, but there was a BBQ on our deck for use.

Small, functional kitchen with dishwasher. Bed was comfy, although the boxspring wasn't covered and there wasn't a head board.

Overall clean, although the jets in the bathtub are due for a scrub. Ucluelet is about 40 mins from Tofino. There are a couple pubs in town, we went to one on the ocean, which wasn't really busy on the Friday night, but had a nice view. A Co-op grocery store is close by for stocking up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    15
    22
    11
See reviews for
32
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean and well kept, these cottages are comfortable. Walking distance to Pacific Trail, place is isolated. No real view to the ocean or inlet. Crowded by too many trees in the back. No wifi to speak of. Feels like a suburban neighborhood with the cottages all lined up. Place has a good stock of kitchen stuff so no need to bring any pots and pans. They can loan you a crab pot if you decide to buy the local crab..which is NOT CHEAP. Restaurants are scarce so plan to eat at the cabin. It's an experience if it does not rain....but that's the west coast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited Ucluelet for an anniversary getaway. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage at Reef Point. We liked the location, and the cottages are within walking distance to beaches and trails, which was a plus. We had no view at all from our cottage, but I understand that some of them have forest or inlet views. If a view is important to you, be sure to specify that when booking. The cottage was quite clean. The bed was comfortable, and most of the furniture was simple but nice. The narrow spiral staircase to the loft bedroom was a quaint touch, although impractical - it seemed a bit rickety, and since it was difficult to carry anything up and down the stairs, we left our bags in the living room during our stay. It was also inconvenient to navigate the staircase in the middle of the night to get downstairs to the cottage's only bathroom. All the basics we needed in the kitchen were supplied, and we had no complaints in that area. We appreciated having a dishwasher. It was great having a BBQ on the deck, with easy access to extra propane tanks if we needed them. The staff member at the front desk when we checked in was pleasant (although she didn't offer us any information about the area), and we were able to check in 2 hours early, which we appreciated after a long drive. We did have a few small issues with the cottage. First, the hot tub was on the front deck with absolutely no privacy. Because the cottages are very close together, it's awkward sitting in the hot tub on your front porch a few feet from neighbours sitting in their hot tubs, with people walking up and down the road between the cottages. It was difficult to relax, knowing that your conversation could easily be overheard. The gas fireplace did not work, which was disappointing after a chilly walk on the beach in the rain. Most of the jets in the bath tub did not work. The couch was extremely uncomfortable and the TV was very small. When pulled out the pull-out sofa bed, it had crumbs on it and did not look very clean - nor was it comfortable enough to sleep on. If you are travelling with children or more than two adults, or if you plan on spending much time indoors, the one bedroom cottage may not be the ideal accommodations for you. Our cottage was just fine and we enjoyed our stay, but it certainly wasn't outstanding. This was our first visit to Ucluelet and we don't know how Reef Point Cottages compare to other places in town. Ucluelet is absolutely beautiful. We fell in love with the area and will be returning for another visit later this fall...but we have made reservations to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you need to be sure to specify that when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As a family of five, the space in a two level, 2 bedroom cottage was appreciated, but just about everything else was disappointing. Way over-priced for the quality. Ucluelet has become a tourist trap in the 30 years since my last visit (of course, we knew) but we expected and you can do better. Basically these are time shares with varying facilities so be well aware of what you are getting, and what you are not.

Other similar cottage providers in the street and area seemed to have nicer accommodations and better views.

I actually enjoyed visiting Sooke (both amenities and price wise) better in recent years than Ucluelet and Tofino for sea life and inexpensive accommodations with seas-side views to be honest. However there are some things in Tofino that can't be replaced.

CONS: Over priced, poorly described. Big honkin' "For Sale" sign on the porch. In Cabin 279, it was a bit run down (dings and bathrooms getting dingy, basically an old IKEA show room), we got a dirty, gross, faded "soft tub" not a hot tub - none of us would get in it. Dishwasher was broken, one burner on electric stove not working, gas fireplace wouldn't light automatically (and smelled of leaky propane), BBQ was gross, deck was dirty and greasy. Only bare minimum of towels. TV on main floor looked like it would fall off poorly constructed shelf at any moment, I was afraid to have my kids be anywhere near it. Condos are close to neighbours (two - three feet between cottages) so we were kept up by late partying neighbours who had more real hot tubs, privacy is not an option as rear decks and windows overlook each other. There was no view as advertised, the condo we were in supposedly overlooked an inlet, but it's a narrow little dirty sluice, completely hidden from deck by tall trees, no access (not that you'd want to go view it anyway - it is NOT ocean).

PROS: Staff was friendly and responsive. Fair amount of space for a large family compared to a hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a different cottage provider, get photos of your cabin, check reviews here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Neat enough little cabins, with kitchens and wifi, both of which are handy, and reception open all day with friendly staff. Although the closer you look at the cabins, the more you realise you're basically staying in a glorified flat-pack shed from B&Q. Reason for 2 star rating is that I think these are seriously overpriced. $170/night is steep even for this area, and there is no view to speak of. Bird's Bay Retreat down the road has a great little cabin for $100/night right on the inlet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Cabins seem to be popular in Ucluelet and although this one has no view of the sea at all it was very comfortable. They are relatively new and have that 'new' feel. Maybe a mile from the center of town but Uke is a very small place. Very convenient for the Wild Pacific Trail. We had no complaints and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first time in Ucluelet so we weren't sure where to stay. We found the Reef Point online as it seemed to be close to the kayaking tour place we had booked with, and it had a kitchenette which seemed convenient. When we checked in we were a little disappointed with our accommodations. The bed felt like a hide-a-bed mattress and creaked with every move. The tub/shower was ummm...a little yucky. There is no way I would have used the jet tub. There was a used towel from a previous occupant left on the back of the bathroom door. These accommodations met our basic needs but were not comfortable. There are nicer cabins in the vicinity that we discovered after we had checked it, so we will not be returning to the Reef on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Point Cottages

Address: 1012 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Point Cottages, where the west coast rain forest meets the mighty Pacific Ocean, is located on the West Coast of Vancouver Island in Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada. Reef Point Cottages offer an exciting, intimate and self-indulgent experience for those who want to explore what British Columbia’s most spectacular and natural landscape has to offer.With over a dozen different cottage styles and sizes, you are sure to find something that suits the size of your party and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Reef Point Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Point Cottages Hotel Ucluelet
Reef Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Point Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.