We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power outage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's

Hank's
1576 Imperial Lane, Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada
12507262225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Ucluelet
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Power outage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Frank served us during a power outage. The food was very good, excellent service. Candlelit meal was lovely. Because the debit machine was not available, Frank trusted us to pay our hosts, Ted & Tracy Eeftink, at the Majestic B&B. Nice to experience that small town hospitality.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good we ate there 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Arrive early to check out the daily chalkboard menu. Fresh smoked meats and pasta dishes are made daily. A lot of locals eat here, and we were made to feel like part of them. The homemade cherry pie for dessert was delicious!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, B.C.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Beer and Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We just got back from dinner at Hank's. This is not our normal kind of food, but it turned out to be very tasty indeed. They use a chalkboard menu, so there's not a great number of choices. This is a good thing, because what they do they do well. We had pulled pork and brisket. On the plate there was a potato salad with lemon, and baked beans. The meat was very tender but not terribly spicy.
Lots of unusual beers to choose from and friendly service make this a pleasant surprise. It's not fancy, but comfortable and seems to be popular with the locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamcook
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our group of six ate here in December. Being Christmas week, there were not too many options open in Ucluelet, and we were pleased to find this spot. But the food was OK, certainly not outstanding. The decor is pretty ho-hum, but it is not pretending to be upscale. I found it to be not particularly good value. The craft beer list, however, is outstanding. For beer enthusiasts, that is worth noting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas in Ucluelet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had Christmas dinner at Hank's and it was excellent!! Great place, great food and reasonable prices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Hank's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.