We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location, lovely accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim to your Saves list
Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“wonderful location, lovely accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here as an RCI exchange guest in May 2010. Had a 2 bed unit which was very comfortable, full 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, with good living space. Very spacious for 2, comfortable for 4 but would be a bit snug for 6 - you would have to be on very good terms. Accomodation was very clean and very well cared for - simple decor, white walls and plain (but stylish) wooden IKEA furniture gave a very restful atmosphere. Bathrooms were very well appointed, both had full baths (deep soaking tubs) and good over bath showers with separate sinks - both bathrooms were of a very good size. Linens were of good quality, both beds king sized and both bedrooms were very spacious. Living rooms have a gas fireplace and comfortable chairs. Kitchens were well equiped with everthing you could want, and had a full sized cooker, microwave and large fridge - perfect for self catering with lots of preparation space. The units all have wonderful decks either looking onto a harbour view or an inlet view - both views are good. Ours had a hot tub - sort of like an outdoor bath as it had taps rather than being the usual type - basically to fill it up when you want to use it. The resort is a mixture of timeshare and private condos so it's a bit mix between holiday makers and longer term residents. The only drawback to the resort was that as it is very quiet then sound can travel as the buildings are 3 story wooden clad units - on a couple of nights we had noisy neighbours both at the side and above which was a pest. Some units have lots of steps so if you have mobility problems then suggest let the resort know. All units have a different layout to take advantage of the views which are great.

This is a very quiet resort, there is no entertainment on site which is just what we wanted but you do need a car to explore and to go out. This resort is at the end of the road and is great for watching wildlife - we saw sea lions, bald eagles, bears and whales from the unit - fantastic. Tofino is about a 45 minute drive away - with lots of wonderful beaches and rainforest in between - if you want action and lots going on head to Tofino.

Overall this was a lovely resort and I would recommend. The resort staff were wonderful and Linda the manager was super helpful and really cares about helping people to really enjoy themselves - thank you Linda!

We would really recommend the wildlife cruise with Al and Toddy at http://www.archipelagocruises.com/ - they are more expensive but it's worth it - wonderful boat and superb comfortable experience - and 5 minutes drive from the resort.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    93
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
101
116
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We love it a lot! We have been visited this resort 2 times, but still felt great. They have changed management, but no problem. My husband and I booked ground floor with jacucci. The unit was pets friendly. Our dog loved it. It was quite, clean, comfortable and luxury. Can you imagine the feeling when you socked in the jacucci, the pacific ocean just in front of you?
It was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We had a fantastic room overlooking the inlet/harbour. We spent a lot of time watching the sealions and gazing at the mountains. The balcony hot tub was pretty sweet. The resort is about a 15 minute walk from Ucluelet itself, so it is a little ways to go if you want to go out to eat.
The room had a kitchenette which was fine for preparing meals, and a super comfy bed.
Ucluelet and the coast are magic, and this place is great for a little bit of relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

this is a great hotel, everything others have said is more than true, the staff was very helpfull and always happy. they had the rain gear that was advertised in all sizes and as it was storm season we needed it to walk on the wild side of the beautiful Pacific Rim Park.
Our unit faced the inlet (512) where we were able to watch seals and otters play and lots of birds. The rooms were spotless and my only complaints is that there was only enough dishes to do one or two meals so tht we had to wash after every meal and there was no extra glsasses . we will definitly return for another relaxing week

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We came here from California for a second year to get away from the congestion and enjoy watching storms, seeing the rain forest in a friendly and unhurried environment. We love the location and accommodation. Rooms are laid out on two sides of a small peninsula sheltering the boat basin in the charming little town of Ucluelet on Vancouver Island, British Colombia. Because of its location there is no traffic for nearly a mile. On the ground floor are garages, the second and third floors have condo-style units. This year they have a new reception center in the former restaurant, with internet, a fire place, video and book lending library. They post the updated weekly weather and tide table for beach combing. Both times we’ve stayed here the staff have been great. When we needed a certain utensil that the unit did not have, the staff immediately found one and delivered it to our door. A week’s stay included a change of linen.

Our room overlooked the boat basin, with quaint fishing boats, sea birds and an occasional seal. Rooms on the other side view the sound leading from town to the ocean. Our room (1005) was 2 bedroom, 2 bath on the first level above the garages. Plenty of closet space, a large dining table and a gas fireplace. The kitchen was spacious and well-stocked with utensils, pots, pans, bowls, soap, towels, under-sink-trash can, modern refrigerator (no ice maker), microwave, dishwasher, stove, oven and modern counters and cabinets. There was a phone, large flat-screen television with cable connected to a DVD and VCR player, a CD player, comfortable couch and lounge chairs. Our bedroom had a comfortable bed and pillows, plenty of soft towels and soaps. Both bathrooms were modern and very clean. In a separate room was a washing machine and dryer and a large hot water heater for plenty of hot water. Each room has its own baseboard electric heater and local control. No air conditioning - probably none needed even in summer. Units have a large “soaker tub” on the rear deck - a perfect place to sit and watch a storm or dusk settling over the village. We looked at the room above ours while it was being cleaned and it was just as nice as the one we stayed in.

We wish the rooms had internet, but it is only a 2-minute walk to the reception center and with lots of sitting room and laptop counter space it is easy to access. The village of Ucluelet has a modern grocery store, plenty of places to eat and interesting arts and crafts stores. It is well-located for walking the rainforest paths, beaches and native villages. Another small town - Tofino is 40 minutes away along the beach road. More art, craft and glass galleries there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I've never had a more BEAUTIFUL VIEW from a hotel room before.......
I'm not exaggerating when I say that! I could have sat and stared at the peaceful calm waters forever. (we even saw a baby seal swimming in the bay!!) The look was "completely WEST COAST beauty and I will keep the image in my mind forever.
(and a day) :-)
We took many relaxing walks around the area and on the beaches, found some quaint (and quality restaurants) in the town, and generally soaked in the healing charms of nature.
I found the rooms to be very comfy cozy, I wouldn't have anything to complain about.
There had been another management co. in place last time we visited which had some problems, but as far as I could see all's well now.
We hope to return soon. And we hear Sarah McLaughlin has a home in the area.
How nice for her.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

In june my spouse and I stayed in a two bedroom two bath unit in this beautiful relaxing resort. Since it is pet friendly we were able to share the experience with our two dogs. We loved the wild west coast scenery from our unit as well as the sounds and activities of the wildlife and the Ucluelet harbor.Watching bald eagles fishing and the sealions playing from our deck was an amazing sight. Watching the fishing boats coming and going was fascinating and listening to the tales of this years record catches made me wish I liked to fish.The resort is a short walk to Ucluelet yet not in the heart of the town so it is really peaceful and quiet. The unit was tastefully furnished and had a fully stocked kitchen so we were able to eat in when we didn't feel like venturing out. There is lots to do in the area but our favorite activity was the spectacular Wild West Coast Trail. It is an extensive many kilometer walk that covers numerous diverse areas-beautiful beaches, rainforests, scenic outlooks, an historic lighthouse, whale watching outcrops and best of all because it is outside the national park it was free. Our only regret about the trip was that our stay was not long enough. We can hardly wait to go back, as this is one of the world's most beautiful places. Next time we will try a winter storm watching trip and we will definitely stay again at Water's Edge!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Address: 1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#4 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#4 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge Resort at Pacific Rim on the Ucluelet harbour is ideally situated for discovering wild, rugged coastal wilderness. Visitors will enjoy spacious suites - the perfect base to explore miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests and spectacular panoramic. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Warm, inviting suites feature west coast decor and the best in functionality and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.