We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim to your Saves list
Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great room with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with 2 children (12 & 14). Very enjoyable in a deluxe suite on the bottom floor.
ROOM: The room itself deserved 5 stars. Full kitchen with every tool imaginable - even a spice rack! Just like a 1 bedroom condo. And a jucuzzi outside just steps from the water. The rooms faced the inlet and the mountains that tower above it.
RESORT: Staff were polite and helpful. Upon our arrival they confirmed no daily housekeeping. If we wanted new towels/sheets, we would need to exchange them ourselves at the office. This did not affect my impression, but if daily maid service is important to you, I'd think twice before booking.
The resort itself is near the harbour, but not really walking distance to any amenities.
FOG: morning fog was heavy and often lasted until 3 pm. This was true even on the ocean side. This limited viewing pleasure substantially, but one could hardly blame the resort for the fog.
Very quaint, quiet and relaxing.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
David P, thank you for your thoughtful and informative review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and all the amenities our suites offer. The fog was certainly thick - and a surprise in mid-August! We hope you can make it back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    89
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
100
110
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was our only apartment during our 3 weeks in Canada. It was very well equipped and we were looking forward to cooking fresh for a change. However, bizarrely, we couldn't get fresh fish in Ucluelet! The guy in the co-op said they get very little, and if you want to get fresh local fish you have to go to Tofino!
Anyway, food supplies apart, the apartment was lovely and the hot tub was great. As others have said, the privacy on the ground floor is an issue - a bit alarming to be sitting in your private hot tub when someone walks by with a camera!
The wifi is not great, but hey, it is remote and wild, so city wifi speeds can hardly be expected.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I went during the off season just after Christmas in 2013 and found a very sleepy, misty little town. Our room was booked with a Groupon deal and so we were hoping for the best but expecting average. We were given a ground level unit which would have been ok if there was better privacy for each unit's patio. One of the biggest things we were looking forward to was the whirlpool bathtub on the patio, but when there is little to no privacy with your next door neighbor its not very enticing.

Later we were disturbed by constant pounding through our walls. Was it a kid practicing dribbling a basketball? Someone doing jumping jacks for an hour straight? After we couldn't take any more, we called the front desk and complained. They apologized and upgraded our room as the room next door to us wasn't another guest, it was an owner of a condo as some of the units were privately owned. He was apparently remodeling his kitchen and didn't know we were in the room next to him. He found out we were there and was very friendly and apologized for the noise, even offered us a bottle of wine.

The hotel staff upgraded us to a top floor unit which did not have privacy issues for the bath tub. We were so pleased with this new room.

I should also note that we brought our dog, a dachshund, and it was a huge plus for this place to allow him to come.

All in all we got a great respite from our busy lives and LOVED the area. Ucluelet is one of the most beautiful places we've ever been. A surfing/mountain community at its best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Yodstrom, thank you for coming back to Water's Edge! It's always nice to see our guests come back frequently! We are sorry to hear about the noise that disturbed you during your stay, but are glad our team was able to assist you with with a different room. Please feel free to send us an email at marketing@watersedgeresort.ca before your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

You get peace and quiet and self catering. There are a couple of local eateries around for those who can't cook else you can get groceries from the Marketplace in town or Co-op in Tofino. Not many places though where you can catch site of a bear, some deer and a bald eagle within one hour whilst sitting on the verandah. We did some walks also = the pacific rim walks are at the end of the road with free parking. The area between Ucluelet and Tofino is designated a national park so you need to purchase a permit to stop. Long beach is beautiful though and worth the fee. Good little place to stay...the great outdoors without the discomfort of camping.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed as a family of four for 4 nights and were impressed with the accommodation and location.
Had a top floor 2 bed unit with a lovely view across the inlet / harbour entrance.
Very peaceful throughout our stay.
Accommodation was well maintained and comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped.
Liked the soaker tub on the deck (although the hot water supply to it was intermittent).
Friendly service upon arrival. The kids liked the games / DVDs that they could borrow.
Ucluelet is a small town and local services (eg grocery store) were all nearby.
Would definitely recommend this location / accommodation to others who are happy to self-cater. But be aware that it's not a hotel and there isn't 24hr service on site (nor a restaurant / pool etc).

Room Tip: Top floor units have better views of the inlet / harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our family of four rented a two bedroom condo in early July - it was clean, spacious and well set up with a bedroom and bath on both levels. The kitchen was well equipped, the wifi was free and we had a view of the inlet.

Room Tip: We paid an extra pet fee ($25/nt) and we had to pay an extra guest fee of $40/nt (even though it sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our queen/sofa bed unit had a limited ground floor view of the inlet, good kitchen with all ware's,due to distance to the communal BBQ we used the oven broiler, cheery gas log fireplace, bed was a bit hard with a thin mattress, bedroom air and pillows smelled of someone else's scalp/hair although they appeared clean. Rufus or Allen's hummingbirds, kingfisher, robins. Driving to all local activities is easy including the Pacific Rim National Park.

Room Tip: Units with an upper floor have better views of the inlet, note this is not the open ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Address: 1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#4 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge Resort at Pacific Rim on the Ucluelet harbour is ideally situated for discovering wild, rugged coastal wilderness. Visitors will enjoy spacious suites - the perfect base to explore miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests and spectacular panoramic. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Warm, inviting suites feature west coast decor and the best in functionality and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.