We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Water's Edge Shoreside Suites to your Saves list
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Guided Trail Walks
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nice view, friendly people. There are only two things I don't like about them. The internet is a tragedy. You have less than 1% chance of getting a connection outside of the registration desk, which could be 30 sec away from your room. If you go to the clubhouse/registration desk, you may get some signal but it means fighting against dozens of mosquitos when the building is closed (12pm-8pm is their office hours)

The internet isn't their fault because the island is a remote area after all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Eric Y, thank you for sharing your experience at Water's Edge on TripAdvisor. We agree with you - we've got a pretty nice view! As you mentioned, Ucluelet is a remote destination and our internet access is limited. We apologize that you had to fight off a few mosquitoes while checking your email. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    109
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
116
135
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stay in Ucluelet about once a year. We booked the "luxury one bedroom suite" for the weekend & got a good price rate. The room was musty smelling & dirty. The carpets hadn't been vacuumed, the furniture was in disarray, and the sofa bed did not have sheets. The dishes/glasses were scratched & chipped, the towels & robes were worn out, the quality of furnishings and service was well below what I would have expected for a "luxury" stay. The office is only open 12:00 - 8:00, so if you check-in late all you get is a key & map to find the room. Difficult to resolve any problems that may arise if you want to go out & see the sights. When we did speak to the desk clerk, it was indicated she would get back to us with a resolution, but we never heard back. On check-out there is only a drop box for your key, no invoice of charges. The resort does not have a restaurant or any amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
kat600, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Water's Edge. We pride ourselves on the comfort and cleanliness of our suites, and apologize that your suite didn't meet your expectations. As part of our on-going commitment to quality and refurbishment, we had just replaced the sofa bed in the suite you occupied - and in our haste and excitement about the new furniture - we made an error, and forgot to equip it with the appropriate bedding. We apologize for our oversight. Please feel free to contact us at marketing@watersedgeresort.ca if you have any other feedback you'd like to share about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My sister booked my husband and I a couple of days away with her at Waters Edge and we had just the best of times. We go to Long Beach every year and have been for decades. We have only stayed in Ucluelet once before, but that is about to change. Waters Edge was wonderful - reasonable and had everything a person would want under one roof. The fully stocked kitchen was a nice treat as we like to prepare our own meals and just go out for one or two when we go away.

The Wild Pacific Trail is close by - though it still needs to be driven to - no worries. It was just about the best experience we have ever had at Long Beach - it was a beautiful day and the trail was spectacular - the views are so very special.

When we got to the hotel on Day One late afternoon we had just enough time to do the Lighthouse trail and it was wonderful. Day Two was for the larger Wild Pacific Trail - so well worth your time as it shows the wilder, more spectacular part of the West Coast.

The staff in the hotel were so very friendly and helpful - we would come back here anytime!

Room Tip: We had people check in late at night over our heads - next time we might look into getting a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Spacious and very clean. Right on a calm inlet where you can watch the birds, marine life and boats. Lower floors have a small terrace at the back with a couple chairs where you can enjoy the view. Very peaceful and quiet. Huge tubs. There is a Co-op nearby to get groceries and the kitchen is quite well equipped. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

First time in Ucluelet and hopefully not the last time. One reason is the Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim. Located right in the beginning of Ucluelet, but separated from the rest of the village right on the water. Seals, Eagles and other visitors might be directly in front of your windows. Each building contains individual units, all of them individual decorated. Well maintained, clean and very welcoming. It is always great to look into the faces of the rest of your family and you see this big smile and the eyes wide open. We really enjoyed our apartment with really everything you need if you don't feel to go out and eat. I still recommend to go out and you might surprise of the good options for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner if you are here for two or three days. Open your windows and listen to the wind in the trees or the sound of the waves, if the weather is a bit more rough. The receptionist was very helpful upon check in and gave us the right directions to start exploring the village and surrounding. Don't be surprise if you find your water kind of "less clear", it is still save to drink it, the higher amount of magnesium changes the color. Take a bath at the whirlpool outside in front of your bedroom or just stroll around the property. We really enjoyed our time and will be back. No daily Housekeeping offered but if you do need extras, just ask. No Fitness facilities, just go out for a run.On another note: If you do come by car and you are not from the island, check out BC Ferries packages, I know, not a lot of people like BC Ferries here, but the offer was actually really good.

Room Tip: Just saw one unit from the inside, all the other ones looked nice when I saw them from the outside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for four nights as part of a tour around Vancouver Island. To locate the resort turn left just after the welcome to Ucluelet sign and before the sign pointing to the campground. Our "room" was really a one bedroom appartment. It had a separate open plan living room and kitchen as well as an ample bedroom and bathroom. Everything was spotless and in excellent order. Reception is only open during day-time hours and you are left to yourself more than in a hotel, so you may want to factor that in if it is important to you. I thought it gave us more of a feel that the room was "ours" whilst we were there. The view from the living room was stunning as it looked out over an inlet and the surrounding countryside and mountains. The kitchen facilities were excellent if you want to self-cater or there are some good restaurants in the town itself. If you want to eat out, make sure that you arrive in good time as they start to wind down at around 7.30-8.00, although some restaurants do stay open later. Head to the visitor's centre for some good maps and advice on the local area. You can use Ucluelet as a base for exploring the Pacific Rim National Park and Tofino. We loved our stay in Canada and perhaps this area was the highlight!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very clean room. Had a romantic evening with my gal, cuddling by the fireplace and enjoying the beautiful sunset over the inlet. We saw a few seals swim by and a couple hummingbirds right in front of our room. The Jacuzzi tub was very relaxing too. I definitely recommend this place. Try for a room in the 700s!

Room Tip: A room in the 700s have the prettiest views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
18.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
19.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#9 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
0.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#2 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#4 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.