We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim to your Saves list
Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I shared an apartment with our daughter who took the sofa bed. This is a complex of timber-built apartments which face out towards both the harbour and the sound in Ucluelet. We were on the second floor - bit of an effort to hump cases up, but more if you were on the third floor. Lovely modern apartment, clean and well appointed - kitchen area, plenty of towels and bedding. Good views to the water, a small deck-style balcony with a hot-tub. Well appointed kitchen which we used, TV/DVD/CD-player, artificial-log gas fire, good quality furnishings.
No maid service but that is not the style of the accommodation - its your apartment.
Can hear footsteps from apartment above, but....
Spa on site. Canoes and bikes for free use (2hr slots). 10 minute walk into the village. Deer outside in the morning! Ucluelet is a small fishing town/village which is expanding the tourism side. Good trails being developed, 15 minute drive to amazing beaches.
A good place to stay and the TV was quite enough for watching Wimbledon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    89
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
100
110
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well, when we got to the resort, the front desk was very helpful. The room was very spacious, However, there was no maid service whatsoever. You had to make your own beds, no extra soap bars, the TV was really inadequate for a room/price of that size. It was a 19" TV. It needed updating. A 40" TV mounted on the wall would have been more appropriate. The worst part of this trip were the beds. There were no boxsprings and the beds creeked everytime you moved or turned on the bed. They had wood slats instead of a box spring. This was totally unacceptable. They wanted you to wash your dishes in the diswasher, but didn't supply you with any dishwasher soap. I would definitely not stay at this place again and not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a wonderful place to refresh and energize! Look out your windows and see the deer grazing in the morning or the beautiful colors of sunset. Enjoy kayaking on the inlet with all the eagles flying overhead or simply watch the boats while you soak in your hot tub on the porch. Hike the beautiful trails and enjoy the beautiful vistas.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice, especially if you are on the inlet side because of the beautiful views.

Take the rainforest trail and all the trails on road to Tofino--beautiful hikes to glorious beaches! And it is great fun to watch entire families surfing together.

We had a great week here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the inlet side. You are more likely to see animals coming to water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked this hotel on an Expedia promotion, and felt it was a good deal for a two-bedroom suite. The suite was very spacious with two good-sized bedrooms, large kitchen, dining and living area, with simple but nice furnishings, and a fireplace. We were only there one night, but it would be perfect for those wanting accommodations for a few days or longer. Wifi was free as well, and the view would have been nice if not for the terrible weather. My only complaint was that the TV was old and very small, and that the toilet paper rolls were half empty when we arrived and there was only one spare roll for two bathrooms. They also initially charged us full price for the room, but when we pointed out our promotional price the next day, this was promptly rectified.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, az
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a good stay here. This place is comprised of condo's that are owned by people and are rented out. The reason I think this is that one is for sale and there are garages. The people that used this before us may have had a large bacon fest as the place stunk of greasy bacon. It was not luxurious, but it was clean and practical with kids. There is a kitchen which is great as it is hard to eat out here all the time..not loads of restaurants and such. The units look out onto the small harbour and there are lots of bald eagles around. We did see a seal out back, but I would not count on this. I think if you were to have more than one kid and want to stay a few days this would be a good place. I would suggest to the owners that they get rid of the carpet as people can dirty it up and leave a smell. I would also say the exterior needs to be cleaned and cobwebs removed. i know this is picky, but when paying 250 to 350 per night, you want the place clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Waters Edge Resort. The condo's are spacious and all have a view of the water, but I suggest the inlet side vs. the harbour. When we first arrived I saw a bald eagle sitting below the balcony in a tree 4 feet from me. From our picture window during our stay, we saw a bear, an otter catching fish and starfish swimming on the rocks below the window. We had a wonderful view of the water and the mountains. The location is superb, too. 5 minutes from the Pacific Rim Trail and great dining. The staff recommended places to eat and they were right on.I recommend "OFF Shore" restaurant for dinner (wow!) it was awesome and to Black Rock for breakfast as the view is to die for. The beds were just ok,no luxurary there, but the creams, shampoo and soap were lovely. Our fireplace did not work and we were told that they would have it fixed before the 2nd night, but it didn't happen, so we did express our disappointment. Later that evening, the manager brought up a bottle of wine with his apologies. Wow...Very thoughtful and not necessary, but much appreciated.

Room Tip: request the inlet side for your view. You see all the boats that come and go from the harbor and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umchenz
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It is a very beautiful resort on the water front. I liked everything except it is a little bit expensive for two of us. Highly recommended if you travel with families/friends. The bed is comfortable, the living room is spacious, the hot tub is very nice, the view is great.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is water front. Also, higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim

Address: 1971 Harbour Drive | PO Box 1171, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#4 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge Resort at Pacific Rim on the Ucluelet harbour is ideally situated for discovering wild, rugged coastal wilderness. Visitors will enjoy spacious suites - the perfect base to explore miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests and spectacular panoramic. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Warm, inviting suites feature west coast decor and the best in functionality and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.