We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and everything you need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thornton Motel

Save Saved
You added Thornton Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thornton Motel
1861 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3AO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Central location and everything you need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Thornton Motel for 2 nights. It was a perfect, spacious set up for a group of our size. Two rooms, one with a double bed and the other with twin beds, a kitchen with everything you needed to prepare food, and a living room, as well. Beds were very comfortable!
Bathroom looks like it has been updated; modern sink, tub surround.
Everything was a clean as a whistle.
As reported by other guests, you can hear people walking around on the floor above, but we had no trouble sleeping.
The motel is located close to many services.
We appreciated our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Large dated rooms. Glad we were upstairs as I think it would have been noisy to be under given the elevated walkway and thin walls. Summer rates in Ucluelet are very high. This was one of the more affordable places, though it felt overpriced even then for the quality of the room and furnishings. You need to go into the office to get ice, and this triggers the staff to come out and see what you are doing which felt a bit weird.

Room Tip: Upstairs toward the end of the walkway will be quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a room with kitchenette for 3 nights while visiting the Pacific Rim. The hotel does not look like much from the outside but the room exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and the kitchenette had everything one might need. Laundry facilities available. Like many other motels, you could hear people above, but we've experienced the same in more expensive hotels. The price was so much lower than most other places in the area that we traded off a view of the water for price. In retrospect, it would have been nice, at least for one night, to come back after a day of hiking and sit on a porch overlooking the water.

As another person mentioned, the woman at the desk was as welcoming as most. We had booked through Booking.com several months before and she did not have our reservation in her stack. She had to check booking.com to see it. Had the hotel been full, we would have been in a predicament. We've never had this problem before but, in this case, I would confirm the reservation.

Room Tip: Seems like the kitchenettes are on the bottom floor which get the overhead noise. If that's a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Noisy upstairs. I think it's an old building. We liked the kitchen set up, had dishes, cook ware for us, closed to Norwood restaurant and Matthetson House restaurant. Walking distance to harbor. Must see place is Wild Pacific Trail. Free and breath taking.

Didn't think much of front desk lady. She was not unfriendly but not supper welcoming either. Good place to start out I think. We were on was to tofino. We spent two nights at this motel. May come back in the future if I can get three dudes together do we can charter a body and go salmon fishing. Lol

Oh..my wife internet couldn't connect. . Old system. WEP encryption. She had telus amaze. Dual core. Won't connect. My smart phone was OK

Bathroom light was sorta dim and dark. Made the place even feel more depressing



  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here in June when I suddenly got sick on a camping trip and needed to get indoors. I was pleasantly surprised as I wasn't expecting much. The room was clean and large with a kitchenette. The bed was comfy even if the furnishings were dated. Overall, good value for the money. Be prepared to hear people above or below, though noise is a common problem in aging buildings. I'd stay again as it's so close to resturants and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room on the top floor to avoid hearing squeeky floors from guests walking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This clean well appointed motel above the boat basin is perfect for a fishing trip. It isn't luxury like Black Rock, but it is roomy, clean and well located. Our room for tree fishermen was large with two bedrooms, three beds, a living room with a hide-a-bed (maybe 2 hide-a-beds) three TVs, full kitchen with micro, full stove, coffee machine and full sized fridge. The one bathroom had shower and tub and a hair dryer. Soap and shampoo are provided. Perfect for a fishing trip.

Room Tip: My room was 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here in July – had planned to stay 2 nights, but our plans changed and only stayed the one night. Room was somewhat dated and carpet could really use a good cleaning but other than that we were happy with the room. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Close to restaurants. Places like this in Ucluelet are somewhat cheaper than Tofino, which is only about 30 minuites away.

We stayed here so we could go hiking in the area and take a whale-watching tour out of Tofino. There are a couple of nice hiking trails in Ucluelet along the coast - we did one of them. In Tofino we went whale-watching and saw grey whales - some came very close to our boat. We also took a water-taxi over to Meares Island to see some trees that were reported to be about 1,500 years old!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thornton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Motel

Address: 1861 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3AO, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Thornton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.