We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale's Tail Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whale's Tail Guest Suites to your Saves list
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1906 Bay Street | 279 Hemlock Street Front Desk: West Coast Motel on the Harbour, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT for DISCOUNTS
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Burnley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The photos of Whales Tail do not do justice to how lovely this place is. I was surprised when I arrived to find a large spotlessly clean suite, with a well equipped kitchen and a good size dinning/living area and a spacious bedroom. There was also a nice patio and furniture which we didn't utilise due to the poor weather.

Ucluelet is a small town so all the amenities are right on your doorstop, with a bar serving food a few hundred metres away and the supermarket within a 5 minute walk. There are many nice walks nearby, the Wild Pacific Trail and the trail to Florencia Bay spring to mind, which are easy to follow and offer outstanding views.

We found Whale's Tail to be our perfect base for our stay on the west coast of Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, General Manager at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for coming!! We are really pleased you enjoyed our place. You are right - it is in the centre of town, yet in a quiet spot backed by trees. And, just like our sister property, we keep it very clean!

We so appreciate you taking the time to write about the Whale's Tail and we do hope to see you again soon! (perhaps in a couple of weeks, if work permits?)

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this option for our four guy fishing trip. The hotel has several room configurations and the one we stayed in was a three bedroom unit with twin beds in one of the bedrooms. The property is dated but very clean with full kitchen facilities and new BBQ equipment. The unit was large and had a separate sitting room with plenty of seating area for us to relax. We booked the same unit for our 2014 fishing trip. The cost of the unit was quite acceptable given out stay was mid August in high season for tourists visiting Pacific Rim National Park and of course fishing.
The owners went out of their way to accommodate some special requests we needed including moving all our belongings to another unit for our second night while we were out on the water.
Overall the unit, while dated, offers good accommodation for our purposes. The only slightly negative aspect was a TV that was quite small and technologically well past its best before date.
Otherwise we were completely happy with the accommodation.

Room Tip: Lots of choices and configuration options here. The hotel web site gives good information on option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for coming fellas!


Glad you enjoyed the unit - an oldie, but a goodie. It is slated for renovation, but probably will be a winter 2014 project rather than this winter. We will see you next year! Thanks for coming and taking the time to write a nice review. Enjoy your fish feasts over the winter.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Whale's Tale while fishing in Ucluelet. There were 4 of us looking for a reasonable accommodation for a 2 night stay, the owners are at the West Coast Motel and are very helpful arranging our accommodations. we had 2 - 1 bedroom places on the ground flood a nice yard to sit in and a bar b que to use, with the full kitchen the stay was quiet and clean, we will come back.

Room Tip: near the center of town, only a few blocks to most everything, we walked to the fishing charter in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for coming!! Glad you enjoyed our property and are pleased to see that you would come back again! If you wish, we do also offer 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom suites, if booked far enough ahead for next year. Happy travels and hope you think of Ucluelet every time you have a fish feast this fall and winter!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a comfortable one night stay. The suite was large and clean, like a 2 bedroom apartment. One room had a queen, a double and a twin; 2nd room had a queen. The two sofas were probably pull-outs that were at least double sized. There was a view of the harbour from the deck off kitchen. Check-in around the corner was fast and friendly. It could use refreshing, but not bad for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Laura and family

Thank you so much for coming! Glad you enjoyed the unit and facilties. You are right, two of the larger units at the Whale's Tail are due for redecorating and renovation. At the moment, they are quite comfortable, with a "Grandma's House" type of feel in the large 2 and 3 bedroom unit. We purchased the property fairly recently and although they are on the list to renovate, it is unlikely we will be able to do this until the winter of 2014-2015. They are spacious, clean and comfortable for all guests arriving and, for the price, are perfect for a family. Full kitchens (spacious) and a outdoor deck is a plus. Of note for any potential guests reading this: although we take young children in our 1 bedroom Classic Kitchen or 1 bedroom Deluxe Kitchen suites, we do not accept children under 12 in our 2 or 3 bedroom suites. We are not permitted to do so, due to insurance reasons, as we have balconies in these suites. We do have large suites available at our other property for families with young children. The Deluxe 2 bedroom suite and all of our 1 bedroom suites have been more recently renovated.

Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon. We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This facility is quite unique. The actual office is at a motel down the road. We were there during the off season and had few guests to deal with. We basically had the run of the place. The King unit had a separate bedroom and was quite spacious. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The owners were very nice and helpful with directions and things to do. I had no complaints about the Whale's Tail.

Room Tip: The rear rooms have deer that frequent the area and come to your door to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for coming! Our deer were sorry to see you go. Hope you can make it back some day. One correction - no king-size beds (just queen). So glad you enjoyed it.
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Whale’s Tail Guest Suites is situated in central Ucluelet off the main thoroughfare in a quiet location. There were four of us and we choose a deluxe two bedroomed suite. It was very spacious with large full kitchen, dining area and a spacious sitting area with large TV etc.There are hardwood floors throughout the suite which was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished and decorated. One of the bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom whilst the second bedroom used the main bathroom, both more than ample for our needs. Breakfast is not provided but we found a very good restaurant for breakfast and snacks nearby. Check in/check out is at the sister hotel a short distance away, where you can have free use of the indoor pool, gym and sauna. This was very good accommodation and good value given that there were two couples to share the cost. We would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our place and taking the time to write a review! You enjoyed the Deluxe 2 bedroom suite, which features 2 bedrooms, hardwood floors, 2 washrooms and an ensuite bath. Very comfortable for either 2 couples or 2 singles, as an adult only accommodation. (We take children in the 1 bedroom suites only). We hope that you will come back and see us again some day! Cheers from Ukee!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The owners are wonderful and very knowledgeable and caring. Anything you want to know about the town of Ucluelet, they know it! They will help you set up kayaking, whale watching, fishing, surfing, and anything you can think of!
They are unfathomably knowledgeable about the different cuisine and restaurants there are; they can direct you to many world-class worthy dining spots!
Not only is the motel beautiful and located right on the harbor with gorgeous, dazzling views of the ocean and all the beautiful sea life and grand boats.
The rooms are beautiful; they are very pristine and clean, organized and cozy. Ucluelet is the place to go for any type of fun activities that you wish to do on your holiday!
Definitely go here for your next trip, the hosts and the hotel are top notch!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at this motel are excellent and anyone you get will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks guys! Really nice to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our suggestions!
It is likely that you stayed at our other property - West Coast Motel on the Harbour? The Whale's Tail does not have harbour views - just grassy backyard views! In any case, thanks for coming and we really hope you can make it back again.
Cheers!
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whale's Tail Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Tail Guest Suites

Address: 1906 Bay Street | 279 Hemlock Street Front Desk: West Coast Motel on the Harbour, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whale's Tail Guest Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 or 3 bedroom condo apartments with full kitchens available for nightly rental. Clean & quiet, centrally located downtown on a quiet residential street on a grassy, hedged lot. No smoking. No pets. Daily housekeeping. Free access to West Coast Fitness Centre (indoor pool, 3000 sq ft gym and sauna located 1 block North. Free WIFI and cable TV. BBQ onsite. 1 bedroom suites are child-friendly, however we do not accept children under 12 in the 2 or 3 bedroom suites. The Whale's Tail is within walking distance to restaurants, whale watching and fishing, the harbour and to Big Beach and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Pacific Rim National Park (Long Beach) and 30 minute drive to Tofino, which is located on the other side of Long Beach. Front desk location is 1 Block North at West Coast Motel on the Harbour on Hemlock Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whale's Tail Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale's Tail Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.