We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce rooms but badly isolated door facing the street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Rim Motel

Pacific Rim Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Rim Motel to your Saves list
Pacific Rim Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1755 Peninsula road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“NIce rooms but badly isolated door facing the street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night. The rooms are equipped very well and seem to having been renovated recently.
But unfortunately, they didn't fix the issue with the doors facing the main street. They are closing leaving quite some gap which indeed causes noise all the day and night long while vehicles are passing the street.

As we didn't pay that much, it has been a reasonable price, but could do better in the points mentioned.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

There is nothing spectacular about this motel, but it is clean and a short walk downhill to the shoreline, and a good price. We parked for free directly outside our room. It was a bit noisy near the main road but inside the room all was fairly quiet with the windows closed. Also it is within walking distance of some good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Pacific Rim Motel was exactly what we were looking for. Booking last moment through the very friendly tourist information, we got two clean (not very fancy though) rooms in Ucluelet, BC. The owner of the motel was very friendly and helpful. We were surprised to find some extremely good restaurants in this remote area (compared to Tofino Ucluelet feels really remote, like back in the 50s and everything much simpler - we liked it a lot though!). Breakfast was great in the nearby 'Blue room'.
We had a wonderful stay (although the weather wasn't too good) and would recommend the motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I couldn't disagree more with the review by Blessington. I just stayed there last night (Room 234) & here's what I found. The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean & there was lots of hot water. The cream coloured towels, bathmat & shower curtain were quite nice by motel standards & the showerhead was great. The pretty pastel blue sheets & taupe blanket were also fresh, clean & comfortable. While the bedspread fabric might not appeal to all, it matched the cute Harlequin valence on the large end window which, although overlooking the back parking lot, also overlooked a rather great view of blue sky, mountains & trees & let in lots of light. The room appeared rather recently painted in a nice cream shade, had pretty forest green carpeting (which also appeared new), a couple of nice wicker armchairs & good lighting for reading in bed & at the desk. The coffeemaker (which I never use in hotels anyway) was also spotlessly clean & had a packet of coffee. I like luxury very much & have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels around the world; but you pay a steep price for it. This motel is run by a charming Italian family who obviously take pride in their business & is reasonably priced for a tourist destination location. They were the first to respond to my emails for accommodation in the area. The exterior, with it's beautiful hanging baskets in front of all the rooms & pretty flower-filled planters & wooden benches out front is actually quite attractive in summer. Another big bonus in my opinion, is the proximity to both Norwood's restaurant (for dinner - see my review under restaurants) directly across the street & Masterson's for breakfast (just up from that). And while Ucluelet isn't the most exciting town on Vancouver Island, it sits amidst natural splendour that is a match for anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I haven’t a clue as to why people recommend going to Ucluelet. It’s a long, winding drive through dense forests. And once there, one finds a town without charm. Better to book at one of the resorts near Tofino and enjoy the beauty of the area in comfort.

We stayed one night at the Pacific Rim Hotel in Ucluelet. Don’t go there no matter what.
I had to buy some scrubbing powder with bleach from the supermarket and do a cleaning before I could use the bathroom sink. This motel is not only basic in services, but also downright uncomfortable: plastic wrapped, plastic cups in bathroom, no hairdryer, limp towels, a dirty coffee maker with no coffee, and a very garish bedspread covering a none-too-clean brown blanket and stained, mismatched sheets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

This B&B is a large, modern home, very nicely decorated and comfortable. All baths are shared. The breakfast is plentiful and good. The location is good although we didn't find the beach that is in walking distance to be the best one. One thing that was different from other B&Bs is that we didn't have a key to the house, so the hosts asked us what time we'd be back each day so it could be open. That didn't cause any problems for us, but had an unexpected storm come up and we'd wanted to go back and change clothes, it might have been a hassle. Cleanliness is really a priority here; people who are casual about this themselves might not be comfortable. The rate is reasonable for this area, which is generally expensive.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Rim Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Rim Motel

Address: 1755 Peninsula road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Rim Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Rim Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Rim Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.