We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Black Rock Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights there. The entire facility is beautiful. Great food and fantastic service. The rooms are modern and equipped with top quality electroincis and fixtuires in both the kitchenette and washroom. Incredible views of the ocean where you can see the waves crashing into the shoreline.

From the front desk check-in to the loung and restaurant staff and the girls that stop by your room in the morning to check in to see if you need anything (extra coffee, tea etc) all were great. Friendly and efficient.

Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: You have to take a waterfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    212
    80
    30
    10
See reviews for
156
545
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Using a Groupon we spent a couple of nights at the Black Rock Resort. Being off season it was very quiet. Our studio room was well appointed and we had a wonderful ocean view. We did find it odd that the cleaning crew walked by obvious litter outside our unit the whole time we were there. Also, the glass on our balcony was solid green with algae and the slider door glass was filmy - it looked like a dirty rag was used to quickly wipe it. Too bad since we had such a great view. I know the weather makes it difficult to keep windows clean but the algae was obviously ignored for the whole season. We ate at the Float restaurant once since we had a room credit. Found it pricey but the food and service was excellent. Overall our stay was wonderful but I may bring window cleaner next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was stayed at Black Rock just last weekend with a friend of mine and her mother for 2 nights. All I have to say is that it wasn't long enough.
The location of the resort was perfect...close to town if you wanted to venture out to eat at the local restaurants (which we heard a few were suppose to be great). It was perfect location to both Wild Pacific Trails ( we did the lighthouse trail, 2.5 kms, and it was beautiful). It was stormy weather so we couldn't take advantage of the road bikes they rent out. I will definitely try and do that next time as it seemed as though the bike paths/lanes through Ucluelet were well paved/laid out.
The restaurants (only 2) but worth staying at the resort for. Prices were very reasonable considering they could have charged more. The wait staff, well the staff in general, were outstanding. So friendly and helpful and you never seemed to have to ask for any extras, they seem to read your mind.
The spa was wonderful, suggest getting a treatment for sure!
Can't say enough about it except I will DEFINITELY be back.

Room Tip: There is a main 'hotel' part that would allow you not to have to bear the weather but the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We tacked a 3 day storm watching trip with family onto a Vancouver conference. We picked the right spot. Fantastic location, beautiful two bedroom "condo" right at the beach; perfect for two couples. Storm watching from the bathtub and from the king bed - what a way to enjoy life! Our personal space was very separate from the other couples "personal space". Two full bathrooms with fantastic "rain forest" showers. Meals and service in both the lounge and the dining room were excellent. A trip to be remembered and looking forward to the next occasion.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We only stayed one night, as we were guests of our Company who treated us to a Christmas party there. But we will certainly return on our own. Our room was great, with a very comfortable bed, a kitchen area and a huge beautiful bathroom with a rain shower and a big claw foot tub! The patio doors opened to a small deck that overlooked the roiling seas below us. The sounds of the ocean and the birds were delightful. Sitting on the deck in the morning and watching the sun rise over the water was also superb! The restaurant and lounge served delicious foods and the choices were good. All of the service people we interacted with were friendly, smiling and helpful. This is a first rate resort, and I highly recommend it as a special getaway treat for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and hot tub - you will get an amazing ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Black Rock Resort is with out question a beautiful property with a stunning view. We had the privilege in staying in one of the beautiful two bedroom suites overlooking the dramatic rock and ocean panoramic view on our family trip to Ucluelet. The bathrooms were gorgeous - rain head showers, large bathtubs with views of the ocean and heated floors. We had several meals in the lounge and restaurant where we found the service and food to be good, albeit not excellent. The trails and paths around the resort are fantastic and must be explored. However what really made the trip for us was the attentive and authentic service we received in the Spa. As this trip was a celebration, we treated ourselves to a variety of spa treatments, all of which were extremely relaxing and enjoyable. One particular employee in the Spa. Michaela(sp?) was friendly, funny and honestly helped us make the most of our trip. She suggested some amazing restaurants (Norwood's and Sobo's) where we had our favourite meal of the trip and really gave us a local and insider perspective to Ucluelet and Tofino. Furthermore, she took the time to assess and inform me about some skin care products that she believed would be great for my troublesome skin. It in no way felt like she was trying to sell me a product, but rather that she genuinely cared, and I am so happy to say that my skin hasn't been this clear in over a year! So to wrap up I want to say thank you to Michaela and the rest of the staff at Black Rock Resort for making our trip very memorable! We plan to visit you again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent units, sublime location, overpriced food/beverage, and service is spotty. Highly recommend walking the trails around the property, as well as venturing into the nearby Provincial Park. Tofino should be a miss on your to-do list. We will, however, return to the hotel and nearby beaches for future visits. This makes our third trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Spa Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.