We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Coast Motel on the Harbour to your Saves list
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT for DISCOUNTS
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great place, wonderful location in walking distance to Main Street. The staff were friendly, helpful and able to great recommendation on what to do and the best places to eat. The room was cozy and very clean!! Although we did not have the time to take advantage of the fitness faculties they were there and plan on doing so next time. We plan on coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for coming folks!! Glad you enjoyed our place. Next time you come, we will send you home with a "six-pack" with all the gym workouts, you'll do. Hope we see you soon.

Happy Travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
64
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely place. Really enjoyed and even extended our stay here. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The pool and sauna were great. Everything is very close and there are some fantastic walks near by. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words and are pleased you liked our place! We do hope you can make it back up again soon. Thanks for the business.

Happy travels!

Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Well maintained and squeaky clean. Comfortable bed. Two big new TVs. Fridge, stove, microwave, etc.. Everything we needed for a couple of nights (or more) in our kitchen unit. One minor recommendation for improvement would be for matching cutlery, crockery and glassware. The mismatched ones seemed just a bit tacky to us! But all-in-all, a great place to stay. I'd stay again; but I'd choose a harbour-view upper floor room.

Room Tip: I would have preferred - and would recommend - spending a few dollars more for a harbour-view room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi folks!

Thanks for coming and then taking the time to write a fantastic review. We do appreciate it! Our harbour-view rooms await your return visit, anytime.

With regards to matching our cutlery and dishes, we do know their are some folks who love everything to match. We could make that effort, but it is difficult to do so and not in line with our "green philosophy" or "budget philosophy". Dishes break frequently and although we order case lots of dishes, everytime we order, there seems to be a new pattern or style and we can't always get the old. So, we could replace everything with new, matching dishes every year - the high-end hotels actually do this, but then we are discarding perfectly good dishes and incurring a huge expense, which is a little bit of a burden on a property that does not have the $400 a night rooms. So, we feel it is better to make sure they are super-clean and not in disrepair and that your kitchen suite has everything you need (although feel free to ask us, if there is something you feel you need). Our own home is that way as well - my mother-in-law laughs at my mismatched dishes, but I feel better about using up what we have.

Happy travels and hope we see you soon!

Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was my first stay in the area for a while and I was pleasantly surprised by the "basic" accommodations I was expecting.

Thanks Brenda for your warm, personable, helpful hospitality! Kudos to your cleaning staff on keeping things immaculate.

I will definitely stay with you again. I'd love to enjoy your pool next time and take time to enjoy the beauty of this uniquely rugged paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you, Pat, for coming! A Euro sleeper may be small, but is excellent value for 1 night. We are so pleased that you found it to be comfortable and clean. We do hope to see you again soon, with your bathing suit packed!

Happy Travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was totally impressed by this little motel on my last stay in Ucluelet. Normally I don't stay in motels period, because I prefer all the amenities and services that hotels usually provide. Having said that, during my previous stay in Ucluelet, I had a bad experience at the Black Rock Resort so this time I decided to try something different.

The West Coast Motel is very well kept, and is clean and comfortable. Upon checking in, I was greeted and welcomed by the owners who were friendly and provided excellent service throughout my stay. The motel has a huge gym/pool facility that could compete with any fitness centre anywhere and despite not planning to use it, I found myself hitting the weights for the first time in a long time.

I wanted a nice view so the girl who took my reservation suggested the "little green cabin" to me. As soon as I arrived to the cabin, all the stress melted away and I felt instantly comfortable and relaxed. Also, the cabin is of course very environmentally friendly which is nice because we can always work on reducing our ecological footprint; even when on holidays!

Room Tip: The little green cabin was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Happy to hear you found the Little Green Cabin so relaxing! Thank you for your visit and taking the time to review our place!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July. The room was well above average for the price , We enjoyed the large living space as well as the kitchenette . The room and kitchen area were spotless. We were skeptical of the owner's enthusiasm about Ucluelet but followed may of his suggestions and were never disappointed. As a matter of fact, our most boring time was walking around Tofino. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for coming and taking the time to write! Local travel tips can sometimes seem at odds with research done from afar. We are so pleased you were happy with our advice and our rooms. Hopefully, one day you can come again!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

These folks make you feel like family.
We enjoyed the gym, the clean and warm pool- hot steamy sauna!!!!!!
incredible hospitality is an understatement.
There is a reason they are voted the best.
This is place is A+
A beautiful view of the harbour..
the rooms were immaculate.
Fresh and clean and relaxing - Safe harbour :D

Room Tip: Ask for the little green cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for coming! We loved seeing the 2 of you enjoy walking around our town and becoming "one" with the west coast, once again! We do hope you can make it back again next year to see us and our Little Green Cabin on the Harbour!

Happy travels!
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Motel on the Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.