We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two nights is not long enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Coast Motel on the Harbour to your Saves list
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT for DISCOUNTS
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“two nights is not long enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were really pleased we chose to stay here at the West Coast motel and not in Tofino. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room/apartment which was cosy and had everything you could possibly need provided.The owners were so welcoming and friendly and gave us lots of helpful information - where to eat, what to see etc. nothing was too much trouble it seemed. We were able to make use of the pool and sauna one morning and peeped in the gym which we would definitely use if we return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our place and Ucluelet so much! Thank you very much for the kind review and hope to see you back again soon. Happy travels!

Jeff and Brenda and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
64
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Business travel in Tofino and Ucluelet can be a challenge if you'd not forking out for the high end places, but this was a great find. The hosts upgraded the room, so I had a full kitchenette. The room faced the harbour - and overlooked the parking lot to a fabulous view of the sunrise. The room was very clean and had everything I needed. I didn't have time to use the gym facilities, but what a treat to know they are available for next time! We walked to a great dinner at Matheson's, so everyone was able enjoy a drink without worrying about getting back to the hotel, and breakfast at the Blue Room was close as well. Both restuarants (and the map to get there) were provided by the friendly host at check-in. There was no issue with parking and my room was quiet on the Thursday night. It was much more than I expected for the price, which is a nice change in Ucluelet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for coming! We are very glad that you enjoyed one of our West Coast units with private balcony - kind of a unusual room for a "motel", we think. We hope that we will be your first choice when coming to the coast, for business or pleasure, in future. We appreciate the kind review! See you soon....Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was such a lucky find! Our hosts had excellent recommendations for food, and what to see in this beautiful area. They were awesomely friendly and the motel itself was clean and had awesome perks (a pool, cedar sauna, and a gym!). It's right on the harbour and is a short walk to lots of great places to visit in the area. This is a truly family-run business. Our hosts made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: Lots of variety in types of rooms - we found it helpful to see the rooms before choosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello again!

We are so glad you enjoyed our place. There is so much to see and do in this area and are happy you were so enjoyed wandering the trails and beaches and dining in our wonderful local restaurants. We do hope you can make it back soon!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigsfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a room with a full kitchen, dinner table and a sofa, facing the harbour. Our room was clean and seemed recently renovated. Other parts of the motel are being renovated at the moment, we weren´t disturbed though. As a guest of the motel you get to use the adjacent pool, sauna and a full scale gym at no extra cost. Pool and gym are the only ones in town.
What really should be pointed out is the fact that you´re treated as family if you stay there. Whatever the owners can do to help you enjoy your stay they certainly will. We really liked that.
A few words on the value side: The whole Ucluelet/Tofino area is not necessarily a bargain price vacation spot. So paying around a 100 dollars per night for a motel room doesn´t sound like too much of a deal. But you have to consider where you´re at and what you get (gym, sauna, pool). That makes the place a very good deal in the area.
Ucluelet is small, the motel is in the middle of it so you can walk about everywhere.
If we were to come back, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Alexander!

Thank you for coming and to take the time to visit us. We loved that you spent so much time on the trails communing with nature and enjoying our area to the fullest.

Just to clarify - the kitchen suite (junior with a queen bed) is actually $85. The government tops up the rate to $100. Not nice, but it seems that the taxes are everywhere. No hiding!


We appreciate the time you took to write about the motel - it means a lot to us that you would come back again! We hope you do and that your back will be well enough to try kayaking. It is quite a wonderful activity to try. Many people come back year after year to kayak the area.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A local resident recommended this hotel so we tried it. Check in was especially friendly and we found the rooms very comfortable. We could only stay one night so did not take advantage of all the kitchen facilities. Nice view and great location and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for coming, Peggy and family. It's nice to hear that a local referred you and that you did enjoy your stay. We hope you can stay for longer next time! Happy travels to you both....Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A last minute booking we were not sure what to expect when we arrived. The rooms were slightly dingy but otherwise this was a really really pleasant surprise - friendly staff and a clean and comfortable room with excellent self catering facilities

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for coming folks! We are glad you enjoyed your unit. We are not sure what you mean by "dingy", since you commented on the room being very clean. The only thing we can think of is that we had decided to leave 1 wall of wood paneling in a couple of our kitchen-style units when we renovated, since we feel makes the units feel "homey", which is the vibe we try to project - home away from home. We would love to know, if you have some more specific feedback for us. We are always renovating, so are open to specific suggestions. We appreciate your comments and hope to hear from you, so that we can consider your suggestions for any future renovations we may have scheduled for the unit you stayed in.

Happy travels to you!
Brenda and Jeff Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Once again I chose the West Coast Motel for my sping whale watching trip to Ucluelet. The accomodations were as always just what I needed and to top it off I forgot my netbook computer but had full access to a computer in the gym! I could have used the gym at the same time as that is included with your stay at the motel.

I will most definitely be back at the West Coast Motel for my fall whale watching trip.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant but lots are within walking distance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Don!

Lovely to see you again!

DonTheWhaleWatcher has been a semi-annual visitor to Ucluelet for years and comes to visit us every time, since the bed and breakfast he used to stay at closed for good. I would say that he is one of the biggest fans of our little town and spreads his irrepressible cheer of our town and love of the whales everywhere. He has made some lasting friends at local whale watching companies, restaurants and certainly with us!

We look forward to seeing you in the fall! Thank you for coming and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We so appreciate it.


Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Motel on the Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.