We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Save Saved
You added West Coast Motel on the Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF 3 NIGHT STAY
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Ucluelet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A last minute booking we were not sure what to expect when we arrived. The rooms were slightly dingy but otherwise this was a really really pleasant surprise - friendly staff and a clean and comfortable room with excellent self catering facilities

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for coming folks! We are glad you enjoyed your unit. We are not sure what you mean by "dingy", since you commented on the room being very clean. The only thing we can think of is that we had decided to leave 1 wall of wood paneling in a couple of our kitchen-style units when we renovated, since we feel makes the units feel "homey", which is the vibe we try to project - home away from home. We would love to know, if you have some more specific feedback for us. We are always renovating, so are open to specific suggestions. We appreciate your comments and hope to hear from you, so that we can consider your suggestions for any future renovations we may have scheduled for the unit you stayed in.

Happy travels to you!
Brenda and Jeff Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    30
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
54
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Once again I chose the West Coast Motel for my sping whale watching trip to Ucluelet. The accomodations were as always just what I needed and to top it off I forgot my netbook computer but had full access to a computer in the gym! I could have used the gym at the same time as that is included with your stay at the motel.

I will most definitely be back at the West Coast Motel for my fall whale watching trip.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant but lots are within walking distance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Don!

Lovely to see you again!

DonTheWhaleWatcher has been a semi-annual visitor to Ucluelet for years and comes to visit us every time, since the bed and breakfast he used to stay at closed for good. I would say that he is one of the biggest fans of our little town and spreads his irrepressible cheer of our town and love of the whales everywhere. He has made some lasting friends at local whale watching companies, restaurants and certainly with us!

We look forward to seeing you in the fall! Thank you for coming and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We so appreciate it.


Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

What a relief to know there are people that still care! My husband and I had scheduled a two night stay in February. At the last minute, we had to cancel our reservations due to a health emergency with my 95 year old father. Brenda was awesome! She was able to rebook our reservation and we had nominal fees only. What a gift. We do intend to remake reservations when things settle down. And we will be returning to the West Coast!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Debora,

Thank you for your kind words. We always do our best to re-rent a confirmed reservation when cancelled and we were so glad we were able to do so for your group. All the best to you and we are sending our best wishes for your Dad's speedy recovery. We hope to see you out here soon.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

MY second stay here because I came back. Jeff and Brenda are the most friendly people and have poured their hearts into making sure you have a good experience while here. The motel has updated room and is very comfortable with flat screen TV's and great little kitchens if you want one. There is a gym shared with e community and you are right on the inner harbour.

If you prefer motels to a resort setting, this should be number 1 on your list.

Room Tip: There are harbour view and not harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you, Wally for choosing us when coming to the Ucluelet/Tofino area on business. We really appreciate it! Hope to see you soon! - Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the West Coast Motel over the holidays, loved it! The staff was great - very nice family feel, rooms were spotless, beds were so comfy, beautiful views, and what an amazing fitness centre. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for coming! We are so glad your family here in town referred you to our place and you had a nice visit over the holidays. We hope to see you again soon!

Jeff and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am a world traveller, and having been to many hostels, hotels and motels, and this is by far my favourite go-to! The rooms were nice and homey, and spotless and for the price it left a smile on my face and my wallet. The staff are awesome, the owners are a family and it seems their main priority is making sure each and every customer feels like family and gets an authentic and fun Ucluelet experience. They are knowledgeable and know exactly where to go on the island to have a good time. The motel is a great place to stay,with fantastic service, great rooms and an awesome harbour view. Next time I travel or anyone I know does, this will be my recommendation!
From A Calgary Traveller.

Room Tip: Any room is good, the ones around back are great if you want to walk into town everyday, and up fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your continued support of our business over the years. We appreciate that you choose us over other places you could choose to stay and we will continue to work hard to earn that business. All the best. Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ucluelet is an amazing place with so many pretty places to stay. I wish we had stayed ANYWHERE except for here. It's a very basic motel but without the reasonable rates. The owners have more interest in your money than making their guests happy. It's in a good enough location but the room we were in wasn't as spotless as it should have been, the indoor pool could definitely use some maintenance and upgrading. We also had a problem with the internet, no matter what we said to the owner Jeff and how polite we were he had the same couldn't care less attitude It's a shame when money means more to people than guest satisfaction. Greedy, Greedy, Greedy. We have also stayed at the Black Rock and we only paid a few dollars more for a really luxurious room. I love motels but only when they are fairly priced, clean and have friendly owners/staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We have no record of this stay, after checking through every booking from May 2012. Our polite message through Tripadvisor messaging to “Dora the Explorer”, has been ignored, which asked him/her to confirm the stay and asking what we can do to rectify this person’s negative opinion of their “stay” with us. Legitimate guests reply back. This reviewer’s post was made the day after we proudly displayed the following on our street sign here in town: “2013 Tripadvisor Travelers’ Choice Winner. (#7 Canada-Wide for Bargain Hotels).” A lot of hard work and effort went into receiving that reward – a result of spontaneous reviews from great people who have actually stayed at our place. A place that was in horrendous shape when we purchased in 6 years ago and we have invested so much time and money to reinvest in rooms/beds, electrical, plumbing – you name it – we’ve fixed it. It was a difficult decision for us to make this opinion known. We have had poor reviews – mainly in our early days and responded kindly – check them out. Most reviews are legitimate and the traveling public has a right to be critical or complimentary and post their true experience on Tripadvisor. The traveling public should be aware that not all reviews should be trusted – good or bad. We have the right to post our response. This business is our entire life. We are supporting our family with it and employing many people in this community. We are the business and the business is us. We doubt someone would attack our ethics and character in such a disrespectful way, on a public forum, if they could be identified.

With respect to cleanliness, we try very hard to give guests a spotlessly clean room. How do we know we do this? We check every single guest room after the made has cleaned it for overlooked items, crooked pictures, missing batteries in the TV remote, burnt out light bulbs, etc. Are we perfect? No one's perfect, but with 100% of our check outs going through our inspection process; we don't overlook things very often. We pay our maids well above minimum wage. Most of our staff has worked here 4-6 years and our many repeat guests know them. We encourage reliable staff to have fun on the job and treat the customer well. Greedy? Most hotels pay minimum wage for housekeeping staff. How many travelers think to ask about the ethics of the hotels they stay at with regards to staff? Many think about the “Green and Eco-Friendly programs” (we also have many green features in place) rather than whether or not the hotel staff get paid a fair wage for the hard work they do.

WIFI and complaints about Jeff’s “uncaring attitude”. We use radio repeaters throughout the property and the radio mesh network is professionally managed by a company that specializes in WIFI for hotels, marinas and airports. We can see, online, a map showing each repeater talking to the other and know the coverage is solid or if there is a problem, the company phones us. We can check for coverage using our ipad, as well. So, if our computer works and the guest's computer does not, then there is an issue with the guest computer, not the WIFI. We provide a brochure in every guest room, with a toll-free number to a 24-hour-a day help desk to help people log on, if they are having computer trouble. Sorry, we do not have expertise in computer issues and will not work on your computer for you, but we pay a monthly fee for guests to receive professional assistance, unlike many hotels that set up a home-style modem and hope for the best. Despite our monthly contract costs, our WIFI is free for guests and we also offer free wired internet in our units, as well. Most hotels charge for internet. By the way, parking is free here, as well free use of a private members’ fitness club with pool, gym and sauna pretty much on par with a Gold’s Gym with an ocean-view. Greedy or uncaring?

Pricing. It is alleged that our pricing is only a few dollars lower than Black Rock Resort - a 5-star property, which caters to the wealthier traveler. We are a really nice motel, but we are in no way a 5-star hotel. We deduce from this person's "handle", "Dora the Explorer" that she/he has children. So, based on a family of 4 in the shoulder-season of May (children under 16 stay free with us), our rates would have ranged from $89-$110 for a 1 bedroom suite, a deluxe 1 bedroom suite or a West Coast Family suite with a view of the harbour or $135 for a 2 bedroom suite (if they splurged) plus taxes, per night. At Black Rock - a lovely place, by the way, the price would have been $199 nightly for a studio, right up to $379 a night for a 2 bedroom - children under 13 stay free. Even Black Rock’s current low season rates in January of $189-$339 are far above our May shoulder season rates and above our current rates of $69-$89 - $125, as they should be. Our rates are publicly available on our website, as are Black Rock's - for anyone wishing for verification. Greedy? Should we own a fancier place with higher rates, then we might accept the accusation with a smile and some grace. We think that if you want to be “greedy”, there are far more options out there than to buy a “motel” and work “24/7”.

Our pool. Our pool area is cleaned thoroughly each day and is maintained twice per day - more times, if necessary. Is the pool a brand-new build? No, but pools generally have a lifespan of many decades with regular maintenance. We have invested thousands of dollars redoing the filters, chemical dispensing systems, electrical and plumbing. This last Christmas, we renovated the locker rooms with new tile floors and walls and renovated the sauna. We heat the pool with propane to a comfortable 83 degrees. How many of you have had to swim in a freezing cold hotel pool because the hotel can’t afford or won’t afford to heat it properly? This is the public pool for the town of Ucluelet (the local kids learn to swim here) and we maintain it to commercial standards, including taking courses on our time and expense. We are inspected by Public Health, without warning, as is every public pool facility in the country, without any concerns. The town of Ucluelet has a pool that costs the taxpayer nothing, but costs our business a lot and is a free perk for our motel guests.

Greedy? We donated all the still-serviceable old beds to the less fortunate, when we bought new beds for the motel and donated our old linens, as well. We see many hotels selling their old furnishings & linens. We donate annually to the food bank. Sponsor local events to help promote the local economy. Donate pool passes to our local women’s shelter. Donate old furniture to the less fortunate. We give to pretty much every fund-raising event, locally. We give what we can.

With the exception of our less than warm response to this review, we strive to be accommodating and friendly. Unless you are a guest who causes a disturbance or damage to the motel (a rare occurrence at every hotel), you will find us to be welcoming and gracious and full of information to help you and your family enjoy your stay. We spend much time with our guests at check in to orient them to trails, tours, restaurants, our fitness centre and how to reach us in an emergency. We book restaurant tables, whale watching trips, kayak trips, surf adventures and call cabs for our guests, wake up at 1 AM to unplug a toilet or let guests into their room after losing their key at that wedding they went to. We work hard to ensure your stay is a comfortable and that you feel welcome – and you are.

Brenda and Jeff Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Motel on the Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.