We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frobisher Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Frobisher Inn to your Saves list
Frobisher Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Iqaluit
Sechelt, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best place in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The professionalism of the staff, their friendliness and attentiveness, provides for a wonderful experience.I can't recall better anywhere. The dinner menu in the dining room is varied, the food and presentation are good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south-west have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
3
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

As a frequent traveler to and from the community I work I always stay at the Frobisher.. I have stayed at other hotels in Iqaluit.. but the Frob has nice rooms, attentive staff (when faucets haven't worked, rooms not cleaned and other misc misadventures)
Also love the Storehouse Bar and Grill.. bar nibblies and an awesome atmosphere..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

From what I heard from the taxi drivers, it is "the best" hotel to stay in Iqaluit. Per one of the other reviews, it is similar to the mid-level hotels you find in a city, but provides the cleanliness and comfort I was seeking. The staff was nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and there was a pool and gym. I enjoyed the coffee downstairs a the cafe, and the food at the hotel restaurant (Gallery) is known for it's quality. I agree as the food was better than I expected!

There is also a bar/grill attached to the hotel that some have told me is a great place for drinks, but I did not have the opportunity to try. My only complaint would be that the wireless internet reception was not very strong throughout the hotel and was inconsistent in my room.

Lastly, it has nothing to do with the hotel, but Fido does not have a partnered carrier up there, so was unable to call out on my cell phone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed while working in Iqaluit for a week. The rooms are spacious enough and the beds are very comfortable. Service was quite good. Free shuttle to the airport. The little café downstairs (Caribrew) served pretty decent coffee (although I wished it stayed open later and their muffins are like dense cake!). The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The rooms facing the Bay have beautiful views. Free (slow) Wi-Fi at the hotel. There is also a movie theater in the hotel if you have time to catch a flick!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Frob is a great place to stay if you're in Iqaluit. It's very similar to the mid-level hotels your would find in the south. The town cinema and swimming pool are attached to the hotel complex. There's a bar (Storehouse) and restaurant attached to the hotel. The restaurant (Gallery) was very good. The bar is average.

Free Wi-fi in the rooms and in the coffee shop and restaurant. The hotel is situated close to just about everything in Iqaluit. You can easily walk to the museum, visitors centre, Northmart (like a Walmart)m, Royal Bank, CIBC, hospital, etc...

Room Tip: Opt for the room with Kitchenette. Also, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room on a non-smoking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have spent my life North of Sixty, I have traveled and lived extensively throughout the western Arctic and have stayed in some pretty questionable spots. The Frobisher Inn is definitely on the higher end of Northern Hotels. It was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly. Restaurants, coffee shop, store and bar were close by... good food. I had a room overlooking the Bay, very nice, the other side (front) may not be as interesting. Iqaluit turned out to be a very interesting and fun community... will probably visit again. Take a cab tour of the community... well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bay side, if money is no object the corner suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My stay here was quite enjoyable. I wasn't expecting to stay here, my plane was delayed. All they had was a smoking room, and it wasn't too bad smelling. Nice bar, restaurant and coffee shop in the building as well as a movie theater and apparently a pool. The rooms were comfortable. The only downside I had was the internet speed was quite slow.

Room Tip: Any of the odd numbers point toward the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frobisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frobisher Inn

Address: The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frobisher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Frobisher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frobisher Inn Iqaluit, Nunavut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frobisher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.