We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so far best hotel during our roundtrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Raven Hotel to your Saves list
Raven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   181 Alaska Highway, Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haines Junction
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“so far best hotel during our roundtrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We've traveled a lot in the States and Canada but The Raven is one of the best hotels we have ever been in. Very clean, eco-friendly and what a (complimentary!) breakfast. First time we had real pastry (real bread (! rare in US or Canada), croissants, fresh juices,...). The breakfast was made with a lot of love.
Excellent bed, pillow, etc...
The owner told us the building was originally built by a German, well the quality you see is the proof of it.
Also very friendly owners. Without any doubt a place we can recommend.
Only 1 negative : you have to pay for the wifi (5$), but on the other hand,it is fast wifi and so the 5$ was better than free wifi at a ridiculous speed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Va
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night in this wonderful, family-owned Yukon hotel. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast is bountiful and elegantly presented by Gwen the proprietor. The surrounding area is quite beautiful. Take a ride north on the Alaska highway to Kluane National Park or south along the Haines Highway to see snow covered mountains, glacer fed lakes and wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Raven was a lovely respite after a day of hiking - hot showers, spacious and clean room, comfortable beds. I especially liked that there are many eco-friendly touches, such as recycling bins, low-flow toilets and bathroom lotions in bulk containers instead of individual packages. Breakfast and fast WiFi were included, which is always great. Extended my stay to two nights to do some additional hiking in the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We recently stayed at the Raven Hotel during our first trip to the Yukon for 2 nights to explore Kluane National Park by plane. The Hotel is a small charming Inn but we didn't think it lived up to the advertising we read. Advertised were 12 Luxurious Ensuite Rooms, I dont think we stayed in one , small bed, old TV's, amenities in dispensers...... really nothing luxurious to talk about, however, the Housekeeper did super job to keep the room clean.
The noise each night from the Dining Room is annoying to Hotel Guests and only after the last party left the place is quiet.
We did not eat in the highly acclaimed Dining Room, on vacation we don't need gourmet food, we found excellent food across the street at the Backerei Cafe, we went 4 times at very reasonable prices.
We would stay here again since we are told the other places are all run down but we got better value for our money in Skagway and Whitehorse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Dining Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven1016, Owner at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review The Raven Hotel. We had just purchased The Raven 4 years prior to your stay and we completely agree with you, that the rooms were in need of some updating. Now that we are a little more financial stable in the business we have purchased all new 32" Sony flat screen tvs for the rooms and are in the process of updating the bedding. As for the amenities being in dispensers - we purchased those last year and did this in an attempt to save the environment from all of the plastic waste that comes for cases up cases of these products being disposed of every season. We apologize for the noise from the dining room. This is the first time we have heard this complaint from guests staying beneath the dining room. We are generally a very quiet dining room, so you must have stayed with us when we had a bit of a "louder" crowd. We thank you again for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your time in The Yukon and we hope we have an opportunity to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Loved this hotel in Haines Junction!! The hosts were very friendly and helpful during our stay and the food was amazing!! Fine dining and one of the best meals I have ever had! Rooms spotless and continental breakfast very cozy. Would definately recommend this hotel if your looking for a nice clean accomodation with great food during your travels :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven1016, Owner at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to review The Raven Hotel. We do pride ourselves on being "spotless" - so thank you for noticing. Hope you find yourself visiting The Yukon in the future and hope that you stop by to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Motel is a basic clean comfortable motel. Nothing fancy but nothing wrong either. I would stay here again.
Helpful staff
A nice continental breakfast.
The restaurant will be reviewed separately as it is definitely five stars. You must eat there. Expensive but worth it. It is even worth the detour from Whitehorse.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the back main floor as looked out on trees and you could sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

On the way from the Fairbanks to the Alaska ferry in Haines we needed a place to stay and without reservations were able to get a room at The Raven. We were hoping for a nice meal. Unfortunately, the restaurant could not accommodate our late and unexpected arrival. We were very pleased with our room which was a nice size, clean, had plenty of hot water, comfortable beds, good internet connection. There was also TV set which we did not turn on so can't say anything about availability of channels. In the morning a breakfast consist of juice, muffin, apple or orange and tea or coffee. No hot chocolate but I got a hot water to use with my own hot chocolate mix.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven1016, Owner at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Raven! We hope if you are ever visiting our beautiful community again, you give us a call - we took your advise and now have hot chocolate available with our continental breakfast! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Address: 181 Alaska Highway, Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Haines Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haines Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Hotel is located in the beautiful community of Haines Junction, in southwest Yukon. The hotel is strategically located a few steps from the town's amenities, including the Kluane National Park Visitor Centre, the Recreation Complex, and the St. Elias Convention Centre. You will thrill at the beauty that abounds right outside the door of your hotel room. Enjoy great photo opportunities, hiking, fishing, boating and wildlife viewing, whatever your adventurous heart desires. At The Raven Hotel, you will experience small-town charm with warm and personal service. Relax in the refined comfort of one of the 12 en-suite rooms, each with direct outdoor access. All rooms offer private bathroom, telephone, satellite TV, flat screen TVs and FREE wireless internet. We also provide a complimentary continental breakfast to start your day! Whether you are planning a romantic get-away, a business conference or just a great Yukon adventure, you can expect upscale convenience and modern elegance at The Raven Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Haines Junction, Yukon, Canada
Raven Motel Haines Junction

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.