We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property, impeccable hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Laurent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pieusse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Laurent
Save
You added Maison Laurent to your Saves list
31 Avenue Jean Brousse, 11300 Pieusse, Limoux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Pieusse B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming property, impeccable hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a fantastic few days staying at Maison Laurent and took full advantage of the beautiful garden and hospitality offered by Rachel and Anthony. Our room was lovely with a spacious bathroom and a huge free standing bath. Breakfast was great, we signed up for the evening meal for 2 of the nights we were there, dinner was excellent (Anthony kindly gave us the recipe for the lemon parfait dessert that we enjoyed on our first night which was delicious and has now been added to our dinner party repertoire), as was the extensive choice of local wine available available to buy at reasonable prices - and it was interesting to dine with other guests together with Rachel and Anthony.
The local area is scenic, having already visited Carcassonne, we went to see some of the cathar castles in the vicinity (Lastours is definitely worth the climb) and also hired bikes to cycle along the Canal du Midi which was fun but exhausting after 4 hours!
We've already recommended highly to friends and family - many thanks Rachel & Anthony!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
194
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was impeccable, the breakfast delicious, Anthony and Rachel were very helpful and accommodating and we had a terrific food & wine paring evening!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We returned to Maison Laurent this year and enjoyed our visit even more than last year (we did not think this was possible) There have been further improvements to this wonderful house since our first visit making it a must stay accomodation. The food and service are excellent and the freindly attention to all guests from Anthony and Rachel could not be better. You will not be disapointed with a stay at Maison Laurent.
If they will have us we will return again.
John and Diane Fraser
Troon Scotland

Room Tip: Just ask the owners if you need any local information
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We're very lucky we came across with Maison Laurent, what a house. It doesn't look pretentious from the outside but when you enter is completely another world. It took the owners an incredible amount of hard work and patience but the result is a luxury Bed and Breakfast, tastefully decorated, very comfortable, well kept and excellent service. Anthony and Rachel are excellent hosts, its evident that they love what they do and they could transmit it everyday.

We were a family of 5 adults, so it was kind of complicated to satisfy every taste but with Maison Laurent it was perfect, everyone was happy! Breakfast is GLORIOUS! Anthony loves cooking and he does it to perfection....imagine yourself sitting in a table having breakfast and suddenly someone brings you just baked blueberry muffins!!!!!!! what a surprise! everyday Anthony will surprise you with something delicious to start the day. Dinner was also very good and beautifully presented.
Rachel is lovely, very helpful and sweet. They're behind every detail of the house and you notice it. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable, decorated with excellent taste. The garden has a great role in the house, they have created a wonderful area outside, lots of flowers, every plant well appointed....the gardener is a true gentleman and he even left for me the info of a plant I loved (I bought it here and hope it'll grow as beautiful as theirs).
We loved Bella, and we still talk about how sweet and well behaved she is...we send a big kiss for that princess.
Maison Laurent is a great hub for visiting the Languedoc region, Pieusse is a nice traditional french town very close to Limoux, Carcassonne and of course all the excellent vineyards of the region. There are very nice bike trails nearby, we found that bike lovers frequently choose Maison Laurent for their outings. Anthony and Rachel can guide you through the region, recommend restaurants and activities, etc.
We'll definitely come back, after so many years traveling and of all the places Ive stayed, this is one of the best.
See you soon

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the single room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stumbled across Maison Laurent whilst trawling the internet for somewhere special to go for our Honeymoon - we booked immediately. The websites do not do it justice.
The owners, Anthony & Rachel, go out of their way to provide excellent service for their guests, from the initial welcome to the hotel, to the exquisite meals that Anthony very humbly prepares. We ate 7 breakfasts and 4 dinners whilst staying there and the range of food and quality of cooking/preparation/presentation was second to none. Anthony and Rachel are also great at suggesting wines from the region to taste and source their wines from the local vineyards.
We thoroughly enjoyed a wine pairing evening on Monday with a wine expert and a 4 course meal (prepared by Anthony) along with other guests at Maison Laurent – what a great way to spend an evening.
The B&B itself is absolutely beautiful, a renovation that has been completed with special attention to detail and finished to a high standard. The rooms were perfectly clean, very spacious and air con was available in the bedrooms, which is definitely a necessity in the heat!
Each morning after breakfast Anthony and Rachael spent some time with us and other guests helping to decide what we should do for the day. Some great places to visit are: Mirepoix market, La Cite, Canal du Midi, Trebes, Revel market (worth the drive if only for the scenic route back to the hotel via Bassin de Saint-Ferreol, a large lake in the countryside and the beautiful views at Saissac).
We would definitely visit Maison Laurent again if only to see Anthony & Rachel and of course Bella (the dog), they made our Honeymoon everything we wanted it to be. You will not be disappointed!
David & Vicky

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just stayed for the fourth time with Rachel and Antony. That alone should say something but I wish to add that of all the places we have been, their attention to detail and willingness to be the perfect hosts is second to none.
Without a doubt we will return. I can think of no better place to stay in the Languedoc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This really is a 5 star place to stay. Rachel and Anthony are perfect hosts, warm and friendly- service second to none we have experienced. They pay attention to detail in all that they offer, whether it be the delicious breakfast ( including yummy banana smoothies one morning), suggestions for eating locally, Anthony's cooking, suggestion of wines and excursions and places to visit locally. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, tasteful modern decor and large bathroom with shower and free standing bath and as throughout the house, impeccably clean. The garden is so calming and beautiful to relax in before dinner with aperatif or to have a swim and sunbathe. This really is a gem of a place to stay, with interesting people staying while we were there, who we shared an evening with watching the Euro football on TV in the lounge, as well as meals on the terrace. The village is quiet, with some lovely walks that ramble through vineyards . Few minutes drive takes you to Limoux where there is more bustle with shops and restaurants. We had a delightful afternoon in the small botanic garden - needs bit of thought when finding, hidden away, but worth a visit. Took Rachel and Anthony's advice and did a "French Traditions" foodie tour with Peter Woodcock in Carcassonne. Well recommended if you want to know a bit more about local produce and a special lunch to eat, that you have helped prepare. Altogether a wonderful place to stay, for us a quiet relaxing few days, but for those more energetic plenty to do and see in the region. Thank you, Val and Colin June 2012 (just after the Queen's Jubilee!)

Room Tip: King size bed is in room at the top of the house overlooking the garden. Lovely view. There are flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Laurent

Address: 31 Avenue Jean Brousse, 11300 Pieusse, Limoux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Limoux > Pieusse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pieusse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five bedroomed bed and breakfast with private, large Mediterranean style gardens and pool providing relaxed and informal luxury accommodation. Air-conditioned throughout and all bedrooms have private facilities. Peaceful location in beautifully restored French Maison d'Maitre (master's house). Lake bathing available at nearby Carcassonne Plage and Lac Montbel. Limoux with all amenities and shops is just 2kms away and Carcassonne, Mirepoix and many sites of the area all close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Laurent Hotel Pieusse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.