We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - they made our bike ride pub garden stop off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Church Hill, Hurst, Wokingham RG10 0SJ, England
01189340034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hurst
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: I believe the Castle Inn has been under new management for about the last six months and is gaining a strong local reputation for its restaurant.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome - they made our bike ride pub garden stop off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great friendly staff - Beautiful place - Lovely food they really went out of their way to help us.... we ate so much we didnt want to get back on our bikes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England's Green & Pleasant Locations
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lunch with friends on a rainy weekend. The Castle Inn was warm and welcoming; the staff were very helpful and attentive and the food, delicious. I would award 5 stars but the toilets are badly in need of refurbishment. Come on, guys - if you do nothing else, a replacement toilet seat is only about £15 and an upgrade from the very basic toilet tissue would look less penny-pinching. Apart from that - Excellent food and an otherwise wonderful way to spend a leisurely lunchtime. Book in advance as it gets crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best food I had in England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

While driving to Bath, I simply HAD to stop in Hurst as that is a family name. Got there just before lunch opening which gave me time to walk about the place. Three minutes later I was waiting outside for the open. (Hurst is a very small place.) The proprietor was kind and opened early for us and a few other patient souls. The menu was fairly diverse for such a small place in such an obscure location. We were so happy when the food arrived and it was sooooo good. The ribs literally fell off the bone. My mum's soup and jacket potato were very good. The staff was kind, helpful and cheerfully listened to my mother blather on. I only wish they were my local as I'd be there all the time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Visited with family for Sunday lunch. Around £21 for 3 courses. All 3 courses were pretty good. Probably the best sticky toffee pudding we've had for a long time!

Very busy when we arrived as there are only a few tables, but nice location and atmosphere. We'd go there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This is our new favourite local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have visited The Castle on a couple of occasions and have never been disappointed but our recent visit really impressed us. They have changed the menu and the new dishes are fabulous. They gave altered the way they serve the meals now as they come as a more reasonably priced full meal rather than having to order sides separately which significantly increased the price.

The selection of dishes is lovely and the quality is always good. I ate every single bit of my chicken dish, it was just too good to leave. I will definately be ordering this next time and I can assure you there will be a next time.

Service is also great here and the wines excellent quality. The wait for food isn't too long and it is more than worth waiting for.

If you are in the area come for a meal here. It's not cheap but if you are looking for something special this is it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Sindlesham, Wokingham
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.