We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uppark

Uppark
South Harting, England
01730/825415
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were staying in Surrey for a short break and Uppark was the first NT property we visited making good use of our NT Membership.

The fact that the house has been restored following the devastating fire in 1989 is a tribute to the hard work of the restoration workers. The house has a Georgian Charm about it with wonderful gardens which probably are at their best in the summer (we visited in late September), we spent some time admiring the views from the lawn in front of the house.

The cafe was reasonably priced and we had a very good cream tea.

An enjoyable afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

nice house and gardens but the tea room is really expensive i know that the national trust puts money raised back into the property however £18.50 for 4 teas and small pieces of cake is literally taking the biscuit!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came here recently and enjoyed the whole experience. The house is lovely,plenty to see,including a beautiful dolls house. There were guides in each room and they were happy to answer any questions.They were friendly and interesting.The grounds were a pleasure to walk in and on a beautiful summers day good to just sit and relax in. The cafe was reasonably priced and we enjoyed a very acceptable cream tea. The only thing I would take issue with ,and this is a minor point,is the emphasis on the 1989 fire ,although interesting at first it really did take over. I know it was devastating,and I know much of the house has been restored and the story once or twice is fine but we didn't really need to be told about it at length in almost every room,and then see a film about it. However having said all that , I don't want to detract from what was a really good day out and thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile example of English stately home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am lucky to have friends in England who have taken me to several lovely National Trust properties, so I can compare Uppark to others, and it compares very favorably. First of all it has an interesting history, having been offered to the Duke of Wellington as a prize when he won the Battle of Waterloo. He refused, even though he loved the place, because it was situated on a hill and he said his horses wouldn't be able to make it up the hill as often as he would need them to. It ended up in the Featherstonhaugh family, who have their own interesting history. Be sure to read all about it in the guidebook available at the house.

Touring the house is fairly quick and straightforward, but there are a couple of wonderful things that really struck me. The house burned in 1989 due to a spark from a roofer's tool and although most of the furnishings were saved the place was just a shell. Luckily the National Trust decided to rebuild it. What is most exceptional, then, are the exterior views and the furnishings. The portraits of the inhabitants are gorgeous as are the oils of various game fowl and foods that were served in the house. Those who enjoy Downton Abbey will like seeing the butler's room, the kitchen and the wine cellar to see how things understairs were handled. What I loved was the Palladian style doll house, furnished to a "t" and used not just to play with but also as a teaching tool for young ladies to learn how to run a great house.

The grounds are beautiful and suitable for picnicking, although there were swarms of wasps the day we were there. It has been an unusually warm English summer so that might be unusual.

I would definitely recommend Uppark as a great way to spend a day learning more about English life in the 18th century.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing views!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We only live 5 miles away and haven't been for years, was lovely place. Not too big to look around and mainly on the ground floor, so good for people with access problems. The house was very badly damaged by fire in 1989 so not a lot of original items but lots of restored things. The grounds are lovely to walk in with views over the downs and beyond to the sea. Nice shop and tea room area too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uppark also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Amberley, West Sussex
 

Been to Uppark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Uppark to your Saves list