We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the outdoor hot tub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pemberton Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pemberton Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Pemberton Valley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1490 Sea to Sky Highway (Portage Road), Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the outdoor hot tub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to the east. We arrived quite late (11pm or so) and although we booked our room months on beforehand, checkin still took more than half an hour due to unexperienced staff. The hotel and room were decorated with taste. Kitchen equipment was sparse, but just ok. Good bed. Secure indoor parking. We especially appreciated the HOT and powerful outdoor jacuzzi in the morning. It was a weekday in June, and it was like we were the only guests. Still quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that your check in was a little longer than necessary, we are committed to ongoing training and strive to provide a quick but meaningful check in. We are a little surprised that you felt the kitchens were sparse; we have ample dishes and cooking pots and utensils for each suite, up two more sets than the rooms accommodate, along with serving bowls, platters and even a turkey roaster and craving knives if you are visiting during the holidays. We feel we are competitively priced for the services and amenities offered. We thank you for choosing Pemberton Valley Lodge and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    58
    15
    8
    12
See reviews for
40
89
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First of all I'd like to say that the initial service was excellent and the facilities are more than acceptable. I stayed along with several other people in a two bedroom suite which included everything just as they've advertised.

HOWEVER, my only issue is with their unethical business practice on over charging/extra charges. During my stay at the middle of the night I suddenly felt sick and puked up my stomach contents at edge of sofa bed. The vomit splashed onto part of the mattress and ended up mostly on the carpet. I clean up the mess the best I can using the bed sheet to wipe everything off the carpet and leaving it in the bathtub for the cleaners.

About 1 week later, we were charged $500 dollars for "cleaning fees" and "room damage"
I spoke to a manger there and he explain that this is the non negotiable charge for things of this nature. When I mentioned that major hotel chains "Ramada, holiday Inn, Sandman ect.. charge in the $70-$250 range for this sort of stuff he went on to explain that the fee is not only for the carpet cleaning but the charge is so high because they had to throw out 2 sheets, 1 blanket and 2 pillow cases. All of which you can get for under 30 bucks in total at wal-mart.

The same manager failed to transfer me to his supervisor when I asked to speak with that person of these fees. He also changed his tone when I advised him that I will be witting a negative review of my experiences and went on to accuse me of threatening his business.

So there you have it ladies and gents. $500 dollars for carpet cleaning and some pillowcases and sheet. Beware of staying here when other hotels in the area have vacancies.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It is our policy to charge for damage and destruction of hotel property. The fees imposed were reflective of the damage and cleaning efforts the hotel had to take in restoring the room to rental condition. We can appreciate that this guest was upset with the fees charged, however certain behaviour is not acceptable and has consciences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Like most people, we didn't question the "tax" added to the room charge when paying the bill for our two night stay. But in this case we should have paid closer attention. In addition to the Federal and Provincial taxes, there was also "HSF" listed among the taxes of totaling $3.38 per $100 of room charges). The "HSF" tax was hidden among the other government imposed taxes, so we did not notice or question it initially. The term "HSF" is an abbreviation for "Hotel Service Fee." It appears to us the hotel added this self-imposed "tax" to the bill for the hotel's benefit!

Since there was no mention of this "HSF Tax" on our contract with the hotel, we requested the hotel refund the HSF on our bill, but the hotel refused to do so.

Aside from the "HST" issue, what was our stay like? Well, it was excellent, as other reviewers have noted. Staff did an outstanding job; hotel is well maintained, rooms were excellent, and the setting very pleasant, a refreshing change from the bustle of overcrowded Whistler. While there aren't many activities in Pemberton, Whistler is a scenic 30 minute drive away, so commuting there is no problem. And if you want to travel further into the interior, the Duffy Lake Road to Lillooet is spectacular. Had the hotel not overcharged us, we would have given it an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are glad to hear that your group enjoyed their stay at Pemberton Valley Lodge and their visit to the region.
In reference to the taxes, a contract of agreement was signed that detailed the current applicable taxes and fees and also stated that taxes charged would be reflective of the groups check in date. This is included because some contracts are drafted over a year in advance of arrival at the hotel and taxes and fees could be subject to change.
Nothing is hidden on our invoices as a detailed breakdown is on every guest folio. Additional information is also available on the hotel's website.
We appreciate your feedback as it has given us an opportunity for us to improve on how we communicate group contracts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked this hotel as a part of my wedding and was blown away by the service. I Booked a huge group of rooms Approx. 50 for people coming from all over the country to celebrate my wedding. We had people coming on throughout the week and the average stay for most people was 2-3 days. They handed everyone a Welcome letter at the beginning of there stay and placed things in peoples rooms upon request.

During our stay, I booked the hospitality suite as a central ground for everyone to enjoy. The catering the hotel put on was amazing. The hotel accommodated to my every need.

My husband and I also booked a couples massage which was done in a private room and was great!!!

At no point during our trip was any dissatisfied with the service or amenities within the hotel. We have received nothing but race reviews from all our wedding guests, and I know many people will come back.

Laura and Dave and all their staff are incredible.

If you plan on staying up in Pemberton you MUST stay here. It is beautiful hotel tucked away with gorgeous views, a great Pool and hot tub, as well as an awesome fire pit and games all around the property for kids!!

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however the kitchens and quick access to the town make it easy to go out for a bite to eat. It is within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We are delighted to have been part of your special day! It was a pleasure working with you and welcoming your guests to the Lodge. Our staff enjoyed the excitement and felt a part of the festivities. We strive to provide the best experience to all our guests, but with your group it was easy - we are thrilled that you chose Pemberton Valley Lodge to celebrate one of your biggest life moments. Congratulations on your marriage! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this location for a wedding and had a really good experience. Their staff was friendly and went above and beyond to make sure that everyone in our large wedding group were happy. We enjoyed what little down time we had sitting out on our balcony enjoying a glass of wine and looking at the spectacular view of Mount Currie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at Pemberton Valley Lodge and that your family and friends had a comfortable and relaxing stay. It was our pleasure welcoming such a lovely group, for such a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope your next visit will allow you some downtime to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Pemberton Valley Lodge while visiting our son for his birthday and we had such a wonderful experience. We had a two bedroom suite that we shared with our grandson, daugher and great granddaughter and there was plenty of space for everyone as well as each couple had their own private bedroom. We were able to cook our own breakfast in the full sized kitchen, the keurig machine was a pleasant surprize, the room well maintained and very clean and the staff were very courteous and smiley. The pool area was just recently redone and it was nice to sit outside and read while watching the grandkids swim.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had such an amazing time here. The rooms were stocked full of all amenities and were clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our time at the pool and beside the gas fire in the evenings. This place is worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTeam, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pemberton Valley Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our pool area has been recently upgraded and results are proving very positive for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing the Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pemberton Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Valley Lodge

Address: 1490 Sea to Sky Highway (Portage Road), Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pemberton Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pemberton Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemberton Valley Hotel Pemberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemberton Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.