We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake
Save
You added The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake to your Saves list
24 Lillooet Lake Estates | Mount Currie, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2K0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Pemberton B&B and Inns
Beaver Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“R&R haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

wonderful setting against mountain and lakes. great starting point for fishing, hiking, kayaking, photography, or just having a coffee on the beautiful dock and watching the sun rise and set. off the grid, no tv nor internet- though you may get a snippet of cell reception. full kitchen that you'll either have to yourself or would be shared with other guests (2 rooms in the downstairs suite). it's a tough 30 minute drive to any services but it is worth it. breakfast is healthy and hearty and the hosts are warm and engaging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Münster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We can only confirm what all the others here have said: It is an amazing place in a great location. Very comfortable rooms, fully equipped gust kitchen (do remember to bring food!), great attention to detail, superb breakfast. You can take the kayaks to the lake (no extra charge) or just relax on the enormous deck. We stayed for a couple of nights in August 2013 and had such a great time. From the B&B, you can start several day trips (Whistler, Joffre Lakes (which are a must-see!)).

So if you have the chance, stay for a few days, it is absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cheapest place we stayed. And probably the best. Alright, it benefited from being a gloriously sunny August day, but still, LOOK AT THAT BLOODY LAKE. It's ridiculous. It's like something out of a movie. My Son and I went straight out onto the lake in one of the canoes. My only advice is not to try and reach the other side. It's a lot further than you think ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After the two hour drive from Vancouver, with the last half hour being a jarring 7kms of pot holes, a warm, clean, and welcoming spot awaits. With a sprawling floating dock, with dozens of trout leaping into the air dockside, Martha and her husband open their home to travellers from all over the world. The place is off the grid, so all water and power is solar. With a good book, a glass of wine and a chez lounge on the dock, the worries and cares of day to day life just washed away. Nearby Joffery Lakes Provincial Park provides all the hiking adventure you can handle, and Pemberton boasts a number of fine eateries if you don't care to utilize the fully equipped kitchen at the B&B. We loved it twice now, and will likely be there again.

Room Tip: The larger of the two rooms provides a large window, and an extra few square feet of bathroom space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was one of our three top favorite places on a 22 day road trip, actually our favorite! I was concerned when reading one or two other reviews about the few miles on the dirt road and mosquitos. It had been dry, I only saw one mosquito. The dirt road was wide and we did not have visibility issues or any other problems. It is SO worth the drive.
This was my husband's favorite place of our whole trip, and mine also. The owners Andy and Martha were wonderful hosts. They said up front they are off the grid and powered by generators, that we could be dark in the morning but that did not happen. We loved our room and the decorator touches and thought that had been put into this B&B. Martha's stained glass work was beautiful, and I bought one stained glass angel which we love. We had such a good night's sleep hearing the lapping of the lake water at night, and looking through the stained glass window Martha had done. This is such a secure place that the patio door to the deck with the screen was left open for the breeze.
The deck setting was beautiful. We enjoyed sitting out and just looking at the lake which this B&B is right on the shore of. What a tranquil beautiful setting! If one wants super fancy then go elsewhere so you don't complain about all this more rustic place yet newer B&B has to offer. We would love living someplace like this!
My husband used their gas grill to barbeque some very tasty sausage from Nestor's Market in Banff, and shared them with the lovely friendly couple from Switzerland (Their children were so well behaved)and Martha. Delicious. We also brought salad and some odds and ends and fixed them in the spacious kitchen. Martha spent a long time preparing a very healthy and tasty breakfast that was very generous in portions, like loads of fresh fruit, her famous oatmeal and more like poached eggs.
We got to see many hummingbirds at the feeders on the lake deck. We hope to return one day. Fantastic experience here, and very reasonable!

Room Tip: We had the basement room right by the patio door with the top stained glass window. Highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I have done a lot of traveling around the world and this b&b experience tops my list! A short drive off the beaten path leads you to an extraordinary location right on the lake. We were invited to enjoy the beautiful 70ft dock, built with a tidal style bridge an beautiful upper level seating area where we watched the sunset track right across the lake! We took advantage of the canoe and kayaks and heard there's some decent fishing around too. The sun was shining and it was great that there were no bugs. We ate a spread of delicious hot cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and poached eggs for breakfast. Martha and Andy were very warm and friendly hosts and we can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

To start with, the location is stunning - right on the lake, with amazing views from the dock. We are glad to have enjoyed it. It is a great place to visit, in spite of a rough road leading to it.

The B&B itself is far from perfect, and can better suit families or friends interested in renting both rooms on offer. There is a big cosy living room with sofas (which also includes a kitchen), that serves both rooms and offers great views on the gorgeous lake.

The rooms themselves, though, are small. One of the rooms has no windows at all - a very strange and bad choice for such a location, The hostess advised us to keep the door open at night in order to get some air. That was possible only because there were no guests in the other room that night. If there were strangers there, we would have been forced to be closed in the room without window. It must be said it was strange we were not offered the other room, which goes at the same price, and does have a window - even though it is overlooking a stone wall and not the lake.

The breakfast was below average by the Canadian B&B standards. It mostly included the four grains porridge, which is probably extraordinary as the hostess claims it to be - she just forgot to ask me if I like porridge. The poached eggs were eatable, and the fruit salad was good.

On the day of our stay, the place was absolutely swarming in mosquitoes. The hostess said it only happens for two weeks in a year (during July), and specifically asked us not to mention the mosquitos at all on Tripadvisor - but did urge us several times to write a review here.

So here it is. While it is possible that the mosquitoes are indeed not there most of the time, the unfortunate guests who do meet them are bitten mercilessly. Luckily, the mosquitoes were not very fond of the dock, so the best part of our stay wasn't ruined. It is great to watch the stars there at night.

P.S. Expect sudden electricity shutout in the morning because the generator becomes empty during the night. The hostess thinks it's ok, and there is no need to warn the guests about it, or even to apologize for the inconvenice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake

Address: 24 Lillooet Lake Estates | Mount Currie, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2K0 , Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pemberton
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.