We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch or dinner spot, great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dundarave Fish Market

Dundarave Fish Market
2423 Marine Dr, West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
+1 604-922-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 129 restaurants in West Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: Take a West Vancouver blue bus along Marine along Marine Drive from Park Royal Shopping Mall all the way to Dundarave Village. Get off at the Dundarave stop. We are on the north side of the street.
Description: Dundarave Fish Market, nestled in the heart of Dundarave Village in West Vancouver is just the place!This uniquely characteristic locale showcases some of the most tantalizing fruits of the sea...Such as fresh fish and shellfish, delicious crab cakes, succulent wild salmon, halibut caught exclusively for the Dundarave Fish Market and so much more! Complete with an inviting dining room, semi private dining room, charming martini bar and heated outdoor patio, our expert chefs will prepare your desired delicacy. We hope to see you sipping cold refreshments on our patio soon!
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch or dinner spot, great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

These people know seafood. The menu pleases. You can take home fresh seafood from their deli counter too. Outdoor seating in the sunshine is a great meeting spot. Cozy but a great vibe!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    14
    12
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Started with the sizzling Shellfish - great, then Halibut (2 pieces) and Chips the fish was excellent but anyone (from the UK) expecting "real" chips = square cut+ chunky, would have been disappointed by the sauteed thin slices of potatoe served.
The place was quiet and a bit draughty on a typical grey and wet Vancouver evrening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not up to its past standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Used to eat here often and just returned after a long hiatus. Four of us could not complain about the mussels, tuna and cod - all were good. But the risotto came in a sticky congealed ball and our
ceasar salads were mostly just lettuce and very soggy from too much dressing. Figured that something must be wrong as we were one of only two tables occupied in the whole restaurant !?
Reading the other reviews suggests that maybe, hopefully, this was a one-off disappointment.
I will therefore give it another chance but can only rate it 3 stars for now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne L, Owner at Dundarave Fish Market, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your helpful review. We are currently undergoing intense training with our kitchen staff to ensure our standards are up to the highest level that you have come to expect and love at your local eatery. Our new Executive Chef Howard Go has been alerted to the issues you have outlined in your review and we are trying our hardest to make each and every experience and dish the best that you have ever had. We hope you give us a second chance and come down October 24th for the launch of our new menu. We will be offering two winery tastings and menu samplings. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood in West Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place has great fresh seafood. I would recommend having the halibut and fries with a cold beer. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tuna Fish Tacos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been there twice this summer. Both times were excellent! Great service, great food. Highly recommend the tuna fish tacos! We also had two piece Halibut Fish and Chips and they were equally as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundarave Fish Market also viewed

West Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
West Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dundarave Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundarave Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.