We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go to Cypress with small kids!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Mountain

Cypress Mountain
6000 Cypress Bowl Road, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7V 3N9, Canada
604-926-5612
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cypress Mountain in West Vancouver, B.C., Canada. Cypress Mountain - PROUD HOME OF CANADA'S FIRST OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALS ON HOME SNOW! Cypress is only 30 minutes from downtown Vancouver and is proud to continue to provide our skiers, riders and sliders with the most vertical drop, most terrain, most lifts and best snow conditions on the highest skiing and riding peak of Vancouver's Legendary North Shore Mountains. With the best Winter Skiing & Riding in Vancouver, Canada's most popular Cross Country Skiing Area, a huge Snowtubing Park and our unique Snowshoeing Tours, Cypress truly offers something for everyone!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Do not go to Cypress with small kids!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Our 3 yearold is learning to ski and we're trying the North shore ski hills. On Cypress' terrain map they have a magic carpet so we wanted to give it a go. We asked the sales person at the ticket wicket for tickets to use their magic carpet, Full fare for both adults and 3 year-old and he sends us off towards the carpet. We get there and it's closed, go to guest relations and they inform us that it is for ski lessons only and suggest the beginner chair, right... with a 3 year-old... they refused to reimburse our tickets and only offered us a voucher for us to come back a different day that season where we could experience the same frustration again. It's a fine place for regular skiing but if you are wanting your little kids to learn I 100% recommend staying away from Cypress!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkoeman, Manager at Cypress Mountain, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Cypress Mountain. We value the feedback from all of our guests and we apologise for not meeting your expectations.

Our Magic Carpet is exclusively used for our Skooters 5 & Under program. Unfortunately there is not enough space around the carpet to allow general public access.

We would be happy to discuss further with you could you please contact our Guest Relations Office at 604.926.5612 or info@cypressmountain.com

We hope to see you and your family on the slopes again soon and experience everything we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations
Cypress Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    46
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Where is the Snow!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Ok it's early in the season so the lack of snow is just bad luck. Have been here for just over a week and have had some good days and bad days (today) in riding conditions. Fortunately I have season pass so I can just turn around and head home, for those paying by the day ....save your money this week or go to whistler where there is more terrain open.

Had lunch in the bar last Friday, service and food was ok but meals were slow to come out. Cafeteria fiord is thus far very uninspiring, mostly junk food options. Hopefully things improve later in the season when there are a few more customers. Cafe should take a lesson from Whitewater where the on mountain cafe food is awesome with lots of healthy options that still provide good comfort food warmth.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“bad service at Cypress MT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It was my third time at Cypress. I usually go to other local mountains (Seymour, Grouse or Whistler) but this year so far not much snow so my family and I decided to give it a try and check out Cypress.
Good mountain for the amount of snow we have right now.
For lunch we decided to go at the cafeteria. Service was not the best and the burger was not very good. Well I ate better frozen burger before ... Not lot of sauce in the pizza. The cashier was a youth kid and he was serving alcohol well I mean he had alcohol at is desk. Don't think he was 19 of age. Then after our day we decided to go check out the Crazy Raven. See if the food was better . Well we were very disappointed. Service was horrible and slow... Our server was hungover to start with and her name was starting with a "B" I think. It took for ever to get service and a welcome. The servers was talking by the bar instead of taking care of customers . The restaurant look great but they should change there staff. Food was okay but not the best. You should save your money and go down the park royal instead so you are sure you get great service and quality food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great view of the city from the lookout point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took my parents, wife and daughters to tour West Van so we went up to Cypress and stopped halfway up at the look out point. Gorgeous view of the city. You can see as far as Coquitlam/Surrey to the East and to UBC in the West. (and every place in between). Definitely worth stopping for the view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
“Best Local Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cypress is the best local mountain for intermediate/expert skiers. It has a great variety of runs- groomed, powder, tree lines, etc. and the views are beautiful! It's about 30-45 minutes from Vancouver and the prices are reasonable (may be on the higher end).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cypress Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.