We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Bay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Bay Motel to your Saves list
Horseshoe Bay Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6588 Royal Avenue, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 2B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
SSomerset West
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An incredible surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Horseshoe Bay Motel in Horseshoe Bay. I left my wallet in one of the drawers of cabinet in the room. It contained several items of value. Credit cards, driver's licence and several thousands of dollars in cash.

When I realised what happened (24 hours after we had departed), I called. To my surprise and huge relief, they told me that they had found it and would keep it for me. By that time they had already emailed me!

The manager, Bree, and her team deserve credit for such honesty and service. Not easily beaten! Full marks and many thanks.

Gerrit Pretorius

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Pretorius:
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We were delighted to have you as our guest. We are so grateful for your kind comments. When our staff member, Shannon, found your wallet, we were very concerned that you would be in a panic regarding where it had been mislaid and also that you might have been stranded somewhere without funds.
Anyway, all ended well and we were thrilled to learn that your entire Canadian vacation was very successful. We hope that you will soon return to British Columbia and specifically to The Horseshoe Bay Motel. Best regards, Bree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Old-fashioned--in a good way--motel! Well kept & very clean & comfortable. Staff pleasant & helpful on phone when I made reservations & helpful on site. Worked well for our need to catch early morning ferry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All comments are greatly appreciated because it is essential that we are "tuned in" to the needs of our guests. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodation and an enjoyable experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is right there in horseshoe bay. Close to the ferry terminal. Very friendly town. Good restaurants. Beautiful views. We were there for the diving but it is great weekend destination. The hotel is very nicely furnished and clean.The bathroom was large and great shower with plenty of hot water. They have free wi-fi with two access points and i got a strong signal on one. I imagine the other is better on the other side so i would guess the have pretty good coverage. There are a few things that they could improve on. The doors have a half moon window at the top. The exterior lights are on all night and we had to hang a t shirt over the door to cut down on the light. There is no closet, just some space to hang stuff behind the door. The floors are heated and we could not find the thermostat. We ended up having to crack the door when it reached the high 70's. It's a bit on the expensive side for what you get but I suppose you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write. We have great diving in this area and are very pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our waters. Thank you for your comments regarding the Horseshoe Bay Motel. I regret that you found your room to be too warm. There are thermostats on the baseboards in all rooms and had we known that you were uncomfortable, we would have adjusted the heat for you accordingly. Before we had the doors with the glass windows, we used to get complaints that the rooms were too dark. Nonetheless, your point is well taken and we will try to think of a solution. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom clean and were warm and cosy throughout our stay. Everything you need was supplied. We stayed for eleven nights and room was cleaned every day ,towels replaced and linen changed every two or three nights. Coffee , tea toiletries supplid, even a bathmat for safety. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are grateful for all customer feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Having you here for eleven nights was such a privilege for us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to The Horseshoe Bay Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here one night. Nicely furnished,good ensuite,has books! reasonable rates but no brekky. Great location,and good shops near.Walk to bay and ferry terminal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Heather,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that you found our rooms comfotable and even enjoyed a book or two!

Customer feedback is always appreciated because it keeps us in tune with what our guests value and we also become aware of areas in which we can improve.

We hope to welcome you back to Horseshoe Bay in the near future and we thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I work in the Horseshoe Bay area and, on occassion, find the need to stay overnight due to my work requirements. Each and every time I book into the Horseshoe Bay Motel and each and every time my stay is fantastic! The staff is friendly and helpful...even on those nights when I need a late check in....the rooms, which have all been updated....are clean, comfy and have all the ammenities I need. Most rooms have fridges and microwaves and if I wish one with a bathtub they are always able to ensure I get one. I see from other comments that the drive to the ferry is a bit of an issue but in all fairness that is no fault of the motel? If you ever miss a ferry or need an early start....do NOT hesitate to come to this motel....just simply time your departure knowing the route to the ferry takes a few extra minutes. The Horseshoe Bay Motel is part of a thriving eclectic community and one business that knows how to provide the best in customer service!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for what you specifically need as they are very helpful in accomodating you and ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Based off the good review on here, I booked this hotel on a Saturday night in preparation for a Sunday morning ferry departure.

It was stated on here, but there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. And I figured by early September this would not be an issue. But it was a humid, high 70 degree day, and it was miserable inside for us Alaskans.

This was also slightly outside of the control of the motel and staff, but there happened to be a wedding party staying at there that evening that was very noisy and intoxicated. We went to bed about 9:30, and were rudely awakened by noisy cars, yelling and laughing at 12am-2am. We were torn between closing the windows and slightly reducing the noise, and having the windows open and enjoying the slightly cooler night air. As a fluke, a skunk or similar poor odor wafted in the bathroom window forcing us to close that one too.

Also, like others have said, there is not direct access for vehicles to the ferry, so you do have to go out, get back on the highway back toward Vancouver to Exit 4, then come back and follow the signs to the ferry ramp.

We requested compensation (a reduced rate reimbursement or something similar) from the hotel staff on account of the miserable sleep (about 4 muggy hours) and were ignored.

The upside is that Horseshoe Bay is a cute little community with some lovely restaurants (Dinner at Trolls was slow but excellent tasting) and the local ice cream shop had black licorice flavor!! (it's tough to find).

Next time if we need to catch the ferry in Horseshoe Bay, we will stay in Vancouver and just drive to the ferry exit, and not risk a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate all customer feedback because it is through customer comments that we learn of areas in which we can iimprove.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the small town of Horseshoe Bay. We are the closest accommodation to the BC Ferry Terminal here. The walking distance is only about 3 minutes and driving to the Ferry Terminal takes no more than 15 minutes.
It is unfortunate that you and your famiily found sleep difficult. We seldom need air conditioning and the evening you were here, the temperature dropped overnight to a cool 9C which is slightly less than 50F.
We did have a wedding group here but were unaware (until you complained the following day) that they were disruptive. Because of your complaint, we made a point of asking each of our guests as they checked out if they were aware of noise and evey single one (except you) said that there was no problem. Having said this, if you were unhappy with the situation, you could have made mention of it at that time to our Front Desk staff instead of complaining the following day.
Management did not "ignore" your request for compensation. The simple fact is that we want honest reviews and could not accept your threat of a bad TripAdvisor review unless we offered compensation.
We sincerely regret that your were disappointed with your stay at The Horseshoe Bay Motel but we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Motel

Address: 6588 Royal Avenue, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > West Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseshoe Bay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Hotel West Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.