We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect the Unexpected !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Secreto de Ollo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ollo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Secreto de Ollo
Save
You added El Secreto de Ollo to your Saves list
C/Santo Tomas 8, 31172 Ollo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ollo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Expect the Unexpected !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This property is probably the strangest place that I have ever stayed in. It is like being invited to stay a night at a friends house, and whilst there are certain shortcomings and faults, you enjoy your friends hospitality so much that you overlook everything which is wrong and focus on how charming the overall experience was.

We arrived at the property earlier than planned in mid afternoon. The owner, who is named Arantxa, was out shopping, and we were greeted by a delightful lady who speaks only Spanish. She arranged Tea, coffee ,wine and snacks, then busied herself with the final preparation of the room.

The room on the first floor looked amazing with the oddest assortment of furniture from various eras. Nothing matched, but the overall effect was good. The lighting was strange as the centre light in the lounge area of the suite was operated by plugging a low voltage transformer into a low level wall socket. The bathroom sink had no plug and the plug and chain in the bath was detached. The TV had limited reception and a dreadful picture, but the internet access was fast and free.

The evening meal was a complete surprise with no menu bur constant flow of various tasting dishes then pork for the main course. It was all very well cooked and presented.

Breakfast was interesting to say the least !


If you wish to try a unique experience, this is the place to go. You also should be aware that there is a boisterous but friendly dog who is prone to barking when excited.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished in a similar manner but are quite different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arantzagonzalez, Propietario at El Secreto de Ollo, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks so much for you nice feedback. We really enjoy knowing you and happy to know you were happy with your stay.
Sorry about the TV signal. We have checked it and it seems the previous guest switch the mode to analogic TV when we have cable TV. Since we have cable TV, the reception here is really good.
On the other hand, the only way to plug in the main lamp in Golondrinas is with a plug. Since we liked the decoration of that lamp, we did not think would be a problem for the guests but we understand you point.
Well, we hope to see you again in our place.
All the best
Arantza Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

El Secreto really is the most friendly and comfortable place to stay and, without a doubt, whenever we are planning to be in the area, we will stay here. The food is fantastic and, unless one has a huge appetite, one can easily get by on the breakfast and dinner - both of which seem to keep on coming! Arantxa is a wonderful hostess who looks after everything that one might want, including suggesting Bodegas to visit etc. Arantxa and Pablo have a Basque sheepdog called Buddy who has so much character that even my wife who is not keen on dogs has become completely smitten with him!

Great scenery and the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Simply stunning hotel and hosts who are so helpful, friendly and welcoming. The best place to stay in our 2000 mile trip around Northern Spain in September 2012. We arrived early and no lunch was expected but the owner came home from a business trip and ensured we got a jolly good lunch and a bottle of delicious rose - typical of their thoughfulness. We had a small room but the owners suggested that we may like a larger one, and having shown us all around the hotel we ended up in splendid suite at almost no extra cost. The walks around the hotel a staggering - well worth the effort, and the whole area and the village itself so quiet and peacful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at El Secreto de Ollo in July this year, on a road trip around Spain. It was a first stop in Spain and one of our best. We arrived reasonly late on our first night, but regardless we were welcomed with warmth. We were also offered an evening meal which included 3 courses, a bottle of local wine and a generous splash of some homemade sloe and aniseed liqueur (would highly recommend!) and all for $30. The bedroom was stylish and cosy and offered us everything we needed for our two night stay. Breakfast was wonderful, with a selection of sweets and cakes, as well as a hot option of eggs/bacon. Ollo is perfectly located for visiting Pamplona or San Sebastian. We visted San Sebsatian and were given great advice and resturant recommendations too - our stay was wonderful, as was the food, as was the hosting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

this place is amazing .... the ollo valley is the most beautiful place to come for R&R, walking and amazing hospitality at El Secreto ... the place oozes charm and style with a friendly welcome and charming service. Take a few days to do the Valley walk - you won't regret it ... 19KM ... and you will find a new and charming village at each 3km stop .. ! The food is delcious ....

Don't forget to ask for a browse out the back in Arantxa's secret shop .. this lady is seriously stylish and she used to own two boutique in San Sebastian ... the reminants are up for grabs at great prices ..here in the village. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you are traveling to Navarra with your own car or rent a car this place is totally the best spot where to relax and chill out. This rural house has a charming and cozy atmosphere and it has been beautifully renewed. Its location is wonderful surrounded by green landscapes with peaceful sounds of milano birds (red kites) only 20 minutes away from Pamplona. The owners, both Arantxa and Pablo are so attentive and run this accommodation with lots of passion. The rooms are so romantic and have really comfortable beds. Towels, soaps, body cream, aromatic candles and hair drier are provided. Morning breakfast is delicious with excellent coffee and a wide variety of local cakes and sweets. However, in my opinion even though their home made white bread is lovely I would have preferred bakery village bread instead and perhaps a fried egg or omelet too. You should definitely try their local wine is really really good. One recommendation: if you go to Estella take the interior route is much authentic and has great views of the real countryside of Navarra region. We will come back for sure! Thank you for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Excellent service offered by the hosts of El Secreto, dinner in hotel very good with first class regional wine. This hotel is in the lovely village of Ollo a short drive from Pamplona and well worth the drive to stay in such a lovely welcoming hotel, more like being welcomed into their home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Secreto de Ollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Secreto de Ollo

Address: C/Santo Tomas 8, 31172 Ollo, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Ollo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ollo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Secreto de Ollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.