We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodd Mill River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rodd Mill River Resort to your Saves list
Rodd Mill River Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   180 Mill River Resort Rd. - Route 136, O'Leary, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My four night stay in July was absolutely perfect. I checked in on Thursday for my sons wedding.The staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The wedding reception on Saturday featured great food and service. Thanks to all the great staff that made the Newman Ellsworth wedding Special.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice.View of the golf course worth getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experiences at Rodd Mill River .The staff are very pleased when they can make such special events such as weddings a great experience for family and friends .Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

These people are the main three that we had contact with. My boyfriend and I were on a bike and it started raining. We went here, as it was the closest and upon arriving were told there were no rooms... a wedding was taking place. Well, after a bit Kevin at the front desk did find us a room, for which we were very grateful. But they also in the interim called to other places in the area to see if they could find us one. I thought that was above and beyond... Also Kevin helped my BF find a suitable spot for his bike (his bike is his baby). And Kevin also kept his eye on the bike to see no harm came to it for which my BF was very appreciative. I had no gear with me and I really needed contact solution... Kristin, who was our server in the restaurant actually opened up the gift shop to see if any was available.. no... but Krystal at the front desk did have some... her own! that she offered to me... I was very grateful. The room was very clean, no issues. The dinner was awesome and breakfast the next morning the same. I read CrystalRs review and I must say we did not use the coffee maker, pool or many of the amenities offered, so cannot comment on that. My review is of the staff - their professionalism and their personal commitment to caring for the needs of their clientele at Mill River is that they are awesome!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review .I will be sure to pass on to all staff and especially the three employees mentioned .All staff at Rodd Mill River take great pride in providing professional and friendly service and it is a pleasure to hear we made your stay an enjoyable visit .Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and look forward to having you visit us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the moment we pulled onto the property we knew it was not going to be a pleasant stay. the tennis courts looked as though they haven't been used or kept in good repair for a long time. The outside of the hotel showed its age. Upon entering the lobby area it was dark and dreary (not a good sign of whats to come). We checked in, got to our room and we were transported to the early 80's. defiantly not what the pictures on their site show. the bathroom mirror was completely covered in spots defiantly not cleaned. I took one look at the shower and tub and decided that i wasn't going to use that either, it didn't look clean. Coffee maker wasn't clean either. Old window air conditioners. It was a damp in the evening and i had decided to turn heat on but sat in my jacket for an hour until I inquired at the desk about it and they turned the heat on. (they turn the breakers off in the summer). The pool area was just okay. The game room had one stained pool table with no chalk. table tennis with ripped paddles. There were dehumidifiers in the hallway. Overall not a pleasant experience and Honestly I did not feel comfortable and could not wait to leave the resort. We were there for only one night and we just made the best out of a bad situation. The website for this property is seriously outdated. No part of the resort that i saw looked anything like their photo gallery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to Rodd Mill River .I am very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and would like to have the opportunity to discuss your stay .At your convenience I can be contacted at larsenault@roddhotelsandresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the time we arrived with a welcoming smile from Duska at the front desk to the warm words "travel safely home" when we left. Great place for kids, very family oriented. It is all the little things that made a big difference,like a pleasant phone call not 15 minutes after we arrived to say welcome and asked how the room was and if we need anything... room was very clean! We stayed there because O'leary was hosting Softball nationals, Mill River Resort staff did an excellent job hosting the banquet. Wonderful place for families to stay for team events.Lots for the kids to do, pool, tennis, golf, volleyball and lots of green space for young children to play.Thank you Mill River Resort for making accommodations for U16 Nationals such a success! The girls made friends there from all across Canada to BC. Excellent friendly staff!

Room Tip: May want to consider suite if need more space for family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review .I will be sure to pass on to all team members here at Rodd Mill River .The staff take great pride in extending hospitality to such events as the U16 Softball Nationals that introduce us to so many great people from across the country .
Thank you again for your comments and look forward to having you stay with us in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while over in PEI for a friend's wedding celebration. The room was clean and the grounds were stunning (one star for each of those items). But it is in the middle of nowhere and the "resort" itself is EXTREMELY dated and in dire need of renovations. (Old television, air conditioner sitting in the window, everything about the bathroom was old). Shame on the Rodd chain for charging so much for a very dated location. They need to invest some of that money in renovations. We won't be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay .We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the grounds and cleanliness of your room .I will be sure to pass on your comments to all staff involved .We are continually working toward updates to improve our guests experience and hope that if another wedding or event brings you to this area you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I had had a failed honeymoon attempt in Nova Scotia in 2002, and decided to book the Rodd Mill River. We pulled in the afternoon of our reservation and saw a limo and a bride with bridesmaids standing around outside. I went in after driving all day to get there and tried to check in. The clerk apologized, and said that because of the wedding, they were overbooked and they had no room for us. I advised the clerk that this was our honeymoon, and that it was completely unnacceptable. The Manager on duty made it very clear to us that they had a wonderful alternative location for us to stay in the northern tip of the island, and said he would take care of the booking. I didn't know what to do I was so upset, but, we were on P.E.I. and would need to sleep somewhere. So off we went.

The place he sent us to was an old church or nunnery or something converted into an Inn of sorts. It took us a while to get there. It also was evening there when we arrived. My wife and I were starving, as we skipped all the meals that day in anticipation of an incredible meal the Rodd Mill River. We checked in, and I asked the clerk, what is the best restaurant in town? She told me that there weren't any. I asked her, what time does your dining room stay open until? She replied that they had no dining room. I asked her very curtly, where then, can we obtain food? There is nothing open here at this time of day she said, and politely showed us the nook where they serve continental breakfast in the morning. I took one of those little childrens boxes of cornflakes and went to bed. ANGRY.

We returned to the resort the next day, and were advised that we could stay that night, and that was it, but they would cover the room cost for us. I should have just gone home, the mood was ruined, the trip was ruined, and we had spent the whole weekend driving around checking in and out. I got a free nights stay for all that misery. It wasn't even worth the fuel it took me or the ferry fees from Cape Breton Island. Brutal......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review ,at your convenience I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your stay and experience with us .I can be reached at larsenault@roddhotelsandresorts.com and look forward to the opportunity to talk with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the staff and their friendliness. However, while the public areas have ben maintained well, the rooms were decorated in the '80s and are still stuck there. They are bordering on shabby. And in our room the housekeeping staff seemd to forget how to use the vacuum or sponge. We arrive to find someone else's corn chip crumbs on the floor and on two tables in the room. When we turned down one of the beds we found someone else's hairs on the the sheets--yuck! If it weren't for the magnificent gold course I would have rated this place even lower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseArsenault, General Manager at Rodd Mill River Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and I will pass on to the team .I will review your comments with our housekeeping team and I can assure you this is not common practice with our housekeeping standards .We are always working toward upgrading and improving the facility and I do hope we will have the opportunity to have you as a guest again while enjoying the wonderful golf course .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodd Mill River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Mill River Resort

Address: 180 Mill River Resort Rd. - Route 136, O'Leary, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > O'Leary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Mill River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rodd Mill River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Mill River Hotel Oleary
Rodd Mill River Resort Canada/Prince Edward Island - O'Leary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodd Mill River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.