We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Fish Bar

Hooked Fish Bar
12157 Beecher Street, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada (South Surrey)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 649 restaurants in Surrey
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South Surrey
Description: Located in the Crescent Beach area. Open 7 days a week 11 to 11
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Even though it is cold outside this is a nice place for lunch on Crescent Beach. We enjoyed fish & chips and a beverage. Food was fine, service quick and friendly, washrooms clean. Unpretentious little place. Worth the visit. We will go back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    4
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Seaside Fish is Tough to Beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had the calamari special of the day. A small unpretentious restaurant right on the beach. Very busy spot during the months where being on the beach is popular, Get there early for lunch, it is just a small little place. If you have to wait, do not depair. It is definitely worht the wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great spot, amazing fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My sister-in-law took us (we're from out of town) to Hooked after a nice afternoon at the beach. The fish tacos were excellent! I definitely recommend this local spot when visiting Crescent beach.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Had a great time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions. The fish and chips are very good, compared to the usual fare in White Rock. Last time we were there we were with friends from Belgium. We ordered the mussels and several other seafood plates. The mussels were awesome, best we have had in a long while. Service was good and atmosphere great. They made room for our large group without any problems and were well taken care of.
If you are looking for a nice place to eat while watching the sunset, this place has by far one of the best views in the area.
I highly recommend. The menu is good, prices fair, and service very quick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley, B.C.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon a Nice Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Had time to kill before an appointment and while driving around the Crescent Beach area we found this nice little fish shop. We were to have dinner with friends later so we just snacked on coconut shrimp and chips. The food was tasty, served hot and quick. The staff seemed friendly and efficient and had time to chat a bit about the location. This fish bar is licensed and serves some of the best beer available in the greater Vancouver area. Micro brewed and served in real pints, you know, the 20 ounce kind ! They have both inside and patio seating that is shielded from the breeze off the bay and is equipped with heaters. The view is great, you can see Point Roberts across the bay and there is a sea walk adjacent to this location that looks like it would be a great spot for a stroll. Having found this spot, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked Fish Bar also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Hooked Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.