We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1160 King George Highway, Surrey, British Columbia V4A 4Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I stayed and had a great time. The pool area was fantastic! The kids loved it. The only issue I had was the swimming lessons in the pool . Half the pool was roped off for 3 kids having a swimming lesson, while 20 people were all stuffed into the other half. I have never stayed at a hotel where a hotel sized pool was roped off for swimming lessons. We also decided to have a late dinner in the restaurant(we were the only people in it), and waited over half an hour for our food, was not impressed with the service. The rooms were fine and had no issues with smells, bad air conditioning or stains on the sheets etc. The rooms are a tad dated, but it is not the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGuestRelations, Director of Sales at Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We at Pacific Inn would like to thank you for writing this review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience that the swimming lessons caused you and your family. We also apologize for the amount of time it took for you to receive your food in our restaurant. As for the rooms being dated, we are currently in the process of updating them with new furniture. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    37
    30
    66
See reviews for
66
49
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I just got back from a stay in White Rock for a dog show. I was not travelling with a dog at the time, but had friends that were.
The first floor is the only one that allows dogs, which is what dog owners like as it is easier to get a dog or puppy out for potty breaks, however when you are WAYYYYY back from the front entrance and you have a door right beside your room, that they will not allow you to use, it makes it very difficult to ensure no potty accidents from 3 month old puppies. With much asking from my friends they were eventually allowed to use the door by their room, mind you had to do a dozen stairs in the dark, no light at the entrance to the door.

Front desk staff could not have been nicer, kudos to Alizon and Kendra, who went above and beyond and Jean in the restaurant who was wonderful.

I was at this hotel 2 yrs ago and have not found much changed since that time.I tend to be very critical as I have a family member who works for Four Seasons Resorts and I have been used to staying in the best around the world. I know this is not a Four Seasons, however would it be too difficult to put a few more chairs around the pool area? Two benchs do not do it, parents watching their children shud be able to relax also. The pool area is beautiful, but what is with the waterfall? What abt letting water flow down it?

I agree with others the AC is pretty poor and yes everytime we went into our room, it smelled as if a smoker had been in it. I think some of the rooms have been re done, 2 yrs ago room was much nicer than this year's room. Carpets need to be re done, bathrooms need to be gutted, just whole thing is very dated. The dead bolt on our door was only partially there, the lock hardly locked properly, the hair dryer did not work, we did get a new one.

I must laugh as one of my traveling partners said the hallways reminded her of the Movie the Shining! lol!
Also, an employee was vaccuming the 3rd floor outside the elevators and when finished left the cord lying all over the floor, what a hazard for a guest to trip on.

I am sure with some nicer updating this hotel could be a gem! But not there yet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGuestRelations, Director of Sales at Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We at the pacific inn are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the location of your room. The door that was next to your room is meant for emergencies. We usually don’t allow people to go in and out of them due to security reasons. Thank for your feedback and suggestion on adding more chairs around our pool, as we would like our guests to be comfortable. We are sorry to hear your room smelt like smoke as our hotel has a strict non-smoking policy. We apologize if this has caused you any discomfort. It is alarming to hear that your room was not up to standard. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms like the one you stayed in last time. Thank you for the complements concerning both our front desk and restaurant staff, we will be sure to pass this along. We apologize for the vacuum cord and will make sure that our maintenance staff members are aware of this concern. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were very happy that the Pacific Inn had a room available for two nights during our vacation this past July. We had just experienced horrible treatment at the Best Western Peace Arch by a front desk staff member. The Pacific Inn front desk staff were wonderful and got us a room that we were very happy with. Unlike the Best Western PA, the Pacific Inn staff said we were more than welcome to view the room first before taking it. Our stay there was very comfortable and the staff were very accomodating. After hearing about our negative experience, they offered us a complimentary breakfast which was a very classy thing to do! Kudos to their top notch service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGuestRelations, Director of Sales at Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
On the behalf of Pacific Inn I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am sorry to hear about the disappointing start to your vacation. I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed by our front desk staff and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very helpful, friendly staff. Our room overlooked the pool with a balcony, great room.
Very clean room. Pool and spa were great. Value for money. Restaurant was reasonable and cooked lovely. Bus stop is outside to the city centre and tour bus comes in for pick ups to Seattle for a day trip. We stayed 10days and it was great and we used public transport for everything.
Close to Softball City.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGuestRelations, Director of Sales at Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We at the pacific inn would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, pool and spa. We Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I truly feel sorry for the staff working at this hotel as the ownership group has either been unwilling or unable to spend any money updating this hotel in the last 20+ years. We stayed under a group booking and out of roughly 15 rooms, 14 had problems and the complaints were coming from all directions. Air conditioning didn't work in half the rooms, unusable toilets, black stains (mold?) in every bathroom that I saw, stained sheets, stained carpets, inoperable room cards, smelly rooms and elevators, etc. Virtually everything was outdated and worn out. The recent posted comment about "Cuba in 1950 and not in a good way" was very accurate and the pictures on the website are deceiving. I'm stunned that any guest would return to this hotel or rate it above 2 starts given its current state.

The staff at the hotel really tried and were quite pleasant, but they've been given a garden hose to fight a forest fire. In order to qualify for even a 3 star hotel, ownership needs to gut every room, install proper air conditioning and refurbish half of the common areas. Certainly a massive investment is needed.

Room Tip: Outside rooms are quieter and "may" have more reliable air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent a full week. Resort was nice, but fairly old. Our room was very nice with Microwave and refrigerator, but we really had trouble with the lock on the door. We exchanged key cards 3 times, had maintenance reprogram the lock, and finally got the lock replaced, after 4 days of trouble. Staff was great, however, good location. We did have to have our air conditioner cleaned for proper operation. The place is a bit old, and could use updating, but we will stay here again. Oh ya, the fountain outside the front door was green with algae. Could just throw a pellet of Chlorine in there, would clean it right up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The first room was awful - reminded me of Cuba in 1950 and not in a good way. We got upgraded to a room with no A/C and a dead moth in the bathtub. Changed again and still no A/C.

Thankfully the manager offered a full refund so we left.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 1160 King George Highway, Surrey, British Columbia V4A 4Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Tropics at the Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Center in White Rock, British Columbia. A tropical world awaits you within our glassed roofed atrium. A tour of the courtyard reveals a Central American theme accented with folk art from Mexico. Amidst the tropical setting, guests may enjoy a free form swimming pool fed by gentle waterfalls, a hot tub, sauna and fitness center health club. This self-contained oasis features full dining and leisure facilities. Enjoy the lively atmosphere of The Pantry, relax with a gentle surrounding of Rockwell's Lounge and for an unforgettable evening of fine dining, join us in Rockwell's Restaurant. Within close proximity to the Pacific Inn, our guests can enjoy the beautiful beaches of White Rock, stroll the pier and take in a round of golf. Whether you are on business or pleasure, the Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Center offers a warm friendly haven. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Surrey
Aston Pacific Hotel
Aston White Rock
White Rock Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.